jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Dont have to do the bigger jumps which i dont really feel easy with coz of age, but the pogos / hops even as beginner level plyo ares still great and gives really good bang for the buck.

Just microdose it whenever you can, you don't even feel you need time or effort,

wj1984

what are you guys goals for 2025...

been running consistently since covid...
my easy runs is now about 5.30min/km pace @ 145bpm or so..
5k - 22.28
10k - 48.45
HM - 1.54.40

What goals should i set for 2025!

Kuudere

Hills i believe shd be one of the major components for runners possibiy maybe even for 10k, Also strides or if one can accept it, SITs. But SITs flat ground might be a higher injury risk. But for neuro, flat ground SITs really solid.

Any hills is good.......just run fast enough on it. For me is just only 40 metres and about 10% gradient (that is what is available to me for my office-home commute portion), not even long ones.

i think personally (again to the others i stress again personally....im no pro) i would rate it just under intervals. It's like not a direct contributor but iI feel it is pretty important. It's something like the on-bike strength training things but this is the on-run strength training equivalent.

Past 4-5 months i have also been doing bike specific strength training other than using the bands. Top gear, 5% gradient, push for 7 pedal strokes. Standing as well as sitting.
It is similar to the SITs, no need to go distance. But it is tough, it is a completely diff kind of stimulus even if folks are doing intervals on the bike etc coz initially i did feel soreness.

I dont wanna lor soh. long story cut short.....but i can tell you, the improvements here are very significant and very obvious. What i can share here is that it is so bloody important for biking.
But of coz, for biking, it's probably of even more importance and of higher practicality in the real world than for running fast......but still.

Also i think 2 supplements, creatine and whey, probably helps a fair bit in this.
For longer ones like Mt Faber, Sentosa or others if those are your cup of tea, can add beta alanine.
It's a major component even if you do marathons as well. It's just that for long distance, hills doesn't have to be so steep. And there's no need to do hill sprints like in 5k/10k.

For e.g. go Macritchie/Mount Faber, run steady state and cover additional loops.

For 5k/10k, speed matters more. I enjoy going bukit timah hill/bukit batok memorial to do hill sprints. Need a lot of rest since the primary goal is to build speed.
Honestly for most pro athletes I don't think they would engage SRY. They alr have their own coaches that they are familiar with or need physically present coaches. I think SRY is more for those who don't need physical supervision, just looking to improve. Of course there are exceptions like Aaron, but I think most cases, athletes will stick to their existing coaches.
I believe that if you get coaching, you will naturally adapt/adopt the training structure into your workouts eventually after leaving the system.

The only downside I see with no coaching is that some people need to run with others to improve. And in that case, it's better to stick to coaching long-term since they will have people to compete against within their run club.

Regular run clubs wouldn't be that competitive. I am mostly on my own when I go to free running clubs. I used to run with others but as I improve, start to do the same workouts faster.

milkiee

5k - 22.28
10k - 48.45
HM - 1.54.40

i think your goals can be more aggressive if your easy pace is 5:30min/km.

i managed to achieve your said timing this year with an easy pace of 7:00min/km

wj1984

i think your goals can be more aggressive if your easy pace is 5:30min/km.

i managed to achieve your said timing this year with an easy pace of 7:00min/km

my biggest goal is sub 9.14 for 2.4km since i didnt manage to hit that during army days...

I think i could bring a couple of mins more down for the 10km and HM but for the 5k might be tough... Not a fast runner...

winningeleven

5k - 22.28
10k - 48.45
HM - 1.54.40

Your timing is quite similar to me. I believe U can do a faster HM.

Mine
5k 23:25
10k 48:58
HM 1:47:47

All the above timing were from my recent run in November.

My best 10k timing was from my negative spilt (during the 11km to 21km) during my HM 1:47:47 run.
I tried to run a fast 10km recently however I am still unable to go below 49 mins .

I am happy with my current best timing coz I am getting older and will be 48 Next year . Only target I have is to run a full marathon and aiming 4hr 15 to 4hr 30 mins

sph777

my biggest goal is sub 9.14 for 2.4km since i didnt manage to hit that during army days...

I think i could bring a couple of mins more down for the 10km and HM but for the 5k might be tough... Not a fast runner...
2.4 improvements really comes down to interval training. I too did not sub 9 until I took interval trainings seriously and I am obese (>27 bmi), I am sure you can do it too. As for 5km improvements, stamina and longer intervals will help.

wj1984

Your timing is quite similar to me. I believe U can do a faster HM.

Mine
5k 23:25
10k 48:58
HM 1:47:47

All the above timing were from my recent run in November.

My best 10k timing was from my negative spilt (during the 11km to 21km) during my HM 1:47:47 run.
I tried to run a fast 10km recently however I am still unable to go below 49 mins .

I am happy with my current best timing coz I am getting older and will be 48 Next year . Only target I have is to run a full marathon and aiming 4hr 15 to 4hr 30 mins
my 10km PB was during a garmin threshold (or vo2 max session) and i realized i had so much time left in the bank after the cool down of 10mins that i went for it...

2.4 improvements really comes down to interval training. I too did not sub 9 until I took interval trainings seriously and I am obese (>27 bmi), I am sure you can do it too. As for 5km improvements, stamina and longer intervals will help.

yes and intervals are what i hate to do... i have set up a 8x400 @ 1min 30sec rest 1min on my garmin watch but i rarely do it...

Ender

This year SCSM is more 'siong' compares to the past 2 years, as the temperature and humidity was higher. It's especially siong for those who caught the sun after 9:30am at WCH (last leg in the article). Before that it was cloudy. The decision to change the route to have WCH at the later part of the race factor in to, as that stretch has more than 7km of unshaded path. On top of having ice water bath, I feel they should include a mist arch of say 10m where runner can run thru without stopping. Can cool down and without sacrificing timing.

"Our Emergency Department (ED) received 20 patients from the Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon on Dec 1, the majority of whom were promptly treated for heat-related injuries," said the head of Department of Emergency Medicine.

“The combination of heat, dehydration and prolonged effort can lead to muscle breakdown (rhabdomyolysis) and kidney damage," he warned.

I think @sph777 made to right decision to DNF. A headache and fever coupled with WCH heat, can be dangerous.

TNP has the article on this.
https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/s...s-route-was-insane-stanchart-marathon-runners

Last leg of this year's route was insane: StanChart marathon runners​

• A participant died and there were others who had to be taken to hospital for medical attention on the last day of this year's Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon.

The StanChart Singapore Marathon, which ran from Nov 29 to Dec 1, attracted over 55,000 runners – up from more than 44,000 in the 2023 edition.

At about 10am on Dec 1, TNP was informed that a participant was in serious need of medical assistance. It is unknown if the person mentioned by the medical personnel was the same one who died in hospital later.

But that individual was not the only one who needed medical assistance.

According to Associate Professor Kenneth Tan of Singapore General Hospital, 20 participants from the event needed medical attention at the hospital.

"Our Emergency Department (ED) received 20 patients from the Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon on Dec 1, the majority of whom were promptly treated for heat-related injuries," said the head of Department of Emergency Medicine.

The new route for the annual event apparently was tough on runners, even seasoned marathoners.

"The sun was brutal after the 30km mark, which is typically the most gruelling stretch of a marathon as runners have expended all their energy. The route was unshaded and I struggled despite my experience," a seasoned runner, who has participated in numerous marathons both locally and overseas, told TNP.

"That final stretch, without any shade for tired runners, was crazy in the Singapore heat. Not everyone can run Soh Rui Yong's speed and clear that stretch before the sun rose."

Soh crossed the finish line at Anderson Bridge in 2hr 46min 5sec.

Another seasoned marathoner, who works in the education sector, said: "It was so bad in the last 15 km... I couldn't stop because the heat from the road was hitting me. I thought I was going to throw up."

First-time StanChart marathoner Amos Lim, 19, echoed the sentiment. The NSF trained for the marathon for around a year, having participated in several 10km and half-marathon races this year. However, he still found this year's race tough.

"This year's route was honestly quite insane, not one but two crazy upslopes on separate highways at the 10km and 32km mark," he said.

Lim mentioned he had to trudge up the second upslope at West Coast highway and finished the final 10km with a run-walk sequence.

He added: "Even though there were downslopes, they were still taxing on the legs as strength is still required to break yourself from falling forward and going too fast downhill, which makes the slopes even more brutal."

Lim took some precautions to ensure he completed the marathon safely.

"Pre-race, I carbohydrate-loaded to maximise my body’s glycogen levels. During the run, I made sure to cool myself down with the ice stations and the cold water baths," he shared.

"I consumed only well-tested gels and food during my training, this kept me on pace without suffering heat stroke or rhabdomyolysis."

Lee Meng Liang, a seasoned runner who has run every edition of the StanChart Singapore Marathon since 2004, felt the last 10km of the route was a "bad idea".

The social worker said organisers should have substituted the unsheltered West Coast Highway with a route under the highway.

"The highway could provide the much-needed shade. Ideally you do not want your runners to be exposed to the sun at such a late stage of the run as most runners would be dehydrated at that point and this increases the possibility of heat injuries," he said.

He added that relocating the West Coast Highway segment of the route beneath the highway instead of running on it could have made this year's route "one of the best" in the event's history.

heed warnings of physical distress​

Marathons, especially in Singapore’s tropical climate, come with inherent health risks, particularly for individuals with underlying conditions, said Professor Tan Huay Cheem, senior consultant at the Department of Cardiology of National University Heart Centre, Singapore.

“People with underlying heart conditions such as coronary artery disease or abnormal heart rhythms (arrhythmias) can be at risk of heart attack or cardiac arrest during intense endurance activities,” explained the professor at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore..

“It is extremely critical for runners to heed warning signs of physical distress. Ignoring these signs can lead to potential immediate harm or long-term health consequences."

Prof Tan highlighted the physiological strain runners face in Singapore's climate, particularly in the last leg of a race.

“The combination of heat, dehydration and prolonged effort can lead to muscle breakdown (rhabdomyolysis) and kidney damage," he warned.

“Listening to your body during a marathon is as important as your training. Recognising and acting on signs of distress — such as slowing down, hydrating or seeking medical attention — can prevent major catastrophic health crises from happening."

Organisers, he added, should take steps such as scheduling races during cooler periods, providing hydration and cooling stations, and deploying well-trained medical teams.

“By working together, participants and organisers can create a positive and safe experience for everyone."

TNP reached out to Standard Chartered for comments last week.

winningeleven

my 10km PB was during a garmin threshold (or vo2 max session) and i realized i had so much time left in the bank after the cool down of 10mins that i went for it...

yes and intervals are what i hate to do... i have set up a 8x400 @ 1min 30sec rest 1min on my garmin watch but i rarely do it...

U could run 10km under 49 mins which is already less than 4:55 mins/km pace which is much tougher

Half marathon as long U maintain 5:13 mins/km. Can go below 1hr 50 mins

WussRedXLi

Yeah i have noticed many people shy away from this. Unfortunately it is one major workout component that gives you really good bang for the buck. And for many, this is more or less the only speedwork that they can do. I assume that easy miles training are already in the bag for you and no stranger to you since you do HMs.

If cannot 400m is too much to chew on, then try 200-300 first. If the mindset can be fixed then your goal becomes so much easier.

If you really hate doing intervals due to the rest component, considering substituting this with say fartleks.
Still way better than not doing it consistently coz i agree overcoming the "hate" is not easy.
For eg, i dont like long runs of anything that is more than 45-60 mins. But i substitute it with long 2-3hr rides which i do very often.
The psychological effect of the heat and also monotony is very different between long runs and long rides.

Maybe narrowing down the distances to only 2 that you wish to excel in might be better. eg 5k and 10k. Or 10k and HM. OR maybe even 3k and 5k.
Eg I think 5k 20.xx mins range for you by Dec 2025 is pretty achievable esp if you can tahan 1 year of good training. Work and family commitments permitting, so really need to make sure things are sustainable before embarking......really gotta make it enjoyable, it might not be easy for others. You can also focus on other aspects like improving recovery (many ways you can do that so it's also not easy really need another mindset shift for that) and also making sure you dont get injured along the way which is a huge bummer.
Cross training, strength training , plyometrics etc.

sph777

This year SCSM is more 'siong' compares to the past 2 years, as the temperature and humidity was higher. It's especially siong for those who caught the sun after 9:30am at WCH (last leg in the article). Before that it was cloudy. The decision to change the route to have WCH at the later part of the race factor in to, as that stretch has more than 7km of unshaded path. On top of having ice water bath, I feel they should include a mist arch of say 10m where runner can run thru without stopping. Can cool down and without sacrificing timing.

I think @sph777 made to right decision to DNF. A headache and fever coupled with WCH heat, can be dangerous.

TNP has the article on this.
https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/s...s-route-was-insane-stanchart-marathon-runners

Last leg of this year's route was insane: StanChart marathon runners​

• A participant died and there were others who had to be taken to hospital for medical attention on the last day of this year's Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon.

The StanChart Singapore Marathon, which ran from Nov 29 to Dec 1, attracted over 55,000 runners – up from more than 44,000 in the 2023 edition.

At about 10am on Dec 1, TNP was informed that a participant was in serious need of medical assistance. It is unknown if the person mentioned by the medical personnel was the same one who died in hospital later.

But that individual was not the only one who needed medical assistance.

According to Associate Professor Kenneth Tan of Singapore General Hospital, 20 participants from the event needed medical attention at the hospital.

The new route for the annual event apparently was tough on runners, even seasoned marathoners.

"The sun was brutal after the 30km mark, which is typically the most gruelling stretch of a marathon as runners have expended all their energy. The route was unshaded and I struggled despite my experience," a seasoned runner, who has participated in numerous marathons both locally and overseas, told TNP.

"That final stretch, without any shade for tired runners, was crazy in the Singapore heat. Not everyone can run Soh Rui Yong's speed and clear that stretch before the sun rose."

Soh crossed the finish line at Anderson Bridge in 2hr 46min 5sec.

Another seasoned marathoner, who works in the education sector, said: "It was so bad in the last 15 km... I couldn't stop because the heat from the road was hitting me. I thought I was going to throw up."

First-time StanChart marathoner Amos Lim, 19, echoed the sentiment. The NSF trained for the marathon for around a year, having participated in several 10km and half-marathon races this year. However, he still found this year's race tough.

"This year's route was honestly quite insane, not one but two crazy upslopes on separate highways at the 10km and 32km mark," he said.

Lim mentioned he had to trudge up the second upslope at West Coast highway and finished the final 10km with a run-walk sequence.

He added: "Even though there were downslopes, they were still taxing on the legs as strength is still required to break yourself from falling forward and going too fast downhill, which makes the slopes even more brutal."

Lim took some precautions to ensure he completed the marathon safely.

"Pre-race, I carbohydrate-loaded to maximise my body’s glycogen levels. During the run, I made sure to cool myself down with the ice stations and the cold water baths," he shared.

"I consumed only well-tested gels and food during my training, this kept me on pace without suffering heat stroke or rhabdomyolysis."

Lee Meng Liang, a seasoned runner who has run every edition of the StanChart Singapore Marathon since 2004, felt the last 10km of the route was a "bad idea".

The social worker said organisers should have substituted the unsheltered West Coast Highway with a route under the highway.

"The highway could provide the much-needed shade. Ideally you do not want your runners to be exposed to the sun at such a late stage of the run as most runners would be dehydrated at that point and this increases the possibility of heat injuries," he said.

He added that relocating the West Coast Highway segment of the route beneath the highway instead of running on it could have made this year's route "one of the best" in the event's history.

heed warnings of physical distress​

Marathons, especially in Singapore’s tropical climate, come with inherent health risks, particularly for individuals with underlying conditions, said Professor Tan Huay Cheem, senior consultant at the Department of Cardiology of National University Heart Centre, Singapore.

“People with underlying heart conditions such as coronary artery disease or abnormal heart rhythms (arrhythmias) can be at risk of heart attack or cardiac arrest during intense endurance activities,” explained the professor at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore..

“It is extremely critical for runners to heed warning signs of physical distress. Ignoring these signs can lead to potential immediate harm or long-term health consequences."

Prof Tan highlighted the physiological strain runners face in Singapore's climate, particularly in the last leg of a race.

“Listening to your body during a marathon is as important as your training. Recognising and acting on signs of distress — such as slowing down, hydrating or seeking medical attention — can prevent major catastrophic health crises from happening."

Organisers, he added, should take steps such as scheduling races during cooler periods, providing hydration and cooling stations, and deploying well-trained medical teams.

“By working together, participants and organisers can create a positive and safe experience for everyone."

TNP reached out to Standard Chartered for comments last week.
Yeah, I keep swinging between regretting not finishing and being thankful for not pushing. I hope next year won't have two slopes. My headache actually got worse after sheares. Maybe next time don't run up, just walk

sph777

Yeah i have noticed many people shy away from this. Unfortunately it is one major workout component that gives you really good bang for the buck. And for many, this is more or less the only speedwork that they can do. I assume that easy miles training are already in the bag for you and no stranger to you since you do HMs.

If cannot 400m is too much to chew on, then try 200-300 first. If the mindset can be fixed then your goal becomes so much easier.

Maybe narrowing down the distances to only 2 that you wish to excel in might be better. eg 5k and 10k. Or 10k and HM. OR maybe even 3k and 5k.
Eg I think 5k 20 mins range for you by Dec 2025 is pretty achievable esp if you can tahan 1 year of good training. Work and family commitments permitting, so really need to make sure things are sustainable before embarking......really gotta make it enjoyable, it might not be easy for others. You can also focus on other aspects like improving recovery (many ways you can do that so it's also not easy really need another mindset shift for that) and also making sure you dont get injured along the way which is a huge bummer.
Yeah as Wuss said, unfortunately, intervals is necessary to improve speed. I also hate it but have to do it. 200-300 intervals should be more doable at the start.

wj1984

U could run 10km under 49 mins which is already less than 4:55 mins/km pace which is much tougher

Half marathon as long U maintain 5:13 mins/km. Can go below 1hr 50 mins
i don't really do HM. 2 times since i started running consistently; once the marina run with army pals (lame coz 2 rounds around mbs and got steps but did a 6.15min/km pace to run with my friends) and the other time was a solo morning run just to go below 2hr. In fact i rarely run more than 10km each run... 30km mileage per week...

If you really hate doing intervals due to the rest component, considering substituting this with say fartleks.
Still way better than not doing it consistently coz i agree overcoming the "hate" is not easy.
For eg, i dont like long runs of anything that is more than 45-60 mins. But i substitute it with long 2-3hr rides which i do very often.
The psychological effect of the heat and also monotony is very different between long runs and long rides.

Eg I think 5k 20.xx mins range for you by Dec 2025 is pretty achievable esp if you can tahan 1 year of good training. Work and family commitments permitting, so really need to make sure things are sustainable before embarking......really gotta make it enjoyable, it might not be easy for others. You can also focus on other aspects like improving recovery (many ways you can do that so it's also not easy really need another mindset shift for that) and also making sure you dont get injured along the way which is a huge bummer.

my ultimate goal is sub 9.14 for 2.4km (about 1 year plus ago i did 9.29 almost died)... i do fartleks and km repeats but 400m intervals is a different beast althought...

km repeats i do 4 x 1km @ 4.10min/km rest 3min and for fartlek i do 1min on x 1 min off @4min/km pace; ending the full run at 10km distance...

400m intervals i need to do at 3.45min/km to achieve the goal which i usually fall short by 5-8s...

WussRedXLi

i don't really do HM. 2 times since i started running consistently; once the marina run with army pals (lame coz 2 rounds around mbs and got steps but did a 6.15min/km pace to run with my friends) and the other time was a solo morning run just to go below 2hr. In fact i rarely run more than 10km each run... 30km mileage per week...

my ultimate goal is sub 9.14 for 2.4km (about 1 year plus ago i did 9.29 almost died)... i do fartleks and km repeats but 400m intervals is a different beast althought...

km repeats i do 4 x 1km @ 4.10min/km rest 3min and for fartlek i do 1min on x 1 min off @4min/km pace; ending the full run at 10km distance...

400m intervals i need to do at 3.45min/km to achieve the goal which i usually fall short by 5-8s...

Oh if that is the case then 300 400m intervals might not be the answer.

Maybe just try more/longer zone 2 running then. ie more running more km/week. lol. Which most folks would be trying as a first solution.
Esp now that you have mentioned that mileage is 30km per week....so this area also can try. Coz you mentioned HM so i tot your zone 2 running already well established tried n tested. It will definitely be good for your 10k also if you are interested in that area.

You can also microdose with strength training and plyometrics, that is what i do...takes very little time and can do everywhere one. Hitting and emphasizing on the calves first is a good start

basic___

5k - 22.28
10k - 48.45
HM - 1.54.40

Aiming for:

5k - 19:xx
10km - 43-44:xx
HM - Around 1:40 or close to it.

but yah for faster 2.4km, no short cuts for it since you need some speed to get a sub 9. There are lots of locals that can run a decent HM at around 1:40+ but not able to achieve a sub 9 or 9 flat 2.4 as they are limited by the speed

Kuudere

Ok, everyone chimed in already. Time to give you my advice.

4 x 1km is actually a lot tougher than a lot of the 2.4k intervals distance wise. Good job that you managed to run the 4 x 1km @ 4.10 min/km.

Two options of intervals

Option A

Week 1: 6 x 400 (r90 sec)
Week 2: 7 x 400 (r90 sec)
Week 3: 8 x 400 (r90 sec)
Week 4: 5 x 600 (r105 sec)
Week 5: 6 x 600 (r105 sec)
Week 6: 4 x 800 (r2 min)

Option B

Week 1: 2 x 800 (r2 min) + 400 (r2 min)
Week 2: 2 x 800 (r2 min) + 2 x 400 (r2 min)
Week 3: 3 x 800 (r2 min)
Week 4: 3 x 800 (r2 min) + 400 (r2 min)
Week 5: 3 x 800 (r2 min) + 2 x 400 (r2 min)
Week 6: 4 x 800 (r2 min)

4 x 800 (rest 2 minutes) = the average pace of the 4 sets is what you will run your 2.4km at.

Option A is good if you want to build speed. Option B is good for speed endurance (have the speed but can't sustain).

You will run all of the sets at 2.4km goal pace or 92 seconds per 400m.

Focus on your breathing and look ahead when you run. Have a slight forward lean, to maximise gait efficiency.

Threshold run (optional)

Week 1: 1km
Week 2: 1.1km
Week 3: 1.2km
Week 4: 1.3km
Week 5: 1.4km
Week 6: 1.5km
Week of 2.4km: 1.6km (optional)

Do 5-10 min warm up, before running the threshold run at 2.4k pace. This is an optional workout that can be done 3-4 days after the intervals.
Aiming for:

5k - 19:xx
10km - 43-44:xx
HM - Around 1:40 or close to it.

but yah for faster 2.4km, no short cuts for it since you need some speed to get a sub 9. There are lots of locals that can run a decent HM at around 1:40+ but not able to achieve a sub 9 or 9 flat 2.4 as they are limited by the speed
2.4km training very different from HM training.

The former peak workout is 4 x 800m (2 min rest standing). The latter peak workout is 4 x 3km (2 min 30 sec active recovery jogging).

1 set of the HM workout is already more than the 2.4k run :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.