jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Eh i think cannot anyhow use any bike. Got specific specs right....... these things not for fun, not like SCSM anything also can go you wear pajamas also can.

I rem this Aaron fella could not even start due to some issues with his saddle but of coz his is a triathlon

zeroX26

What's the usual local cut off timings for dualthlons? Say PTO Asian is a 4.5k + 32k + 4.5k. I could not find the info...... The run i shd be alright, it's the bike part.

Since it's just for fun and totally non competitive, maybe i'll just join for fun in a foldie or something...... 🤣
(I totally cannot accept road cycling risks for various reasons, even if i get a bike from carousell, i'll still stick to PCNs)

I know what you are saying.....after all some folks race marathons in slippers / suits / jap wooden clogs or push prams. We have our tyre and hoola hoop ladies as well.
Unfortunately, Im out of touch with most multi-disciplinary endurance sports liao. You don't have to jump straight into the full distance dualthlon for a start. There's usually the half-category where the run/bike distances are halved.

WussRedXLi

Unfortunately, Im out of touch with most multi-disciplinary endurance sports liao. You don't have to jump straight into the full distance dualthlon for a start. There's usually the half-category where the run/bike distances are halved.

Yep....im currently googling atm, quite a lot of info to digest and i think different organisers/races different rules.
Half distance is fine, the costs are reasonable as well

Metasprint actually has a Sprint event in which it is 3km run 18km bike and then 3km run, starts at 5.15am (not too early)....i can ride bike there to F1 village area (park @ helix bridge) or maybe can just ride main bike to transition area. or something. Regardless i would have 2 foldies (1 for common use + for the kid, the other higher spec) due to practicality.
eg 1 practical eg, just yesterday i was on AL and i and my kid folded and wheeling our stuff @ tg pagar MRT and along the tunnels went Amoy St makan.....no stress, chillax, after we finished, rain became drizzle, we returned via the MRT eXchange tunnels and rode back in the drizzle. If road bike, then good luck....wheel / ride in the rain to Amoy St makan or just wait it out for the rain duration, no MRT / shopping mall / amenities access.

Got foldies! I am saved! :ROFLMAO: Main thing is F1 village near my place too :ROFLMAO:
But problem, March start date....rather near. :oops: This shd be more catered to the recreational masses like me, not PTO Asian. (advanced amateur). But PTO Asian is in August, lots of remaining time....just nice.

I saw the category participants for Metasprint Sprint, not a lot of seniors (eg > age 50 grp) but still have lah, maybe around 60 or so senior participants in the Sprint group.

foldie @ 4 min mark

https://www.metasprintseries.com/race-info/

MSS23-Duathlon-Maps-02.png

MSS24-Normal-Rates-Table_DUA-1.png

zeroX26

Yep....im currently googling atm, quite a lot of info to digest and i think different organisers/races different rules.

Metasprint actually has a Sprint event in which it is 3km run 18km bike and then 3km run, starts at 5.15am (not too early)....i can ride bike there to F1 village area (park @ helix bridge) or maybe can just ride main bike to transition area. or something. Regardless i would have 2 foldies (1 for common use + for the kid, the other higher spec) due to practicality.
eg 1 practical eg, just yesterday i was on AL and i and my kid folded and wheeling our stuff @ tg pagar MRT and along the tunnels went Amoy St makan.....no stress, chillax, after we finished, rain became drizzle, we returned via the MRT eXchange tunnels and rode back in the drizzle. If road bike, then good luck....wheel / ride in the rain to Amoy St makan or just wait it out for the rain duration, no MRT / shopping mall / amenities access.

Got foldies! I am saved! :ROFLMAO: Main thing is F1 village near my place too :ROFLMAO:
But problem, March start date....rather near. :oops: This shd be more catered to the recreational masses like me, not PTO Asian. (advanced amateur). But PTO Asian is in August, lots of remaining time....just nice.

I saw the category participants for Metasprint Sprint, not a lot of seniors (eg > age 50 grp) but still have lah, maybe around 60 or so senior participants in the Sprint group.

foldie @ 4 min mark

If you make up your mind to try, my advice is not to neglect the "brick training". The difficulty is usually the bike to run leg (& not run to bike leg). So practise that often.

WussRedXLi

If you make up your mind to try, my advice is not to neglect the "brick training". The difficulty is usually the bike to run leg (& not run to bike leg). So practise that often.

Thx for the advice, i am still googling all these little snippets of info atm. That's why i am not sure if March date is ok for me since i still have some way to go. But if got the $$$ to spare, just try for fun......since that one not so strict (i think cannot even draft, so shd be quite "safe"....i dont wanna cause others to buang also)

Yeah i know......the bike to run leg. Already tried that before but not hard effort and actually with a bit of warm up .....kar neng sia. Sentosa......even though that is just 4km ride (but got slight hills la), but i usually gan cheong wanna reach there beach area quick la.

WussRedXLi

Wanted to try Biathlon. Swim 400 meters and run 3km. Any physical races I can try?

Wah.....if i try swimming i think i drown first, not even kidding. I don't even know freestyle, only can breast stroke. o_Oo_O

Tthe term is called aquathlon. Metasprint events got aquathlon.

zeroX26

Thx for the advice, i am still googling all these little snippets of info atm. That's why i am not sure if March date is ok for me since i still have some way to go. But if got the $$$ to spare, just try for fun......since that one not so strict (i think cannot even draft, so shd be quite "safe"....i dont wanna cause others to buang also)

Yeah i know......the bike to run leg. Already tried that before but not hard effort and actually with a bit of warm up .....kar neng sia. Sentosa......even though that is just 4km ride (but got slight hills la), but i usually gan cheong wanna reach there beach area quick la.
Brick training actually is done in little bits and pieces. So for a start, you would probably do something like 2km bike then 2km run for 3-4 sets. Then increase by 1-2km for the bike leg and 0.5km for the run. Actually the best place to start doing this in the gym as long there's a stationary bike and a treadmill.

Marvtan

Wah.....if i try swimming i think i drown first, not even kidding. I don't even know freestyle, only can breast stroke. o_Oo_O

Tthe term is called aquathlon. Metasprint events got aquathlon.
I level 1 swimming. Freestyle is what I can swim

Marvtan

foldie @ 4 min mark

Seems like this guy didn’t run stand chart this year

Mecisteus

For those who are running for heart health only, consider adding some cross trainings.

Don't need to stick to running only.

Since my injury beginning of the year, I've been climbing steps, swimming and cycling regularly.

I just added running again last 2 weeks.

Bonus video. A test to see how much have you aged. 😂

WussRedXLi

For those who are running for heart health only, consider adding some cross trainings.

Don't need to stick to running only.

Since my injury beginning of the year, I've been climbing steps, swimming and cycling regularly.

I just added running again last 2 weeks.

Bonus video. A test to see how much have you aged. 😂

Can also include brisk or racewalking. intensity is dependent on your speed (pros do as fast as 4.15 min/km pace).
I find that it does not aggravate ITBS as what running can trigger in me.
So can distribute risks and load across multi areas for muscles and joints, while still enjoying cardio benefits and improvements.

Mecisteus

Can do brisk or racewalking. intensity is dependent on your speed (pros do as fast as 4.15 min/km pace).
I find that it does not aggravate ITBS as what running can trigger in me.
So can distribute risks and load across multi areas for muscles and joints
Any form of cross training is good.

I'm already doing a lot of steps daily besides regular exercises so racewalking is not appropriate to me.

And 1 more thing to add for those fitness enthusiasts.

Regular exercises can help to maintain weight, glucose and blood pressure. You still need to watch the diet.

Exercise cannot prevent atherosclerosis which is the formation of plagues in arteries.

Monitor your cholesterols level and do a calcium scan at least once if you are above 40s.

xllms

20231206 15degC windy cold
brooks hyperion elite
16.5km @ 6'16" av
my first non-stop running more than 12km.
running gingerly last 2km with cramps first with left calf and later right calf also cramped up.
sitting down in a cafe drinking warm coffee to heat up my body and cannot get up, legs not obeying😂
water-mark-share-name.png

xllms

Didn't managed to get sub 3.5hrs today but i got a PB for marathon (3h 35mins) which is good enough for me already. That slow start right where all FM and HM runners run tgt made my pace slowed down but luckily i'm able to get back from there and maintain my pace throughout the run. HR was at Z2 but i didn't want to push cause i'm so scared of hitting the wall. Now when i think about it i kind of regretted not pushing cause i still have tank after crossing the line.

Seeing that cadence straight line made me feel like the whole year of training was worth it. :)
congrats on your PB. amazing you can run FM in zone 2👍🏻

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.