jogging and motivation thread

raylong

Relatively windy evening.
But feel like punctured tire..

4.7km 6min30s avg 162bpm max 175bpm.
Cannot sustain jogging end up walk jog
Sian
At least you are still young mah. How I wish I can easily go 175 bpm. Good result need time and a lot of patient one. Run more consistently and improvement will surely come.

raylong

Threshold day.

opW8sTs.jpg
Your pace 2.4km 8:16 wow!

WussRedXLi

Your pace 2.4km 8:16 wow!

The last 2.4 i "properly" recorded was 8.42, last year just before AHM so around 1 year ago liao. 3 rounds of "800m" at my place, not GPS, but according to the literature is 800m and also i google map measured distance so close enough lah.

Actually talking about 3k middle/long distance, the vid of Nick Bester i posted yesterday was wow (sub 9).
Our 2.4 record held by Jevaneesh at 6.50 set at Pocari.

There is a Lui Yuan Chow which actually is even more power at such a distance, think he is pretty young chap.
3k is 8.24 only, which equates to a 6.46 for 2.4k.
But set in 2019, so maybe nowadays he got better things to do outside of atheletics.

Lchlch

Guys, as we know, jogging and walking uses different leg muscles.
how about walk up stairs, can walk up stairs be any help to jog and walk Muscles?
cos I tried few times, i pant like as if I run full speed.

sph777

The last 2.4 i "properly" recorded was 8.42, last year just before AHM so around 1 year ago liao. 3 rounds of "800m" at my place, not GPS, but according to the literature is 800m and also i google map measured distance so close enough lah.

Actually talking about 3k middle/long distance, the vid of Nick Bester i posted yesterday was wow (sub 9).
Our 2.4 record held by Jevaneesh at 6.50 set at Pocari.

There is a Lui Yuan Chow which actually is even more power at such a distance, think he is pretty young chap.
3k is 8.24 only, which equates to a 6.46 for 2.4k.
But set in 2019, so maybe nowadays he got better things to do outside of atheletics.
I asked Rui Yong before, it's cause Lui skipped NS, went to Australia.

WussRedXLi

Guys, as we know, jogging and walking uses different leg muscles.
how about walk up stairs, can walk up stairs be any help to jog and walk Muscles?
cos I tried few times, i pant like as if I run full speed.

Slightly different only i think. It won't get you to national best or simi of coz, but still can get you to a very decent level. I tried running the first time round i did 1600m at around 6 min 20 secs back in Q3 of 2022 which is iirc 4 minsflat pace. Prior to that i "only" walked........but i put quotes coz my walking is more like training level and also very consistent, as in literally daily and shorter distances, so injury/recovery not at issue.
Definitely not HM or even 10k kinda pattern, you dont need to rest until siao one. Stuff like FM or triathlon dont say.

WussRedXLi

I asked Rui Yong before, it's cause Lui skipped NS, went to Australia.

Maybe not coming back?

I also wanna go Batam, live with in-laws (they just moved there this year). Then can hoot more cycling etc.

But $$$ not enough :ROFLMAO: Also the ferry $$$ so expensive nowadays (last time pre-covid they indons only pay S$32 2 ways)

My wife also work until super dulan already.

Lchlch

Slightly different only i think. It won't get you to national best or simi of coz, but still can get you to a very decent level. I tried running the first time round i did 1600m at around 6 min 20 secs back in Q3 of 2022 which is iirc 4 minsflat pace.
Okok, I thought walk up can be of help to our running, jogging and walking.. as I found out it uses hip muscles n full burst of lung energy.

Lchlch

I bought a running vest.
First time buying.
Hv not use it.

But wanted to know is the behind vest looks like normal haversack length? Or shorter ? Like length same length as our elbow?

sph777

Maybe not coming back?

I also wanna go Batam, live with in-laws (they just moved there this year). Then can hoot more cycling etc.

But $$$ not enough :ROFLMAO: Also the ferry $$$ so expensive nowadays (last time pre-covid they indons only pay S$32 2 ways)

My wife also work until super dulan already.
If you ever decide to move there, u sell Pinnacle, alr can get $$$ haha

Jeremy1

I bought a running vest.
First time buying.
Hv not use it.

But wanted to know is the behind vest looks like normal haversack length? Or shorter ? Like length same length as our elbow?

Should be shorter.

WussRedXLi

Okok, I thought walk up can be of help to our running, jogging and walking.. as I found out it uses hip muscles n full burst of lung energy.

I guess as far as one has just been starting out and you are walking or even cycling/swimming (breast + freestyle) consistently and at a decent level that stimulates both endurance and speed, for sure there would be significant improvements. The beginner gains.

As to how far it benefits running, it depends on the type of session you have been doing? eg majority zone 2 walking and then some 10-20% really fast walking to stimulate various systems for speed is gonna take you pretty far for running. But if going for pure endurance like the 40k walks you mentioned, might be another game liao

Anyway i also have been SITs since covid restrictions lifted, ie full on 10/10 RPE sprints, but short durations. Not intervals which are noticeably slower and by far longer, but still........for sure it beats doing nothing.
And definitely way better (to improve running| stimulation than auntie/uncles doing the typical brisk walking in parks

WussRedXLi

Same goes for cycling, to a certain extent. If you are not a newbie runner/walker, for cycling you can just be on a foldie and still be faster than youngsters on fixeis or ladies on very expensive bikes vast majority of the time in local context. I can attest to this no issue, even just largely based on cardio alone (spin to win), at least for shorter distances.
(anyway SG is so small, those play play "surges" or "attacks" wont be farther than 2-3km)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.