jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Just come across this. Say to train in zone 1 wor

This guy is a sport scientist/coach. I subscribed to his channel too. He had some good videos on how to analyze HR and pace data .

Back to your query. When this youtuber mentioned zone 1, he was quoting Dr Seiler. Dr Seiler is the father of Polarized Training, which over time was also called 80/20 training. In his Polarized training, he used his training intensity zone which is only has Three zones. The intensity are divided into three zone by two lactate lines LT1 (2 mmol/L) and LT2 (4 mmol/L).
SO in our usual 5 zones model, we use LTHR or Max HR into percentage and HOPE to get the border of Zone 4 and 5 as close to LT2, while the border of zone 2/3 as close to LT1. Ideally to fall exactly there.

That is why when you guy are ready for a 5km all out, I advise to do LTHR and zone it, at least this method gets your border of 4/5 very close to LT2. And when you guys are able to hold steady state HR at steady state pace over more than one hour, best is 1.5hr , I mentioned before in my post it's time to narrow that steady state HR and pace as close to LT1 as possible. Beside lab test or Lactate field test kit, these two methods are as close you will get to the LT1 and LT2 points. Better that zoning via MAx HR via percentage.

So when the youtuber quoted Dr Seiler's below zone 1 for 80% of your training, it actually mean below LT1, and in the 5 zones model that we are used to, it is below the border of zone 2/3. Nothing has changed.

songboh9696

Just curious, is your 5km daily a threshold run? i.e. the end of your run is shag out.

Coz even daily 5km, weekly volume is not high at 35km, so knee should be able to take this load if there are sufficient base building.
thanks.. my run is usually not all-out kind. Recently i also do doubles after i missed a few days of holiday and try to make up. i think the knee is really a wear and tear thing liao... it's not acute pain... just sometimes feel a nagging ache or very 'Sng' at times.. so far still ok but can forget about half of FM haha.

WussRedXLi

Anyway, hitting sufficient number of hrs of sleep is one thing.

Those number of hrs being quality sleep is another thing.

I find that doing supplements (and of coz good sleep hygiene as base) really helps also.

If not, no way i can sleep at 9 plus (required for early hrs wake up) and then sometimes sleep at around midnight coz next day only required to wake up at 7.30-8pm.
I can switch within a day or 2, no issue.

WussRedXLi

Wah paing bro have you injected some red blood cells

Temperature very important here in SG. Long time ago when i was doing treadmill indoors with cooling (AC and fan), got pros n cons.

Same thing for very hard runs at fast paces where your muscles are releasing a lot of heat. My ice and slushies stuff with towers really get rather messy, but it's for a good reason. Tried with and without before, no fight.

WussRedXLi

This is crazy.

Over there you'd really be forced to be fit. Is survival....... not play play.

WussRedXLi

Anyway, hitting sufficient number of hrs of sleep is one thing.

Those number of hrs being quality sleep is another thing.

I find that doing supplements (and of coz good sleep hygiene as base) really helps also.

If not, no way i can sleep at 9 plus (required for early hrs wake up) and then sometimes sleep at around midnight coz next day only required to wake up at 7.30-8pm.
I can switch within a day or 2, no issue.

ps, just to share.

AC really helps. I have a runner colleague wo AC, i was like......ummm. But ok lah, if it more or less works for him coz adapted already then it's good, but i believe it's not optimal. It's also abt the noise (windows/doors not closed etc).

And for noise, i find that other than AC, ear plugs help a lot.
I can recommend this. Honeywell MAX. Comfy enough to be unobstrusive.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id...pm=a21n57.1.item.9&sku_properties=20509:28315

O1CN01P5sQCZ1qCGrNNTLMo_!!0-item_pic.jpg_Q75.jpg_.webp

WussRedXLi

Last time i have tried Moldex Softies before also......can try and search in TB.
This one i purchased from Amazon.

Get in 200pcs 1 box, cheaper

81XDgiLe+eL._AC_SY879_.jpg

WussRedXLi

And then for the early sessions, i try to sleep in another room, by myself. Quality sleep is assured one.
But of coz this one quite dependent on your family/house setup......sometimes also bo bian.

Coz your schedule is not gonna be the same as the rest of the family members schedule. eg for me i go early session, finish it, then return back and go out with kid again for cafe ride.

WussRedXLi

Solid interview.......think everyone be it runner, walker, cyclist all can learn something from this.

Jeremy1

Last time i have tried Moldex Softies before also......can try and search in TB.
This one i purchased from Amazon.

Get in 200pcs 1 box, cheaper

81XDgiLe+eL._AC_SY879_.jpg

Just put on your ear piece n enjoy the music while running will be better :s21:

WussRedXLi

Just put on your ear piece n enjoy the music while running will be better :s21:

Actually i used to do that when i was racewalking and hence no race no timing involved (couldnt be bothered, there can still be PBs and pacings involved). So no pressure, not so much focussed on recovery via getting sufficient quality sleep.

Ender

Today is the 12km BUFF forest Force Trail run. Hope those there had a good time. But the rain this morning quite jia lat, muddy trail, ponding, or flood are expected. But then cooling also.

WussRedXLi

Today is the 12km BUFF forest Force Trail run. Hope those there had a good time. But the rain this morning quite jia lat, muddy trail, ponding, or flood are expected. But then cooling also.

Got rain i really shudder to think...... i rode before @ RC during rain, 2 fallen trees and i had to carry my bike over them big fallen branches and the mud is like oily feeling one, even after flushing with water my slippers still slippery, had to use soap at home to rub. Quite risky, even Nparks said beware via its signages. But that time bo bian, i needed to get lunch for my fam from ABC Brickworks.
IIRC 2 cases of dead joggers?

raylong

Warm evening 4.8km 6min30s pace.

How you all hr 120 jogging sia. I walking around 100+

I am guessing it's due to a person's old age. The younger you are the higher bpm you got
For eg in young people their max HR are usually between 190 - 200 bpm. So their easy 70% run are 133 - 140 bpm
Old men like us are usually max 170 bpm. So naturally our easy 70% will be like 119 bpm

Kuudere

Sleep is very important.

Since you said you have not been sleep optimised, I think if you have enough sleep, within 3 months you sub 19 liao. (y)

Will have to see what I can do in the next couple of months. Sleep fixing takes time. Running sub 19 5k not easy also, should be at least 8.36-8.43 2.4k, based on race predictors.

Floris Gierman, the go to guy on anything MAF running. MAF running works to certain extent, but after the end of the programme when we maxed out all the benefits from this aerobic training, most would benefit to transit to polarised training.

Here is he doing a sub 3 marathon in his conversational pace.

That mileage is a lot. But I think the selling point is that he can achieve 2.44 marathon without getting injuries. Polarised training gives faster gains but also has a higher injury risk.

One thing I noticed is that his HM is 1.19, so his distance scaling is incredible to run 2.44 M.

I am guessing it's due to a person's old age. The younger you are the higher bpm you got
For eg in young people their max HR are usually between 190 - 200 bpm. So their easy 70% run are 133 - 140 bpm
Old men like us are usually max 170 bpm. So naturally our easy 70% will be like 119 bpm

Not to mention, to sustain max HR in running, need to keep doing interval training. When I started running intervals again in Feb, my body keep stitching up and getting breathless at 180 HR and need to walk. But as I continued training, managed to go up to 200+ before I get stitch. Currently, my max is 206.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.