jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

@sph777

Just took some time to google for evidence and data.

Seems like it is most probably really true and really does help. I already know this knowledge from google previously but never went in depth to double confirm.
Im doing the same for my kid and wife, who are also trying to lose body fat weight.

Just one study of coz, but am sure there are others.
I think vastly more pros than cons for regular folks with no co-morbidities esp if kidney eGFR is very healthy range.

Not that easy to take in sufficiently from food esp if your source is predominantly hawker. Even if i sprinkle in stuff like don don donki teriyaki chicken / mackarel and canned sardines, it might not be enough.

If you can also add in some resistance training (resistance bands, no need gym) then it might even be synergistic or at least additive.

A whey-protein supplement increases fat loss and spares lean muscle in obese subjects: a randomized human clinical study​

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2289832/

wj1984

Aiming for:

5k - 19:xx
10km - 43-44:xx
HM - Around 1:40 or close to it.

but yah for faster 2.4km, no short cuts for it since you need some speed to get a sub 9. There are lots of locals that can run a decent HM at around 1:40+ but not able to achieve a sub 9 or 9 flat 2.4 as they are limited by the speed

yea agree on 2.4km no shortcuts and its probably the most painful one to train...

Ok, everyone chimed in already. Time to give you my advice.

4 x 1km is actually a lot tougher than a lot of the 2.4k intervals distance wise. Good job that you managed to run the 4 x 1km @ 4.10 min/km.

Two options of intervals

Option A

Week 1: 6 x 400 (r90 sec)
Week 2: 7 x 400 (r90 sec)
Week 3: 8 x 400 (r90 sec)
Week 4: 5 x 600 (r105 sec)
Week 5: 6 x 600 (r105 sec)
Week 6: 4 x 800 (r2 min)

Option B

Week 1: 2 x 800 (r2 min) + 400 (r2 min)
Week 2: 2 x 800 (r2 min) + 2 x 400 (r2 min)
Week 3: 3 x 800 (r2 min)
Week 4: 3 x 800 (r2 min) + 400 (r2 min)
Week 5: 3 x 800 (r2 min) + 2 x 400 (r2 min)
Week 6: 4 x 800 (r2 min)

4 x 800 (rest 2 minutes) = the average pace of the 4 sets is what you will run your 2.4km at.

Option A is good if you want to build speed. Option B is good for speed endurance (have the speed but can't sustain).

You will run all of the sets at 2.4km goal pace or 92 seconds per 400m.

Focus on your breathing and look ahead when you run. Have a slight forward lean, to maximise gait efficiency.

Threshold run (optional)

Week 1: 1km
Week 2: 1.1km
Week 3: 1.2km
Week 4: 1.3km
Week 5: 1.4km
Week 6: 1.5km
Week of 2.4km: 1.6km (optional)

Do 5-10 min warm up, before running the threshold run at 2.4k pace. This is an optional workout that can be done 3-4 days after the intervals.

2.4km training very different from HM training.

The former peak workout is 4 x 800m (2 min rest standing). The latter peak workout is 4 x 3km (2 min 30 sec active recovery jogging).

1 set of the HM workout is already more than the 2.4k run :ROFLMAO:

the km repeats was done because watched too much YT runners training sessions; mile repeats km repeats...

will try option A first... i have done option B (similar) last year and failed quite badly at maintaining the pace... probably about 3.10-3.15 for 800m

WussRedXLi

will try option A first... i have done option B (similar) last year and failed quite badly at maintaining the pace... probably about 3.10-3.15 for 800m

Wow 3.10-3.15 for 800m quite satki for non-pro folks leh. heh... I used to hoot 3.00 flat for 500-600m early this year and late last year i think, just for fun. Really just for fun

Not sure if it has any solid benefits for even 20 mins flat 5k or 40-42 min 10k (it'd still have benefits, just not sure how much and also depends on injury risk dependent on yr buildup etc), but heck as long as you have the motivation / mindset and consistency to maintain and not burn out if you are training non stop in a year with only very small short breaks in between. And of coz if not injured lah....that one is one of the major concerns.

sph777

yea agree on 2.4km no shortcuts and its probably the most painful one to train...

the km repeats was done because watched too much YT runners training sessions; mile repeats km repeats...

usually a good gauge is 4:00/km which would be 3:12 for 800m

wj1984

Wow 3.10-3.15 for 800m quite satki for non-pro folks leh. heh... I used to hoot 3.00 flat for 500-600m early this year and late last year i think, just for fun. Really just for fun

Not sure if it has any solid benefits for even 20 mins flat 5k or 40-42 min 10k (it'd still have benefits, just not sure how much and also depends on injury risk dependent on yr buildup etc), but heck as long as you have the motivation / mindset and consistency to maintain and not burn out if you are training non stop in a year with only very small short breaks in between. And of coz if not injured lah....that one is one of the major concerns.
usually a good gauge is 4:00/km which would be 3:12 for 800m

yea but for 9.14 you need about 1.30 per 400m with 14s buffer... just very transfixed on this goal because back then in my army days its the gold standard (but our running is done just outside camp and ends inside camp... may not be accurate...)

sph777

yea but for 9.14 you need about 1.30 per 400m with 14s buffer... just very transfixed on this goal because back then in my army days its the gold standard (but our running is done just outside camp and ends inside camp... may not be accurate...)
U can start off with aiming for 3:12 per 800m then improve. It is 1:36 per round. Ideally in 2.4, when I hit sub 9, I usually 1st 2 laps can sub 1.30 by quite a bit, taper off 3rd and 4th round then whack 5th and 6th.

I usually train by aiming for 3:12 when I go for 800m. It is just a short term goal to be improved as u improve

wj1984

U can start off with aiming for 3:12 per 800m then improve. It is 1:36 per round. Ideally in 2.4, when I hit sub 9, I usually 1st 2 laps can sub 1.30 by quite a bit, taper off 3rd and 4th round then whack 5th and 6th.

I usually train by aiming for 3:12 when I go for 800m. It is just a short term goal to be improved as u improve

yes i agree... the 1st 2 rounds adrenaline fueled... then 3rd, 4th and 5th drop off before peaking in the last lap...

WussRedXLi

Oh...i read your original msg salah. I went by pace in min/km, so i tot you were saying 3:10 to 3:15 min/km pace for 800m distance intervals. Which is very quick for non-pro standard....so that's why initially i was scratching my head also coz nearly 3:00 pace for 800m is really satki even i cant really do it unless i pushed and pushed and maybe on a very good day perhaps can get close to it. . :ROFLMAO:
That is nearly a 2m 30s time for 800m.

So if it's 3 mins 10 secs time for 800m ok lah..... pace is 3:58 min/km, is fine.

Coz for me my prerference is i just look at the GPS pace on smartwatch and then GPS distance,.....i dont train on track. Specifically im not even a runner doing races nowadays but still of coz run performance is relevant in duathlons just no fixation on very specific timings.

WussRedXLi

Wah lan eg i cannot even :oops:

F13
17:49

That means what.....boys there can do close to 17 mins?

Parkrun, so the distances should be pretty accurate.
Anyway......on grass and gravel so sucks quite a bit of energy.

Ender

only ever went sub 10 for 2.4km once in my life, and strangely it was as an NSman
My first sub 10, I was already MR liao.. :ROFLMAO:
It was only two years back I think, at Our Tampines Hub. And I only did two interval one week prior to the challenge. before that it was just typical marathon training plan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.