jogging and motivation thread

dreamaurora

Run from office to home yesterday 16km pace 8:46 heart rate 160

Plus another walk for 3km

Longer route because got lost avoiding cemetery 😔
Pretty good run!

What is your maximum HR? For longer runs like this I would keep my average HR around 75% of my maximum HR otherwise I realize the recovery is longer and the legs would still feel sore the next day.

WussRedXLi

Run from office to home yesterday 16km pace 8:46 heart rate 160

Plus another walk for 3km

Longer route because got lost avoiding cemetery 😔

Welcome to the club!

Have been daily commute 1.1 x 4 = 4.4km daily run commuting for 1 year 10 months. The good thing with 4 x 1.1 is that it is broken up is that you dont get too sweaty and it's just like intervals but with much much longer recovery and you wont really get tired or injured and those stuff, and at home lunch time can either wash armpits at the sink or go for the full works top body 3 mins quick shower which cleans the neck, back and chest areas as well.
The cool and somewhat dry (45-50% RH) conditions of the server room for fast evap/cooldown helps, but of coz body must be able to tahan without getting sick (which i no issue)

Of coz got need to cross 2 roads and stuff, but the same goes for cycling / skateboarding etc commuting.

Of coz, you'd still need to do your other more specific workouts. This is just very basic running add-on nia. But it still does "pile up".
Instead of paying $$$ and spending an extra 10-15 mins on waiting/taking bus, this is a no-brainer.

dicxz80

Pretty good run!

What is your maximum HR? For longer runs like this I would keep my average HR around 75% of my maximum HR otherwise I realize the recovery is longer and the legs would still feel sore the next day.
Max heart rate 179 😅

I always have high heart rate :(

dicxz80

Welcome to the club!

Have been daily commute 1.1 x 4 = 4.4km daily run commuting for 1 year 10 months. The good thing with 4 x 1.1 is that it is broken up is that you dont get too sweaty and it's just like intervals but with much much longer recovery and you wont really get tired or injured and those stuff, and at home lunch time can either wash armpits at the sink or go for the full works top body 3 mins quick shower which cleans the neck, back and chest areas as well.
The cool and somewhat dry (45-50% RH) conditions of the server room for fast evap/cooldown helps, but of coz body must be able to tahan without getting sick (which i no issue)

Of coz got need to cross 2 roads and stuff, but the same goes for cycling / skateboarding etc commuting.

Of coz, you'd still need to do your other more specific workouts. This is just very basic running add-on nia. But it still does "pile up".
Instead of paying $$$ and spending an extra 10-15 mins on waiting/taking bus, this is a no-brainer.
Wow. Daily. I need to find new job closer to home 😞

WussRedXLi

Interesting......

https://www.trainerroad.com/blog/the-cost-of-getting-faster/

But anyway my skinsuits/socks/etc all cheap cheap china cheong stuff lah, they work ok as long as not ngeow about materials and small nuances like very specific fit @ certain areas of the body. Hobbyist play play for fun grade still ok.

At the other end of the spectrum, Jon Kaslow started TrainerRoad as a complete beginner. In 7 months, he improved his FTP by 80w and achieved big success in his target event, exclusively with low-volume training. That puts Jon’s improvements at an incredible $1.74 per watt- over 15x more cost-effective than an aero helmet, 1/119th the cost of oversize pulley wheels, and almost 125x the relative value of an aero bike for the same watts. And while you can’t lean your TrainerRoad plan against the wall at the coffee shop to show it off, you’ll definitely turn some heads when you crush your goal events.
XBrv1rU.jpg

Past few weeks esp i have had quite a few experiences and i do think in real practical experiences, training is really key for cycling, assuming that you are still not @ top tier fitness. If you are near your peak potential, then yes the gains would be significantly smaller and harder to come by. Same goes for running.
Race environment would be different, but i think if you are cash strapped/dont wanna spend much, this is key.
Really dont relish spending 10-15k on bikes with electronic shifting and all that stuff, even 4-5k also not that interested.
Another thing is maintenance and stuff.....the only thing i can do is adjusting the hydraulic brake calipers so as to prevent rubbing and also cleaning drivetrain. If i keep on foldie platform, my "LBS" is just 2km away, and his charges are cheap, i have done 3 small and simple adjustments before and he did not even charge me a single cent. Other stuff are very cheap also. Labour dont say, confirm cheap, but even branded stuff (eg Schwalbe One tyres) are like even cheaper than half the price of shops/shopee. Another LBS which can do road bikes (Hup Leong @ Chin Swee), wow man..... at the rate i am going i think also not cheap in total.

WussRedXLi

Wow. Daily. I need to find new job closer to home 😞

Yes, that is key. Also good would be pretty much sheltered, better for wet weather and most important is sunny days. For me is city/cbd area so is ok.
Places like Ubi, can die one. (eg say u live Eunos/Macpherson and office is Ubi, then not really practical)

Kuudere

I wonder if possible to train till 16.00. :unsure: :oops:

Current Female WR for age 45 is 15.41 and age 50 is 16.29, age 55 17.26. :unsure:
Male 14:37 for age 50, 15.13 for age 55.

I know 1 youtuber age 60 hit low 17.00s

From experience, i can't recover fast enough even for "just" 10k. So less chances.
Only notable ones I know are Melvin Wong (41 this yr, ran 1.13 HM gold coast and 33.54 10k in Sg) and Henry He (42 this yr, ran 16.30 5k in Sg)

The latter is still improving, his 2022 5k track time was 17.38: https://www.singaporeathletics.org.sg/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/smtfa-2022-full-results.pdf

2023 17.08: https://www.singaporeathletics.org.sg/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/day-6-results-1.pdf

2024 16.30: https://results.singaporeathletics.org.sg/ac32024/

All done in Sg, so definitely faster abroad.

WussRedXLi

Only notable ones I know are Melvin Wong (41 this yr, ran 1.13 HM gold coast and 33.54 10k in Sg) and Henry He (42 this yr, ran 16.30 5k in Sg)

The latter is still improving, his 2022 5k track time was 17.38: https://www.singaporeathletics.org.sg/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/smtfa-2022-full-results.pdf

2023 17.08: https://www.singaporeathletics.org.sg/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/day-6-results-1.pdf

2024 16.30: https://results.singaporeathletics.org.sg/ac32024/

All done in Sg, so definitely faster abroad.

Problem is that i am like 10 years older than them haha...... Actually no need 16 flat, just high 16 is big achievement already, reach then see how it goes from there.
According to runninglevel, the difference at this middle-age group for 40 vs 50 age is 1 min 30s for 5k. Is that a Mt Everest of a difference or just a notable difference that can be overcome, not really sure.
But i think really need to put in some structure and quality liao. Nutrition and recovery more or less there liao, eg i totally have cut out all junk food and most of the ultra processed foods. My brain and outlook in life can tahan no issue.

And regardless, take my timings with a small grain of salt, google maps + gps type nia. But it is what it is i guess....hobbyist grade.

WussRedXLi

1 year about 30 seconds. Actually that has been my experience too........approx 30 (miserable) seconds. :ROFLMAO:
Last year just before AHM i was 18.42, then last month or so 18.20.
So to improve till upper 16s, i need 3 more years on average. basket.
But with no structured training la, anyhow hamtum schedule.

WussRedXLi

Why she shaking when on the wheelchair? Motor units cannot control, lack of sodium and so misfiring ah?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.