jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

RRR and even Mount Faber not that safe...... Frequented by fast road bikes and cars do rounding. Heard stories before. If wanna run better be visible and do it during day time. Some cars can hit 80-90kmh there.
Actually since 2-3 decades ago, RRR already frequented by modified cars / clubs as one of the place for roundings, not sure about now tho since i do not drive now.

There is one place that is dangerous even for cyclists, that is South Bouna Vista road (99 bends). Cars do roundings there.
Though i think not that many joggers frequent there.

At night definitely dangerous, morning should be fine.
If the lampposts are working it's very safe if keep to the lane. Issue is that one whole stretch of lampposts there pai liao last night and folks are not in the lane. :ROFLMAO:

Going there again now, see if they fixed during day time just now or not.
Wah you go so late, stay safe
Lol. Want to check npark got do work or not .
NPark maybe jlb 🤣

Nicholas92

So I haven’t done any exercise or running since ORD more than 10 years ago.. stamina is basically ZERO.

Yesterday put in PT attire and tried to run and only tk last around 3 mins 17 seconds before having some chest pain so quickly stop.

slept well and today manage to do 6 mins 23 seconds before out of breathe and legs start to hurt..

looks like going take long long time to go back to 12mins IPPT…

Kuudere

So I haven’t done any exercise or running since ORD more than 10 years ago.. stamina is basically ZERO.

Yesterday put in PT attire and tried to run and only tk last around 3 mins 17 seconds before having some chest pain so quickly stop.

slept well and today manage to do 6 mins 23 seconds before out of breathe and legs start to hurt..

Take care, don't overpush urself and take a break from running to recover your legs. I usually run on alternate days and do stretching, which helps me recover better. Good to stop if you feel out of breath also.

Ender

Yes, yes, everyone starts from somewhere. My first exercise when I decide to change my lifestyle was walking 3km non stop.. Felt very good then.

WussRedXLi

The lights at Marina Bay East near Marina Barrage fixed liao.

Can go hoot there liao

Kuudere

I also see from their social media only. I never join their run yet :s13:

As for asic club I see is mostly older people?
Just came back from FFRC, here are my thoughts.

Mostly young, but there are a few older people, not as many as ASICS though. Saw another group have more older people there but not so sure what group that is there.

Workout:

3 x 8 min at HM pace with 2 min rest in between

Pace group

2.00 hr (5.40 - 5.50)
1.50 hr (5.10 - 5.15)
1.45 hr (4.55 - 5.00)
1.40 hr (4.40 - 4.45)
1.28 hr (4.05 - 4.10)

First group only got 1 xmm, not chio. Chio mostly in the slower groups. I joined the first group to limit test (around 10 pax excluding myself). End up being a bad idea since I dropped off from the pace 5-6 minutes in with stitch. Run entire set 2 on my own with stitch. Suddenly, stitch disappeared at set 3, since my breathing got better, started to pick up the pace but not as fast as the first set. Overall, got lapped by 3 people from the first group. I was the only guy from first group to fall very far behind, but no one from second group caught up to me. Since I don't have a gps watch, I reckon that I did a 4.3x, since the second group was still behind (granted the first group started earlier by a bit).

Talked to a guy who is the lead runner for the first group and he said that he run a recent 5km time trial at 19.xx, no wonder I can't catch up since my 5km only in the mid 21 range.

noobynoob

Just came back from FFRC, here are my thoughts.

Mostly young, but there are a few older people, not as many as ASICS though. Saw another group have more older people there but not so sure what group that is there.

Workout:

3 x 8 min at HM pace with 2 min rest in between

Pace group

2.00 hr (5.40 - 5.50)
1.50 hr (5.10 - 5.15)
1.45 hr (4.55 - 5.00)
1.40 hr (4.40 - 4.45)
1.28 hr (4.05 - 4.10)

First group only got 1 xmm, not chio. Chio mostly in the slower groups. I joined the first group to limit test (around 10 pax excluding myself). End up being a bad idea since I dropped off from the pace 5-6 minutes in with stitch. Run entire set 2 on my own with stitch. Suddenly, stitch disappeared at set 3, since my breathing got better, started to pick up the pace but not as fast as the first set. Overall, got lapped by 3 people from the first group. I was the only guy from first group to fall very far behind, but no one from second group caught up to me. Since I don't have a gps watch, I reckon that I did a 4.3x, since the second group was still behind (granted the first group started earlier by a bit).

Talked to a guy who is the lead runner for the first group and he said that he run a recent 5km time trial at 19.xx, no wonder I can't catch up since my 5km only in the mid 21 range.
Was it your first time joining? Sounds fun. Might give it a try next time.

WussRedXLi

Just walk first.......but even for walking you can really walk fast, and i do mean fast, even with walking you'd need to slowly increase the speed and distance. Like add distance +10% every week, probably at your level +5% every week is safer. Easier that way to transition into running after improving aerobic fitness.

After brisk and then racewalking for about 2 years (no running no jogging),, i managed to time trial my running at a fast pace, for 1.6k i got 6.25 mins, which would be a pace of around 4.00 mins flat. So it's possible....you can improve your running by not even running.

Kuudere

Was it your first time joining? Sounds fun. Might give it a try next time.
First time, but realised their goal is to build up towards 21km speed training. Means to say the training every week will get harder.

The 19.xx guy did gave an advice and mentioned that if you're slowing down, can tag along with another pace group. Otherwise, you end up solo running like me today :ROFLMAO:

Workout still more chill than ASICS so can consider giving that a shot.

Oh yeah, most ppl there are still in slower pace groups. The fast groups form the minority, so it shouldn't feel so bad to join in.

Jeremy1

Yes, yes, everyone starts from somewhere. My first exercise when I decide to change my lifestyle was walking 3km non stop.. Felt very good then.

Walking cfm can but running or jogging just cannot :sad:

animeonegai

Just for update. Wednesday i had to go see my GP due to consistent pain (bearable but is like needles pinching) on my bruised toe. It has turned blue black on the surface below the toenail.

My GP gave me medicine that reduces the swelling. Today is cny eve. The pain is no longer as bad but the coloration is still there.

My right elbow is still reeling from blister like pain (open blister that kind of feeling) and not much blood is coming out. I not sure zambuk did the trick. At times after shower, i will encounter pus oozing out (smell foul or similar to zambuk). Is that bacteria infection?

Been doing light exercises (half hr half hr and ytd 40min) since Tue. Can feel my strength is decreasing.

GarnetDragon

Alot of runners I know anyhow eat one...In term of calories intake is alot more than average people.
Lol there are runners with the "run to eat, eat to run" mindset, they run long distances just so they can eat more, and then feel guilty and run off the food calories. Then rinse and repeat lmao :s13:

Ender

Lol there are runners with the "run to eat, eat to run" mindset, they run long distances just so they can eat more, and then feel guilty and run off the food calories. Then rinse and repeat lmao :s13:
ehhhh, you talking about me, ar?

I run to various hawker centre or kopi tiam to eat famous hawker food during my off season running.

Ender

Just for update. Wednesday i had to go see my GP due to consistent pain (bearable but is like needles pinching) on my bruised toe. It has turned blue black on the surface below the toenail.

My GP gave me medicine that reduces the swelling. Today is cny eve. The pain is no longer as bad but the coloration is still there.

My right elbow is still reeling from blister like pain (open blister that kind of feeling) and not much blood is coming out. I not sure zambuk did the trick. At times after shower, i will encounter pus oozing out (smell foul or similar to zambuk). Is that bacteria infection?

Been doing light exercises (half hr half hr and ytd 40min) since Tue. Can feel my strength is decreasing.
Foul smell from open wound is not a good sign. Please do sees doc asap. Strange that you use zumbak on a open wound. I only use them from blue/black type of bruise or strain.. Anyway it;s best to cover open wound if they are huge. Minimize exposure to environmental contaminants and also protects it from trauma like accidental abrasion.

Blacken big toe is common issue for runners. Usually can run with minimal pain, and eventually will lose the nail. But a new nail will grow soon. My right toe has gone thru several of this cycle. But take note, for me the pain level is low. But your is painful so take a break would be good, or run in those ving or y sandals for a while.

LWZ

been failing your IPPT all the way ?

LWZ

slowing down nao !

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.