jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Go thru the individual photos by Sportag. Photo quality much better than the free ones form Singapore

Ender

Motivation from a 68 year old man.. CYF not happy with his timing.. Will try harder next year. LOL

Skyrillex

How was your run? Leg ok?

How's your race?

Yea i had painkillers and soaked it in cold water so leg was feeling ok throughout the run. But omg its terribly cold once i ran up to the flyovers, still better weather than running at ECP under the hot sun.

The harbor part was the killer part as expected as i slowed down quite a bit but managed to pick up pace once i went up. Otherwise i think this course is still acceptable to me cause of the weather haha, and managed to break my PB again from HM onwards. But the sharp turns and hills are a no-no for me. I might consider running overseas again in the future but definitely not going to run this race again.

Net timing: 3:12:24

Ender

Yea i had painkillers and soaked it in cold water so leg was feeling ok throughout the run. But omg its terribly cold once i ran up to the flyovers, still better weather than running at ECP under the hot sun.

The harbor part was the killer part as expected as i slowed down quite a bit but managed to pick up pace once i went up. Otherwise i think this course is still acceptable to me cause of the weather haha, and managed to break my PB again from HM onwards. But the sharp turns and hills are a no-no for me. I might consider running overseas again in the future but definitely not going to run this race again.

Congrats, on your PB. That is a excellent elite time.

sph777

Yes congrats on an excellent PB time! On an injured leg as well! perhaps flatter course will be even better!

WussRedXLi

anybody getting the alphafly3?

Me, but then i might need to go Nike store twice and gun at various paces. Not gonna be cheap.

Coz i have never owned any Nike shoes before.

If doesnt suit me also does not matter (and then save some $$$), coz also aiming for SC Elite v4 and then PB 4.0 when it finally comes out officially as a daily.

WussRedXLi

Yeah quite cooling today

This evening so hot, later 7pm also don't know how to go out to cycle and run. :frown:

Think might need to wait till 8-8.30pm, then lan lan can only return 10 to 10.30pm. Sigh.

After March i think as usual, same as 2023, cannot run at night already. Might be dangerous too, coz i tried a few times last year, fast and longer efforts i would risk a bit of overheating. Totally not enjoyable.
Maybe pure cycling past 8pm still can. But running/jogging cannot.

WussRedXLi

Looks like high casualties at SCHKM
https://www.i-cable.com/新聞資訊/191916/快訊-香港馬拉松-38歲男跑手送院不治

渣馬|30歲男跑手月台暈倒送院不治 逾800人傷、至少34人送院 一人心臟一度停頓

Yeah one of the few reasons why i love my 5K, and then recently also 3K :ROFLMAO:
10K i feel really testing my endurance already.

I mean i probably can do HM and even FM without issues, just that no timing must be concerned + also need breaks. In fact even 50/60K ultras also can, but no timing. (from my cycling experiences and the conversion ratio of 2.5 with regards to my lousy high-resistance foldie ). Possible heat stress is another reason, which would lead to heat injuries esp local context. My triathlete ex-colleague kena before.

Not sure if one possible factor is due to my lower perspiration rate.
Even low 40s to 45 mins for 10K, my shoes (and legs) do not get wet one. Just upper body, and maybe a bit of streaming down my hands, that's about it. My hair and sides somewhat dry one.
Also why i tend to splash water for the 10K PB attempts that time. (active cooling)

Ender

anybody getting the alphafly3?
I wait for Alpha 4 is out than start looking at Alpha 3... LOL.

Can set your next destination to Gold Coast. Heard that it is a very flat course. Maybe sub 3 for you...

Ender

Not much change visually from the sen 8, and 9. But some changes internally. According to his imaginary description, the carbon rods are replaced by some thing that resembles a fish spatula. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Jin warm but still got wind not too bad

Only started cycling session at 8.30pm so that the ground and NE winds can cool things down. Just came back at just before midnight and finished bathing and drinking a fair bit of isotonic drinks (only had 550ml of water for the ride).

Initially rather warm, 29 plus deg C in the city area. Did a bit of bicep curls, good mornings and upright rows. Now shag out. Wanna sleep liao.

I think after CNY, need to revert back to early morning sessions liao. Also, weekdays can only manage shorter duration than current evenings, coz cannot expect to wake up at 4am and be out by 4.30 every day. Even tho can sleep by 9.30pm
From previous experience, 7.30am need to exercise cut liao, too warm.

thriller-sama

im also trying to start jogging back again.. nov and dec slack and partied too hard.. now run abit leg pain here pain there pain

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.