jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

crap man. i bought two Asics shoes of different sizing while thinking that I could return the ill-fitting one after trying both out. my friend informed me that they don't allow returns for sale items. sibeh siannnnn.

Asics is quite a big brand but they're so rigid in this aspect. they only give you a 15mins window to cancel the order too.
Even for the same brand, different models might sometimes be different in fit.

Eg, my NB SC Elite v3, i need US10. I tried 10.5, is cannot....too big

Then for Rebel V3, i bought online us10. Youtube vids did warn about small toebox, but i have pretty slim fit.
The shoe arrived, and true enough, it's pretty tight, so only good for shorter distances not more than 5k.
Heng my intended use for that is like 1.6 to 5k.....or racewalking as well, which would be short distance too

So moral of the story is need to try in the store. Same model

China brands would really be of a certain leap of faith when buying. Bo bian one

WussRedXLi

Today did 5 sets. 3min run at about 165bpm, rest 90sec.

Wonder if this will help improve my 2.4 lol

Will improve of coz, just keep at it...... just a matter of how fast how efficient only.

I "passed" IPPT timing of 12 mins / 12,30 / 12,40 mins all categories (last itme) of 2.4k just by doing walking. No running no jogging at all....... In fact initially for first few months 2020 covid time (covid walker) i was walking in slippers. That time no stores even to buy proper shoes. Of course, this is just via aerobic grinding.

By the end of year Q4 of 2022, i time trialed 1.6k running and was able to clock around 6.25 mins. Then after that started to run progressively 3, 4 and 5k.

WussRedXLi

Alternatively can also try cycling (pcn/pavement is fine), just find something that you'd really love and seriously cliock the duration / mileage. When you are truly enjoying it, you won't find it a drag to train. 11pm to even past midnight then come home or 4-5AM wake up liao. Coz it's what your hobby needs.
Add in some strengthening of specific muscles, do some push ups (improves core, i find it to really improve cycling)......your next IPPT cycle possible to get gold / full marks for present system, provided you are not overweight i guess.

Another angle : For me i improved my push up from around 5 at first (middle of last year) to now around maybe 60+? Full range of motion, confirm IPPT machine accepted.
Coz i needed that for my cycling, and i train with decline pushups and/or diamond, and yeah recent 1 month started to train for explositivity with fast pushin0 for the up stroke. and slow 2-3 seconds eccentric going down stroke, duration based and moving away from counting reps. Ah i rem the term now, negative push ups (same as negative pull ups)
Occassionally also will do half push ups but really as fast as possible, ie push-up sprints, to improve fast twitch muscle fibres. Alternate days hoot. So standard push ups is gonna be easier. The other day would be hooting other muscle groups.

Of coz i am still a far far way from planche or even those few fancy push up types. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Moral of the story : as usual, dont try anything new on race day
(swapped back from Vaporfly 3 to Puma Deviate Nitro Elite 1)

sph777

IMG-2350.png
IMG-2349.png

Track day again. 6x800 at 4:00/km with 200m jog in between and 4X400m at 1:30 per round with 200m jog.
Today had energy but no pace. Couldn’t hit a single split of the 800. 🥲 At least could hit all the 400m splits

ctan84

Unfortunately, a number of "165bpm" doesn't tell us anything about where this number stands along the intensity scale. From a scale of 1-10, 10 being running away from being chased by mad dogs going to chew u up, how would you rate the effort of those 5 sets of 3 mins? If its 8 and above, then yes, they are useful in helping improve your fitness.

ctan84

IMG-2350.png
IMG-2349.png

Track day again. 6x800 at 4:00/km with 200m jog in between and 4X400m at 1:30 per round with 200m jog.
Today had energy but no pace. Couldn’t hit a single split of the 800. 🥲 At least could hit all the 400m splits
Considering your last 800m set is the 2nd fastest in all your 800m sets, there's probably sufficient reserves in you, just need to dig abit deeper bah.

sph777

Considering your last 800m set is the 2nd fastest in all your 800m sets, there's probably sufficient reserves in you, just need to dig abit deeper bah.
As in even in my last set where I did my best, today I still couldn’t hit 4:00/ km as I didn’t have pace today

WussRedXLi

And also pang sai in the morning.

For me usually not issue at all.....within 20 mins of waking up the cake ready liao, usually is within 10 mins.
Only issue is that if it's too early eg before 5am, whole lot not totally ready yet, so only half of the vol gets passed out. Not an issue for the session after that.......but then next day will be rather hard to pass out.

WussRedXLi

IMG-2350.png
IMG-2349.png

You listened to DnB or techno?

Need to listen lah. I live by it.

This morleng at MBS, saw a rather big grp of purple t-shirt wearing folks running. But they did not run together, just started tgt from Esplanade and then towards promonitory, MBS, GBTB.

There was one Amg moh bu, not very tall or big sized, but she was leading the way. Suspect is 4.00-4.15 pace.

Too bad i no bring my running shoes, if not i'd ditch my bike and follow.

Wonder if it's JP Morgan training run. Coz the vibe is totally different from the usual running groups.
Got locals got AMDK, Ang moh bu, indians, all nationalities.

Ender

Wah, the first one where the bearded guy did the barbell lift and bend backwards, very dangerous. at the moment where he bend backwards fully and held it there with the weights, there's no muscle activated. Its almost all the weights are carried by the spine.

Kuudere

IMG-2350.png
IMG-2349.png

Try to increase your run/rest ratio to 1:1, the extra rest should help a lot in pace consistency

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.