jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Wah, the first one where the bearded guy did the barbell lift and bend backwards, very dangerous. at the moment where he bend backwards fully and held it there with the weights, there's no muscle activated. Its almost all the weights are carried by the spine.

Literally all the people featured in the videos on OE Fitness channel is like got chance to go vegetable or even death one. Dont know what these gym rats were thinking.

In fact, doing the same thing but forwards is risky. It is called good mornings, i do it too with a resistance band, but need to be careful to avoid lumar herniation. Got the torque for those exercise on the discs is very high.

Same goes to some folks doing things like hamstring stretch while standing up, and then they not very strong for lower back

Lchlch

You listened to DnB or techno?

Need to listen lah. I live by it.

This morleng at MBS, saw a rather big grp of purple t-shirt wearing folks running. But they did not run together, just started tgt from Esplanade and then towards promonitory, MBS, GBTB.

There was one Amg moh bu, not very tall or big sized, but she was leading the way. Suspect is 4.00-4.15 pace.

Too bad i no bring my running shoes, if not i'd ditch my bike and follow.

Wonder if it's JP Morgan training run. Coz the vibe is totally different from the usual running groups.
Got locals got AMDK, Ang moh bu, indians, all nationalities.
Probably train for jp Morgan run this April.

sph777

You listened to DnB or techno?

Need to listen lah. I live by it.

This morleng at MBS, saw a rather big grp of purple t-shirt wearing folks running. But they did not run together, just started tgt from Esplanade and then towards promonitory, MBS, GBTB.

There was one Amg moh bu, not very tall or big sized, but she was leading the way. Suspect is 4.00-4.15 pace.

Too bad i no bring my running shoes, if not i'd ditch my bike and follow.

Wonder if it's JP Morgan training run. Coz the vibe is totally different from the usual running groups.
Got locals got AMDK, Ang moh bu, indians, all nationalities.
For me I feel music no effect for my runs haha. Maybe for my spin exercises

sph777

IMG-2376.jpg

Morning recovery jog

Ender

For me I feel music no effect for my runs haha. Maybe for my spin exercises
Same here. Don't like music when i run. Also for someone as old as me , can be dangerous as situation awareness is reduced by a lot.

WussRedXLi

Same here. Don't like music when i run. Also for someone as old as me , can be dangerous as situation awareness is reduced by a lot.

Nowadays I don't even use conduction type earphones, prefer using my small bluetooth speaker (i used to use the in-built speaker of the GT runner). Also serves to warn others, in addition to the lights. But anyway i don't run at MBS liao, Sentosa much better as it's literally nobody, but even that nowaday is rare.
Just rely on my daily commute and lunchtime "runs". That means each week 20km cannot siam one, bo bian.

Ender

Nowadays I don't even use conduction type earphones, prefer using my small bluetooth speaker (i used to use the in-built speaker of the GT runner). Also serves to warn others, in addition to the lights. But anyway i don't run at MBS liao, Sentosa much better as it's literally nobody, but even that nowaday is rare.
Just rely on my daily commute and lunchtime "runs". That means each week 20km cannot siam one, bo bian.
Now I remember, your GT runner has speaker. Very rare for a watch to have that. One day if you ever replace your GT runner with Garmin or one of those other sports brand gps watch, you will miss this feature.

WussRedXLi

But then what Ender said might be true. Not that cannot hear external sounds....but more like the
Now I remember, your GT runner has speaker. Very rare for a watch to have that. One day if you ever replace your GT runner with Garmin or one of those other sports brand gps watch, you will miss this feature.

Yeah man it was a god send last time, i used it for my walking quite a fair bit and also used it @ AHM last year. Now get small BT speakers liao. Very small one to put into running belt for running. slightly bigger one for bike.
But for those who really wanna run light and shorter sessions just nearby, the built in speaker would do the job in a jiffy.

WussRedXLi

Hmm....interesting. I read some pro cyclists and ex pro cyclists (turned coaches) who developed osteoporosis in their hips and legs later in life. Coz their training and life literally revolved around 1. cycling and 2. cycling and 3. more cycling. No impact one.

Advice is that it's better to cross train. Race walking / running. (racewalking got slight differences, eg i found racewalking not to irritate IT band vs running, ie i walked the last 3 km of AHM 10k, could not run at all)

Same goes for swimming.

So much for the adage that running is bad for your knees.

Cannot go to either extremes.

Ender

Hmm....interesting. I read some pro cyclists and ex pro cyclists (turned coaches) who developed osteoporosis in their hips and legs later in life. Coz their training and life literally revolved around 1. cycling and 2. cycling and 3. more cycling. No impact one.

Advice is that it's better to cross train. Race walking / running. (racewalking got slight differences, eg i found racewalking not to irritate IT band vs running, ie i walked the last 3 km of AHM 10k, could not run at all)

Same goes for swimming.

So much for the adage that running is bad for your knees.

Cannot go to either extremes.
Ya, no impact for cycling.

Swimming, there a study for those endurance swimmers who stay in the water for a very considerable time of their life also got bone density issue. Coz in water they are in a environment of lower than 1G. There's a Sci FI series, The Expanse. There's a population of humans called the Belters, who are born in space with zero or low G environment, These Belters can never visit earth, as their bone will be crushed by Earth's gravity due to their ultra low bone density and fragility. This series is well known to stick to science as close as possible.

Running with knee problem, usually new runners and extreme elite athletes. New runners who never allow time for their muscle skeletal system to develop or adapt while increasing their load. Elite athletes, what else , over train. Best to having easy days, with a proximate of 80/20 rules which helps in manage the training load to stimulate adaptation, and enough recovery to allow the adaptation to happen.

milkiee

anybody has done a running gait analysis before with a physiotherapist or podiatrist?
is it worth the money? i saw the pricing can range from $180 to $450 per assessment.

ctan84

anybody has done a running gait analysis before with a physiotherapist or podiatrist?
is it worth the money? i saw the pricing can range from $180 to $450 per assessment.
Have u tried Changi Sports Medicine Centre at CGH? Its a lot cheaper I recall for the video gait analysis.

Ender

Do you have any injury that you suspect due to gait? Very expensive. Your physio requested it? Can't he assess you himself?

milkiee

Do you have any injury that you suspect due to gait? Very expensive. Your physio requested it? Can't he assess you himself?
yeah i think i have ITBS (left knee tightness and pain the lateral side) which i think its due to muscle weakness in my left. the problem is there are multiple reasons to this and I'm not sure what is the actual cause (glutes, hip or ankle). secondly, i also want to understand what are the correct shoes for me. lastly, i also want to know how i run and what can i work on to prevent further injuries.

i am not seeing a physiotherapist at the moment.

oh yeah by the way, i went to Aldrin the other day. he mentioned that my injury is minor so he just did some gua-sha on my left outer thigh and it band. wah it hurts quite a lot when he rubba rubba it. however, the ache on my left knee went away immediately the next day. he mentioned that my left ankle is weak and therefore causing my left feet to rotate outwards which causes a strain on my it band. he recommend that i work with a their PT twice a week for $100 per session to resolve that but his gym is just too far from my home.

sph777

yeah i think i have ITBS (left knee tightness and pain the lateral side) which i think its due to muscle weakness in my left. the problem is there are multiple reasons to this and I'm not sure what is the actual cause (glutes, hip or ankle). secondly, i also want to understand what are the correct shoes for me. lastly, i also want to know how i run and what can i work on to prevent further injuries.

i am not seeing a physiotherapist at the moment.

oh yeah by the way, i went to Aldrin the other day. he mentioned that my injury is minor so he just did some gua-sha on my left outer thigh and it band. wah it hurts quite a lot when he rubba rubba it. however, the ache on my left knee went away immediately the next day. he mentioned that my left ankle is weak and therefore causing my left feet to rotate outwards which causes a strain on my it band. he recommend that i work with a their PT twice a week for $100 per session to resolve that but his gym is just too far from my home.
Maybe now can google for exercises that strengthen ankle

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.