jogging and motivation thread

Dividends Warrior

wah dvdwarrior nv thought i'd see you here :eek:

both are OK ah, i have slight bias towards ASICS hahahahaha, just try on both and see which one feels better lo..
I have been here during the covid years, posted my walking/jogging vid at Woodlands Waterfront where I frequent. But I dun post regularly as I just jog casually without timing myself or measuring my pace (My IPPT days are over) :LOL: I missed those days when the park was less crowded on weekends.

Went to the New Balance store, Both 1080s and FreshForm More sold out.
Went to Asics to try the Novablast. Didn't really like it. Ended up buying the Nimbus 26 which is more comfortable for casual joggers like me. Also can wear daily.

e3f3a99c98fca85d2a9abbcf7378c6d443f6c239.jpeg

xllms

I don't think I am over-training, especially since end April, early May as I did 4 x HM within 6 days. After that, I have been running moderately, usually a run, rest one or two days before running again. Hardly run on consecutive days. And I have scaled down my running distances, majority of my runs are usually 5-6km per leg and another 5-6km return during one run, with occasional 2x7-9km, once a week or bi-weekly perhaps 2 x 10km. My last HM distance was in early June.
Most of my runs now are at an average of 6-7min/km pace and many in zone 2s (7-9min/km) average pace. Can hardly sustain below 6min/km pace for more than 4km nowadays.
Minimum 6 hours of daily sleep, usually start sleeping by 10.30pm and awake for runs by 5am.

Mileage Past 12 months
Aug: 89.15 km
Jul: 203.75 km
Jun: 64.49 km
May: 173.33 km
Apr: 159.45 km
Mar: 152.23 km
Feb: 119.10 km
Jan: 14.28 km
Dec: 70.13 km
Nov: 89.30 km
Oct: 145.51 km
Sep: 119.65 km
Aug: 100.21 km

below is my fitness graph (base fitness, load impact, intensity trend) from Jan-today for reference.
Fitness-0101-1608.png

although i have rest day(s) after my runs, does my increase in mileage suggest I am over-training?

Dividends Warrior

wah didnt expect to see you here too.

i would suggest the novablast 3 to save on your dividends because its cheaper as it's past season shoe. it's hard to find heavily discounted new balance running shoes imo.
Tried the Novablast in store, but not feeling it. In the end, bought the Nimbus 26 instead. :giggle:

52d0099e4a943245030f293ffd90a91213e24b83.jpeg

dreamaurora

wah didnt expect to see you here too.

i would suggest the novablast 3 to save on your dividends because its cheaper as it's past season shoe. it's hard to find heavily discounted new balance running shoes imo.

SSS selling selected Novablast 4 for $145. But I won't exactly recommend it for casual runners.

milkiee

I don't think I am over-training, especially since end April, early May as I did 4 x HM within 6 days. After that, I have been running moderately, usually a run, rest one or two days before running again. Hardly run on consecutive days. And I have scaled down my running distances, majority of my runs are usually 5-6km per leg and another 5-6km return during one run, with occasional 2x7-9km, once a week or bi-weekly perhaps 2 x 10km. My last HM distance was in early June.
Most of my runs now are at an average of 6-7min/km pace and many in zone 2s (7-9min/km) average pace. Can hardly sustain below 6min/km pace for more than 4km nowadays.
Minimum 6 hours of daily sleep, usually start sleeping by 10.30pm and awake for runs by 5am.

Mileage Past 12 months

below is my fitness graph (base fitness, load impact, intensity trend) from Jan-today for reference.
Fitness-0101-1608.png

although i have rest day(s) after my runs, does my increase in mileage suggest I am over-training?
i'm a novice runner so i'm not sure my input is the most accurate.
however, it seems to me like you're running without a plan in mind.

i remember reading somewhere about having your weekly mileage at the 80/20 ratio.
80% of your run should be in z2 (easy run, LSD) and the 20% should be at z4/z5 (threshold, interval, hill sprints) or something.
strength training at least 2 times per week as well to improve running efficiency.

i have only been doing z2 runs mostly and like 1-2 threshold run per month as i'm following the TAO training plan. i have seen massive gains in my speed and endurance. i think that is also because i am a beginner runner as compared to you. i think you need a more structured training plan to see improvements as a seasoned runner.

thoughts? @Ender

ctan84

I have ”hit the wall” in my running.
Last year, since i use my coros to record my runs from Aug, my monthly average is approx. 100km and by end of the year, I can easily complete 10km within 60min. Thiis year, excluding Jan when i was ill, monthly average is more than 100km and ast month total is 200km. However my pace has been decreasing and feeling more and more laborious. Now I can no longer go below 60min for my 10km nor clock below 5’40”/km av for 5-6km runs. Previously I can push myself in the last km to go as fast as possible or go for another km, now I can hardly finish my targetted distances properly. Today, I completed a 7.5km at 6’07”min/km av pace. Rested some 20min, wanted to do a zone 2 return leg at around 7-8min/km. By 1km plus I felt super awful but pushed myself to continue till 2.4km mark I gave up. Ended up walked back to complete the return leg av. 9’21”. Past months all my return runs at zone 2 had been very laborious and never felt like an easy run.
Anyone has faced similar issues before?
Take a 1 month break to not run and don't think about running. Just go do what you like apart from sports.

Stress isn't just physical leh; the stress at work, the dynamics of family relationships and many more can contribute to the slowing down of your recovery from the runs. After that 1 month break, pls learn to use a loading / unloading ratio in your running. I usually advocate a 3:1 approach meaning for 3 weeks you can LOAD mileage upwards, on the 4th week you cut (UNLOAD) your mileage by 25-30% (relative to the 3rd week). If after the 4th week you still feel tired, the 5th week you cut by another 20%. During the unloading week, feel free to treat yourself to some nice food, massage etc.

Remember, human physiology isn't a rigid black and white machine; a holistic training approach can increase the longevity of your sport.

xllms

i remember reading somewhere about having your weekly mileage at the 80/20 ratio.
80% of your run should be in z2 (easy run, LSD) and the 20% should be at z4/z5 (threshold, interval, hill sprints) or something.
strength training at least 2 times per week as well to improve running efficiency.

i have only been doing z2 runs mostly and like 1-2 threshold run per month as i'm following the TAO training plan. i have seen massive gains in my speed and endurance. i think that is also because i am a beginner runner as compared to you. i think you need a more structured training plan to see improvements as a seasoned runner.

thoughts? @Ender
In a way, you are correct that my runs are not too structured due to work commitments. Cannot really lock down which days i can do my runs.

Most of my runs per session are done in 2 legs ( to and fro). The return legs are usually z2 runs. The first leg of the run are usually in z3 mixed wit’s a bit of z4. When I feel better, I will be doing z4+z5. Distances covered are usually at 5-6km per leg. Return approx. the same.

Anyway, thanks for the suggestion.

xllms

Take a 1 month break to not run and don't think about running. Just go do what you like apart from sports.

Stress isn't just physical leh; the stress at work, the dynamics of family relationships and many more can contribute to the slowing down of your recovery from the runs. After that 1 month break, pls learn to use a loading / unloading ratio in your running. I usually advocate a 3:1 approach meaning for 3 weeks you can LOAD mileage upwards, on the 4th week you cut (UNLOAD) your mileage by 25-30% (relative to the 3rd week). If after the 4th week you still feel tired, the 5th week you cut by another 20%. During the unloading week, feel free to treat yourself to some nice food, massage etc.

Remember, human physiology isn't a rigid black and white machine; a holistic training approach can increase the longevity of your sport.
I did have a break in June, with 2-3 weeks 1 run per week. Maybe that is not enough. Thank you for the suggestion.

Ender

Mileage Past 12 months

Fitness-0101-1608.png

Just curious, what does your one page training status says? Like mine, it says performance, because I have been reducing my training load, so fitness went down, but form went up due to rest and recovery, the cumulative fatigue is going down trend. Just want to check if your Coros status is categorize as "Excessive" or not.

The reason why this week I had my training load reduce is because I find TAO training had pushed me to the edge, and I am taking a break from the program and doing my own easy runs this week. Each run ends without pushing thru fatigue or getting out of breadth. Just sweat til my socks are damp in the humid climate. Even Strava recognized this week is a recovery week by my trend.

I think for this few week, stop running once it feels laborious, and let your body recover thru brisk walking or use share bike.

xllms

Coz you and i and quite a few others here are playing timings / "TTs" so to speak, not totally for fun stress-free stuff.

Maybe what you can do is to try 3k, 5k distances. Past 6 months i was slowly shifting focus to that. I find it slightly easier. Oot even gunning 10k nowadays, coz those need 12-15k long run trainings and that's very conservative. Since i am not running that much (not really over 35k/wk and even if got 1 week do really long run it's not over 40k), i decided to recently forgo this distance.

3k 5k also can play lah, since playing timings. I know in reality people say 5k and even 10k no kick no sweat (I ever met 1 fella saying noob distances) but ignore them?

Then go cross train, see which area you enjoy. Already told you go hoot cycling liao. Very very easy to build up your aerobic base one, in fact it's not even comparable to running, it's much easier. Z1 Z2, just stick on a bluetooth speaker, insulated bottle with ice, go explore places etc. Very productive/fruitful and it would not even feel like you are exercising. Then intervals/hreshold/VO2max/climbs and sprints just do when you are comfortable, 1-2% of the time only also can, still useful stimulus...you will improve one.
20-25 hours a week easy peasey, can lose weight. Try 20-25h with running even if it is just 6-7min/km.....i think i die first.
I have been shifting focus to shorter distance due to the extreme heat here in SH past 2 months. Now doing more 2 x 5-7km per sessions instead of 9-12km x 2. Despite this, i am still feeling rather laborious when i do these shorter sessions.

Am staying away from cycling because house no space to keep bicycle, don’t want to spend too much money.

maybe i should try do z2 runs now with reduced mileage by 50% for a month and see the results.

xllms

Just curious, what does your one page training status says? Like mine, it says performance, because I have been reducing my training load, so fitness went down, but form went up due to rest and recovery, the cumulative fatigue is going down trend. Just want to check if your Coros status is categorize as "Excessive" or not.

The reason why this week I had my training load reduce is because I find TAO training had pushed me to the edge, and I am taking a break from the program and doing my own easy runs this week. Each run ends without pushing thru fatigue or getting out of breadth. Just sweat til my socks are damp in the humid climate. Even Strava recognized this week is a recovery week by my trend.

I think for this few week, stop running once it feels laborious, and let your body recover thru brisk walking or use share bike.
10a36e861043cac5bd8c904a02c563ee.png

Ender

thoughts? @Ender
80/20 is nicely laid out for those not on training program and likes to DIY their workouts. Go by feel, to adjust mileage. Personally I am a big believer of zone 2 training for building base. I find many runners just don't do enough of zone 2 or they treat their long runs as zone 2 training. I keep long runs(zone2) separate from my zone 2 easy runs. Long run I can skip if I am feeling tired. But zone 2 easy runs I will run at any given opportunities, coz I know I will end the run before I even feel the need to push, so can do anytime when I can.

Ender

I have been shifting focus to shorter distance due to the extreme heat here in SH past 2 months. Now doing more 2 x 5-7km per sessions instead of 9-12km x 2. Despite this, i am still feeling rather laborious when i do these shorter sessions.

Am staying away from cycling because house no space to keep bicycle, don’t want to spend too much money.

maybe i should try do z2 runs now with reduced mileage by 50% for a month and see the results.
Maybe it's the heat wave..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.