jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Actually for 5k i just tend to think of it as 2 pcs of 10 minutes IPPT 2.4 strung together. hehe.....

But seriously this one part im not sure if it makes a diff over here is it coz of 1. our weather and/or 2. our lifestyle and work schedules. :unsure:

Coz seriously if we go by running level times (worldwide?), that 20 min mark, for runners, is not that super elusive, esp for 20-30 age.

For sure dont take it the wrong way, and certainly i am not trying to show off or what (heck i dont even run much mileage nowadays). If i were to try this 5k back in 2022 (started exercising 2020 covid), i would not have surpassed this.

I found that i had more issues with 10k and plateaued at 41-42 mins for the few TTs that i shared here. Probably towards the endurance portion.
Was only when i started to really ramp up the duration via biking (60-70 hrs or 800-900 km per month) for aerobic base work then i managed to break it recently.
You ask me to work on aerobic base via even 30hrs of weekly running (dont say 60hrs), i die first. :ROFLMAO:
So luckily i got into biking after AHM coz of ITBS as cross training, liked it, and managed to satisfy the "long runs" portion as well. I didn't satisfy the specificity part of long run, but heck it for our amateur level lah.
Ultimately i believe it still worked, just not efficiently (60 friggin biking hours per mth lol albeit mostly easy mileage). And not forgetting daily commute for work and back to home for lunch run weekly mileage = 20k total, maybe avg 1 weekly specific session of running 4k, 8k something like that.

Still not gonna do HM. I scared injured. haha

Male 5k Running Times​

eG4AgWA.jpg
Want to do well in 10k and above, got to built mileage ontop the usual high intensity training.. I think you can break your plateau if incorporate easy base building as in running. Not cycling as substitute. Cycling can built your aerobic base, but not your running economy which is itself a base to built on via easy runs. Your muscle skeletal system need adaptation stimuli from this easy days built up. Not forgetting one LSD a week.

As for this table you posted, The advance level probably are the gifted ones. Top 10% like that. Elite probably top 1 or 2 %.. Median average joe at intermediate. This is what I see it real life in order to make sense on the table.. In this thread, other than you, I think @Skyrillex can go under 20, and maybe @sph777 with the right training.

WussRedXLi

Sickness......actually for me i mostly use KF94s + hand washing / alcohol sanitizer use after touching high touch public surfaces.
Case in point, Merlion / MBS crowded area (esp nowadays with the fringe activities due to Taylor swift), need to get past those areas sometimes.......or i just criuse around there for fun for zone 1 below 20kmh work.
My wife and kid also always masked up outside, due to my wife's medical condition and is always immunosuppressed with drugs.

Another thing i know that is sufficient quality sleep. This one could be a can of worms though, not easy for some folks.

Never been sick other than covid (Oct 2022) and Aug 2023 3 days prior to AHM, just slight running nose, slight sore throat and malaise for 1 day, after that just ran nevertheless, risk of inflammation (heart etc) is probably low

WussRedXLi

As for this table you posted, The advance level probably are the gifted ones. Top 10% like that. Elite probably top 1 or 2 %.. Median average joe at intermediate. This is what I see it real life in order to make sense on the table.. In this thread, other than you, I think @Skyrillex can go under 20, and maybe @sph777 with the right training.

Bro sph777 i already consider he 20 min 5k runner liao. ha

I always find that it's like 2.4 IPPT, do it enough times, the chance will come with enough probability and experience. It's different feeling from the easy runs or intervals/repeats. But if do it just 1, 2 or even 3 times a year, think quite difficult to expect it to happen.
Same for parkruns. Cannot just try 1, 2, 3 times.
Of coz that is if one is just within striking distance, like 21 or 22 mins......coupled with more training.

Or 10k, you know.....for us we only aim the cheaper stuff. Skechers lah, AHM lah, and maybe then Income. Say 3 times a year. edit - heck for Skechers, they screwed up the distance big time.

I have already done like what ard 8 times 10k TT in less than a year from 2023 AHM till this year CNY period....think over here i posted like 5 or 6 of the TTs.
The only issue is that these are via GPS and so there could be an accuracy issue but we get by also lah.....for us amateur level, as long as the run route no obvious short cuts.
Or if dont mind track then that is better still, but if track access then i will never get to try as many times as i'd love to.

HM and FM distances lagi difficult.

WussRedXLi

Want to do well in 10k and above, got to built mileage ontop the usual high intensity training.. I think you can break your plateau if incorporate easy base building as in running. Not cycling as substitute. Cycling can built your aerobic base, but not your running economy which is itself a base to built on via easy runs. Your muscle skeletal system need adaptation stimuli from this easy days built up. Not forgetting one LSD a week.

Of coz specificity is also very important. That'd be a tough nut to crack. I only ran 13.88k (think i got 57 mins, accurate enough distance or not i really dont know) on CNY weekend, that's about it for longer distance....besides 10k
I still cannot get over the roadblock of running very long dist......the stimulus not there compared to cycling.

And the weather is starting to get yucky again, even for cycling it's getting warm
Wah lao eh later after lunch i go back office (at home now :ROFLMAO: 1.1km Z1/Z2 i get sweaty liao, these days.

But this compromise i can tahan, coz i aiming for metasprint first and foremost and then PTO.

WussRedXLi

Thks bro.
Guess I hv to bring along a power bank.
For 12 hours plus, my old Samsung mobile surely goes flat..as I also launch runkeeper app too.

You got running belt? There is a "Naked" brand design used by runners that i see every now and then, i used it and it's good. For extra safety esp if there are cyclists around, good to have clip on lights, can attach them to your belt. White for front, red for back. Also good when crossing the road.
Switch to blinking for even higher eye-catching visibility and battery savings. Get the wide angle ones
If you want recommendation i can recommend this, cheap and good. (search shopee if you dont do taobao)

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=71u0hcib0849&id=619216606116&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.79152e8dIqYS4s

Can get from Taobao, i got it and used it a few dozen times, quite ok. Nowadays i just deposit my stuff (including water) on my bike's bag and then run around it as midpoint, does not take much time and run is gao dim already.

I think for you use useful. Not sure if a backpack is good, might impede you.
The weight of the running belt would be on your hips, more efficient and less tiring.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=71u0hcib57fd&id=669764102495&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.79152e8dIqYS4s

Deadmaninc75

You got running belt? There is a "Naked" brand design used by runners that i see every now and then, i used it and it's good. For extra safety esp if there are cyclists around, good to have clip on lights, can attach them to your belt. White for front, red for back. Also good when crossing the road.

Can get from Taobao, i got it and used it a few dozen times, quite ok. Nowadays i just deposit my stuff (including water) on my bike's bag and then run around it as midpoint, does not take much time and run is gao dim already.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=71u0hcib57fd&id=669764102495&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.79152e8dIqYS4s

i bought it before covid still strong LOL

sph777

Switch to blinking for even higher eye-catching visibility and battery savings. Get the wide angle ones
If you want recommendation i can recommend this, cheap and good. (search shopee if you dont do taobao)

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=71u0hcib0849&id=619216606116&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.79152e8dIqYS4s

The weight of the running belt would be on your hips, more efficient and less tiring.

last time I wore running belt but it's those clip kind, wore to ahm and it kept dropping down no matter how many times I tightened. In the end stuffed the whole belt into my pants pocket. These brands won't slip?

WussRedXLi

@MikeDirnt78
Share this with you. Quite impressive. Just a $700+ Fnhon gust, 54t, 11-34t i think, 451 wheels, Tiagra and Shimano MT200 brakes.
I was thinking of using 60T for the chainring but sacred i not sufficient power. Try 54T first, change later if i think i need to fine tune my requirements. Rear smallest cog is also 11t.

XsVBBuu.jpg

WussRedXLi

This taobao knock off as good as Naked?

From what i used so far is fine. At first I scared like the elastic band will lose tension or the material trap sweat or what, but so far so good. It's a simple contraption, so no real issues to implement.
No zip, the chinese stuff is famous with their zips falling off with rough use (coz they use lousy metal for the metal pull tag)

Anyway it's also cheap. Buy and standby is good also.

WussRedXLi

last time I wore running belt but it's those clip kind, wore to ahm and it kept dropping down no matter how many times I tightened. In the end stuffed the whole belt into my pants pocket. These brands won't slip?
Yep these wont slip. You wear on the stomach area and your pelvic/hip bones would prevent from going down to the legs. You can also wear on the hip level, but it might be a bit tight, so XL if you want to be hip.

@Ender, also....just for reference, i bought L size. My waist size is 30 inches, maybe 31. I mean, i buy jeans is 31 but it's rather loose and i need belt and punch extra holes.
If your waist is wider then mine, then LL, buy XL or even 2XL and wear on stomach. YOu will get used to the feeling soon.

Ender

From what i used so far is fine. At first I scared like the elastic band will lose tension or the material trap sweat or what, but so far so good. It's a simple contraption, so no real issues to implement.
No zip, the chinese stuff is famous with their zips falling off with rough use (coz they use lousy metal for the metal pull tag)

Anyway it's also cheap. Buy and standby is good also.
I am wearing my decathlon shorts with something like a Naked style of belt built in at the waist. These Naked styled tao bao belt maybe good choice so I can wear my normal shorts instead of the decathlon one.

Mecisteus

@MikeDirnt78
Share this with you. Quite impressive. Just a $700+ Fnhon gust, 54t, 11-34t i think, 451 wheels, Tiagra and Shimano MT200 brakes.
I was thinking of using 60T for the chainring but sacred i not sufficient power. Try 54T first, change later if i think i need to fine tune my requirements. Rear smallest cog is also 11t.
wah these guys are daredevils and pro lah.

I'm casual park connectors and pathway cyclists only. :s13:

Nowadays also I cut down on cycling. Picking up running again.

WussRedXLi

wah these guys are daredevils and pro lah.

I'm casual park connectors and pathway cyclists only. :s13:

Nowadays also I cut down on cycling. Picking up running again.

Hahaha....so coming back to running again. Ok lah....running really is "very fast", just put on shoes, maybe running belt + a soft flask, can run already, 5 mins.

Cycling is much more prep, and much more teardown.....and a bit of basic maintenance like washing helmet, charging lights, pump tyres, degrease and re-lube stuff.

What i suspect is - majority of the times, the level of equipment is not the main limiting factor. The fitness is.
Still it'd help to a certain degree of coz.

WussRedXLi

I am wearing my decathlon shorts with something like a Naked style of belt built in at the waist. These Naked styled tao bao belt maybe good choice so I can wear my normal shorts instead of the decathlon one.

Also can....the good thing with this is that it can be worn with any shorts and expand on the functionality.
Initially i even used this belt for cycling when i havent gotten my small rear rack bag / saddle bag / cycling jersey with rear pockets.

wrexel

Sorry to disagree for most folk doable for sub 20 5km and sub 40 for 10k... You just look at running enthusiast in clubs, people take running seriously and have trainers to guide, the percentage of those who are able to do sub 40 10k or sub 20 5km is a small percentage. You are blessed with the gift of vo2max. You definitely are the top runner in any club you join.
Mostly youtubers coach are the culprit of propagating that everyone can do it if you follow this or that plan.

School cross-country and NS timing aside, most people won't be able to break 20min for a 5k; a sub-30 min 5k is more doable. Still not easy, but doable with training.

For 10k, you are going into the realm of long-distance running already and even your sub-20 5k time (assuming you can do it) won't guarantee a sub-40 time.

Ender

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.