jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I think with scaropenia and old age, once you lose it, it's extremely difficult to get it back, even with strength training and protein intake unless you really go all out hardcore like the below.

raylong

Thinking of taking a break from running and take up cycling. Cycle for about 2 months in zone 2. Running only be done once a week for threshold or intervals. Give running leg a good rest. 3rd month then resume.

Ender

Qiaodan newest racing shoes. EU41, less than 100grams. I think this is really for elite runners. those pace in the 3:xx min/km region .

Ender

did the barefoot trend died?

previously saw so many ppl wearing the vibram etc
Ya, the fad is over. But still have some hard core ones. I have seen two barefoot runners in Seng Kang, Both very fast runners.

Ender

KNN this sundown FM kns. Registered last year, this year receive email say date unknown say will give refund still haven't refund. Didn't bother to email them. I believe many already boycotted this chit.
I remember one of us here received the email they will refund, like many months ago. Til now still haven't received the money? I think this organizer cmi liao.

Kuudere

KNN this sundown FM kns. Registered last year, this year receive email say date unknown say will give refund still haven't refund. Didn't bother to email them. I believe many already boycotted this chit.
Sorry to hear about your bad experience. It's definitely unacceptable from the sundown organiser considering that the event has been held consistently for many years. And the fact that they say unknown date instead of cancelled, sounds totally off too.

WussRedXLi

Sorry to hear about your bad experience. It's definitely unacceptable from the sundown organiser considering that the event has been held consistently for many years. And the fact that they say unknown date instead of cancelled, sounds totally off too.

This year is year of the unknowns, everybody cancel.

WussRedXLi

Re: the youtube channels/vids telling you can beat 5k and 10k of 20 mins and 40 mins etc.......of coz they have to sell you (the runner) the dream first, without much assessment of anything.

Coz the majority of these channels offer coaching and sell plans.

Maybe some will be more realistic......ask you adjust your goals and go step by step, but if talking about 30-35 min 5k drop to 22-25 min, it'd be great for many people, the newbie gains are the biggest and that is true for the vast majority of people taking up any sporting activity.

Still, they prob will be trying to dangle the carrot and tell you that "magic" 20 mins is achievable...that's the hard part :grin:
It is mostly the process that is fun.

Then for the more "elite", training for sub 18, 17, 16. heh.....that one gonna be hardcore.

Around the same with SG Pools selling Toto, but that's with even more people not winning any goals. But the hardcore addicts still keep people coming back for more.

Even if naturally gifted with higher VO2max, with the weather here, the vast vast majority of us normal people are not gonna to get out there to train, not even for a comparatively short distance of 5k.
Heck even a full-send 2.4k can get pretty warm and very sweaty due to the humidity.

Even for me i use iced water / slushie for "longe"r faster runs. Even at heat indexes of 26-30.
Even for training sessions on warm nites, i can hide 2 to 3 times in MBS few minutes blow AC first.
(i put quotes coz i am not really a super long distance runner anyway lol )

WussRedXLi

Even for me i use iced water / slushie for "longe"r faster runs. Even at heat indexes of 26-30.
Even for training sessions on warm nites, i can hide 2 to 3 times in MBS few minutes blow AC first.
(i put quotes coz i am not really a super long distance runner anyway lol )

ps. this is impt for city runners.
Dont try to sit down at the floor AC vents and blow AC hor. That is actually somewhat smart, but over there many CCTVs.

The building mgmt staff (and maybe security staff) would come out and ask you not to sit there.
Esp since now NDP period on Sat quite a few would do this stunt one. heh......

I dont even know if i unzip my jersey down to navel level would get scolded or not. :grin:
But no exposed nipples.
I also always pitstop there toilet splash water + wash face which of coz additionally is a cool environment, mainly during cycling coz those sessions are long and the wash face breaks really perk you up

sph777

Thinking of taking a break from running and take up cycling. Cycle for about 2 months in zone 2. Running only be done once a week for threshold or intervals. Give running leg a good rest. 3rd month then resume.
That's what I have been doing. Swim twice, indoor cycle twice, run twice then one of them will be done for the third time in a week or rest day

WussRedXLi

What i scared is that once you take up cycling seriously, you might not turn back to running esp now hot period. :ROFLMAO:
There is this good possibility.

The majority of my running is the home-office commute for morning and evening, and then lunch time.
Then the weekly run might be longer or shorter depending on mood but for sure is faster tempo/thresholdy stuff, and then cycling days i might throw in some SITs around 2 times weekly. (but rather low reps, say 2 ot 3 times only)

My cycling majority is Z1/Z2. But also always peppered with speedwork sprints/surges. For sure if got traffic lights, sure sprint one, even 400m sprint also shiok. And then the climb sessions, be it short or longer, depends on the mood and place of visit (might be short ones like Esplanade bridge, or longer @ Faber or Sentosa and even Serapong hill there).
Cycling always got this "showmanship" risk, much more than running. Now sch hols, over at Shenton Way many fixies also, their base at the back lanes near Lau Pat Sat etc. Road bikes esp pelotons they dare not gun vs them, but with foldies, they know lower hanging fruit, so they will take a go one.

Ender

Re: the youtube channels/vids telling you can beat 5k and 10k of 20 mins and 40 mins etc.......of coz they have to sell you (the runner) the dream first, without much assessment of anything.

Coz the majority of these channels offer coaching and sell plans.

Maybe some will be more realistic......ask you adjust your goals and go step by step, but if talking about 30-35 min 5k drop to 22-25 min, it'd be great for many people, the newbie gains are the biggest and that is true for the vast majority of people taking up any sporting activity.

Still, they prob will be trying to dangle the carrot and tell you that "magic" 20 mins is achievable...that's the hard part :grin:
It is mostly the process that is fun.

Then for the more "elite", training for sub 18, 17, 16. heh.....that one gonna be hardcore.
Glad you said the sub 20 is magic. Even in the ang mo world, it is a magic number goal. I would say training for sub 20 is already hardcore if we talking about average runner with average gift. Yes 22-25 it a more realistic number for most of us, which I have seen many success here. And it something we should celebrate if they get there too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.