jogging and motivation thread

xllms

He push u to cycle, I push u to swim. Use the half board (pull buoy), can still swim without kicking, to keep up cardio while injured haha
swimming over here in SH is quite troublesome as need to go when facility is open. Most of my runs are done super early in the mornings (5am-7am). Public swimming pools facilities are usually opened from 8am onwards (a few high end hotel/club swimming pools open at 7am). Need to work on weekdays and need to settle family stuffs on weekends. Night time, facilities are packed with people, hated it. 2021, I paid for hotel gym membership thinking i don't have to squeeze with the crowd, however night time and weekends are also filled with people in the pool. Weekends are horrendous in the pool, filled with kids playing. At the moment, cycling is probably a better option than swimming for me at the moment, although i have no space at home to place a bicycle, and no way i will place my bike outside the house. lol

xllms

Ish fated to cycle bro....... :s12:
although i am restricted by space to have a bicycle, it hasn't stop me from looking at bikes. eg. if i am to buy one, i will probably go for a good china brand carbon fibre body, eg. Winspace Agile, Yoeleo R12, Pardus Spark Sport 2024, Sunspeed Invincible, Upland R70, Java SCIA-TT, etc 😅
Plenty to play on bikes over here in China. Endless Pit :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

although i am restricted by space to have a bicycle, it hasn't stop me from looking at bikes. eg. if i am to buy one, i will probably go for a good china brand carbon fibre body, eg. Winspace Agile, Yoeleo R12, Pardus Spark Sport 2024, Sunspeed Invincible, Upland R70, Java SCIA-TT, etc 😅
Plenty to play on bikes over here in China. Endless Pit :ROFLMAO:

Or can be cheap stationary bike, if can lock up outside the corridor or what and neighbours wont kpkb. Like our HDB. Literally no risk vs cycling outside. But it's like treadmill, either you love it or you hate it.

xllms

Or can be cheap stationary bike, if can lock up outside the corridor or what and neighbours wont kpkb. Like our HDB. Literally no risk vs cycling outside. But it's like treadmill, either you love it or you hate it.
corridor no space to place anything. If place there, building management sure KPKB, i myself step outside also will see it as an eyesore.

i never like running on threadmill in the gym, so i won't like stationary bike. :ROFLMAO:

sph777

swimming over here in SH is quite troublesome as need to go when facility is open. Most of my runs are done super early in the mornings (5am-7am). Public swimming pools facilities are usually opened from 8am onwards (a few high end hotel/club swimming pools open at 7am). Need to work on weekdays and need to settle family stuffs on weekends. Night time, facilities are packed with people, hated it. 2021, I paid for hotel gym membership thinking i don't have to squeeze with the crowd, however night time and weekends are also filled with people in the pool. Weekends are horrendous in the pool, filled with kids playing. At the moment, cycling is probably a better option than swimming for me at the moment, although i have no space at home to place a bicycle, and no way i will place my bike outside the house. lol
Didn't know that it was so bad there. I guess the chinese swimmers winning many golds also make swimming a very popular sport

Ender

corridor no space to place anything. If place there, building management sure KPKB, i myself step outside also will see it as an eyesore.

i never like running on threadmill in the gym, so i won't like stationary bike. :ROFLMAO:
I have an acquaintance in another forum who was station in Beijing for a few years. An avid cyclist. Use to see him post his cycling to many parts of China on Strava. He also joined a cycling group there where they go for more challenging route outside city. Shanghai should have similar cycling culture and scenic route outside the city.

Ender

@xllms I remember you have the Bmai shoes, is it this one? 必迈远征者 4.0?
I was wondering if this is considered a max cushion shoes, where the alternate AMDK brand are NB 1080, Saucony Triump 21, Asics Novablast or Nimbus?
Looking to replace my recovery shoe, Novablast v2 where the outsole at the heel are almost completely gone.

xllms

I have an acquaintance in another forum who was station in Beijing for a few years. An avid cyclist. Use to see him post his cycling to many parts of China on Strava. He also joined a cycling group there where they go for more challenging route outside city. Shanghai should have similar cycling culture and scenic route outside the city.
Shanghai and surroundings have plenty of good riding routes, which is why i am not discounting the possibility of riding. Only restriction I have is space to keep the bicycle and this hobby will be a bottomless pit of endless changes and upgrades.

xllms

@xllms I remember you have the Bmai shoes, is it this one? 必迈远征者 4.0?
I was wondering if this is considered a max cushion shoes, where the alternate AMDK brand are NB 1080, Saucony Triump 21, Asics Novablast or Nimbus?
Looking to replace my recovery shoe, Novablast v2 where the outsole at the heel are almost completely gone.
mine is 远征者5.0. I am not sure if it is considered as a max cushion shoe as there is no information on its stack height. I did my own measurement and it is approx. 40mm thick at the heel, which is similar to Adidas Adios Pro 3 (not a max cushion shoe). My perception of max cushion shoe will be higher than 40mm. Maybe I am not totally correct as I am not too into max cushion shoes since my ankle doesn't like the feel of it.

Ender

mine is 远征者5.0. I am not sure if it is considered as a max cushion shoe as there is no information on its stack height. I did my own measurement and it is approx. 40mm thick at the heel, which is similar to Adidas Adios Pro 3 (not a max cushion shoe). My perception of max cushion shoe will be higher than 40mm. Maybe I am not totally correct as I am not too into max cushion shoes since my ankle doesn't like the feel of it.
Actually there's no official definition of max cushion shoes, it's up to the manufacturer to decide what range of their shoes would be maximalist. So some less than 40mm heel stack, they classify as max Cushion.
NB 1080 I would considered as their maximalist shoe, but then they release a even more stacked height called Fresh Foam More.

For me , as long more than 35mm can liao, good for short recovery runs. Coz I see the 远征者4.0, older model, cheaper, less than $50 can get. I can't find the spec, so ask around here if they are in the same cat as the NB 1080.. Seems like it is.

xllms

Actually there's no official definition of max cushion shoes, it's up to the manufacturer to decide what range of their shoes would be maximalist. So some less than 40mm heel stack, they classify as max Cushion.
NB 1080 I would considered as their maximalist shoe, but then they release a even more stacked height called Fresh Foam More.

For me , as long more than 35mm can liao, good for short recovery runs. Coz I see the 远征者4.0, older model, cheaper, less than $50 can get. I can't find the spec, so ask around here if they are in the same cat as the NB 1080.. Seems like it is.
S$50, just buy and try lah. you won't know until you try. Personally i feel 5.0 is a very decent running shoe, only issue is i perspire too much which is not suitable for summer time running. So i am saving for non-summer days to run. Yes, its definitely suitable for recovery slow runs.

Ender

S$50, just buy and try lah. you won't know until you try. Personally i feel 5.0 is a very decent running shoe, only issue is i perspire too much which is not suitable for summer time running. So i am saving for non-summer days to run. Yes, its definitely suitable for recovery slow runs.
Got it.. Thanks.

Ender

Shock impact is actually good, but also too much will injure you. Gradual incremental to allow your body for adaptation.

Skyrillex

Tonight's weather quite good and cooling for a long run.
100 more days to SCSM, or lesser i think...?

SuQ8iY6.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.