jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Those who have bmai jingtan 3 turbo.. do you recommend to take true to size or 0.5/1 size up?
do note jingtan 3.0 turbo by default has no removable insoles, its built into the shoe. If you intend to add insole, get half to one size larger than usual sizing (subject to thickness of insoles). If wear as in default manner, get your normal sizing. This is what applicable to me.

WussRedXLi

Ground wet big no no for me. Getting my footwear + socks wet means high risk of foot rot for me. Been like this for me since my NS days. Also why i was considering getting those high powered blower fans you posted previously to dry wet shoes but i thought no more freak monsoon surges and yet one more came along LOL...........

I just dried my HDB corridor with the fans. heh....... Not make the standing water evaporate, but more of sweep the water away.

But the fans only work for the shoes during lower RH% weather.....ie when you wash the shoes and you just wanna 1-shot return it to the rack.
High RH% like today still useless.

Yes, fungi issues. I kena a few times before, toes and groin.
Also quite useful for drying wet underwear or groin area after wearing cycling padded shots, when legs and feet are wet and you just wanna blow the water off ASAP. A towel does not do as thorough a job and takes a much longer time if you really wanna be thorough. I use it nearly daily coz early morning i sure will go PS one, and then wash, and then need to dry 99.9% asap before i put on socks for running/cycling.
Quite useful this way also, though rather loud.

basic___

US10.5D is my normal size.

Also depends on the shoe last.

For eg. Recent years, NB shortened their last. I got to size up to get the right length/width.

Rebel 1 - 10.5D
Rebel 2 - 10.5D
Rebel 3 - 11D
Rebel 4 - 11D

For Taobao, I believe they suggest according to length.

In general, any size that corresponds to 280mm fits me well.

I can't speak for Plaid 2. But the reviews seems to suggest it's firm + good energy return.

Maybe need to watch the "cutting in" at the arch(足弓). I did get abrasion initially on both Plaid 1 and 1.5.

*Qiaodan customer support suggest sizing half size up for Plaid 2.

Jingtan3 turbo on the other hand is balance of firm/soft + good energy return.

Bonus is can add insole to tilt the balance of firm/soft to what you like.

Edit: I don't like firm shoes so waiting for more Plaid2 discounts and reviews before buying one to try. 😃

Add: Rebel 4 is nothing spectacular. I'd even say lost its identity. Heng bought on discount. But could have used the money to buy another Jingtan 3 turbo!
Rebel 4 is an okay shoe but has this weird bottoming at the upper after a while. Definitely not worth the normal retail pricing. Not sure why all the local running influencer keep shilling it. Adidas Sl2 is a much cheaper and probably the better shoe compared to it

Ender

For those who do alot of easy run and accumulating volumes, one of the benefit is mitochondria health/fitness, which is either the density or quality of the mitochondria. This study on nitrate seems to suggest it helps on the quality of mitochondria. Perhaps this could be the missing ingredient for the next improvement on your LT1 pace or HR.
Nowadays I am lazy to watch the full video. I use AI to summarize it, this also allows me to pretend 'watching' those more than 1 hour interview like Peter Attia ones. . LOL For this video, I used CoPilot.

Nitrate from natural source or supplement. Not from bacons, hams or other processed meat.

The attached file is a transcript of a youtube. Please revise, summarize and highlight key points and conclusion.

Here's a revised summary of the YouTube transcript along with its key points and conclusion:

Topic: The Powerful Mitochondrial Effects of Nitrates
Summary: The video explores how dietary nitrates positively influence mitochondrial function, focusing on a study that investigates these effects. It explains the biochemical pathway of nitrates being converted to nitric oxide and their subsequent role in improving mitochondrial efficiency and ATP (adenosine triphosphate) production.

Key Points:​

1. Nitrate Conversion and Function:
    • Nitrates from food sources (e.g., spinach, beets, celery, salami) are converted to nitrites in the mouth, then to nitric oxide in the stomach.
    • Nitric oxide plays a role in vasodilation (widening blood vessels) and impacts mitochondrial function.
  2. The Study:
    • Randomized control trial with participants consuming sodium nitrate or a placebo (sodium chloride) for three days.
    • Muscle biopsies revealed nitrate consumption increased ATP production by 23% and improved mitochondrial efficiency (oxidative phosphorylation efficiency).
  3. Mechanisms:
    • Reduction in Proton Leak: Nitrates reduce leakage of protons in mitochondria, enhancing efficiency.
    • Interaction with Complex IV: Nitric oxide slows electron transfer in the electron transport chain, stabilizing electrons and potentially reducing free radicals.
    • Efficiency of ATP Synthase: Nitrate consumption maintains a stronger proton motive force, leading to higher ATP production.
  4. Mitochondrial Biogenesis:
    • The study found no significant effect on mitochondrial biogenesis (creation of new mitochondria), despite some variability among individuals.
  5. Other Observations:
    • Data suggests nitrates improve the efficiency of existing mitochondria rather than increasing their quantity.

Conclusion:​

• Consuming nitrates may enhance mitochondrial efficiency and energy production, making them potentially beneficial for overall cellular health.
  • While results were derived from isolated nitrates, incorporating nitrate-rich foods could support similar outcomes. However, more studies are needed to confirm effects in different populations (e.g., women, individuals with chronic illnesses).

Not what I meant, pick up points that is related to me as a runner.

Got it! Let me pull out the key points from the video that are most relevant to runners and endurance athletes like you:

Key Points for Runners:​

1. Enhanced Energy Production:
    • Consuming nitrates improves mitochondrial efficiency, leading to 23% more ATP production. This means your muscles can generate more energy, enhancing endurance performance.
  2. Improved Oxygen Utilization (VO2 Efficiency):
    • Nitrates reduce oxygen consumption at the mitochondrial level, making energy production more efficient. This translates to better stamina and potentially improved VO2 max, a crucial metric for runners.
  3. Reduced Free Radical Damage:
    • Nitric oxide, derived from nitrates, helps stabilize electrons in the electron transport chain, potentially reducing the formation of free radicals. This could contribute to faster recovery and less oxidative stress from intense runs.
  4. Reduced Proton Leak:
    • Nitrates decrease proton leakage in mitochondria, improving the proton motive force that powers ATP synthesis. This boosts overall muscle efficiency during prolonged exertion.
  5. Fast Absorption and Impact:
    • Nitrates from supplements or juice (rather than whole foods with fiber) may work more quickly, making them a convenient pre-run option for maximizing their benefits during performance.

Practical Takeaways:​

• Timing: Consider nitrate-rich supplements or beetroot juice 2–3 hours before a race or training session for optimal benefits.
  • Efficiency Gains: Nitrates support energy production at the cellular level, especially useful for long-distance runs or when you’re pushing your limits.
  • Recovery: Their potential to reduce oxidative stress might aid quicker recovery post-run.

If you'd like, I can help with pre-run nutrition ideas or strategies to incorporate nitrates into your routine!

Yes, please.

Here are some practical ways runners like you can incorporate nitrates into your pre-run nutrition for improved endurance and performance:

Pre-Run Nitrate Nutrition Tips

1. Beetroot Juice:
    • Drink 150-250 ml of beetroot juice 2–3 hours before a run. This is a popular choice among athletes due to its quick absorption and high nitrate concentration.
  2. Beetroot Powder:
    • Mix 1-2 teaspoons of beetroot powder into water, a smoothie, or a pre-run snack. It's easy to measure, and the concentrated form ensures effective nitrate delivery.
  3. Nitrate-Rich Foods:
    • If you prefer whole foods, include nitrate-rich options in your meals leading up to the run, such as:
      • Spinach or arugula (e.g., in a salad or smoothie).
      • Cooked beets or roasted beet chips.
      • Celery sticks with a nut butter dip.
    • Note: Whole foods take longer to digest, so aim to eat them several hours before your run.
  4. Timing Matters:
    • Nitrates need time to convert to nitric oxide in the body. For optimal results, consume nitrate-rich foods or supplements 2–3 hours before your run or race.
  5. Consistency for Long-Term Benefits:
    • Regularly consuming nitrate-rich foods or supplements can help maintain elevated nitrate levels for ongoing performance benefits.
  6. Avoid Mouthwash Before Consumption:
    • Since oral bacteria are essential for converting nitrates to nitrites, using mouthwash right before consuming nitrates can reduce their effectiveness.

Pre-Run Snack Idea:​

• A smoothie made with:
    • 1 small beet (or 1 tsp beetroot powder),
    • A handful of spinach or arugula,
    • 1 banana,
    • 1 cup of water or almond milk.
This blend provides a great mix of nitrates and simple carbs for energy.
Let me know if you'd like more recipe ideas or further details on timing and amounts!

WussRedXLi

Kiwi 15 yrs old.

Not sure if can sub 6 mins for NAPFA 2.4 🤣 (coz still secondary sch mah)

4:08.8 Jim Arriola (USA) 1974
4:07.05 Cameron Myers (AUS) 2022
4:05.77 Corey Campbell (GBR) 2022
4:05.48 Evan Grime (GBR) 2024
4:01.72 Sam Ruthe (NZL) 2025
3:58.35 Sam Ruthe (NZL) 2025

WussRedXLi

Jakob Ingrebrigsten sub 4 at 16 yrs old last time​

Sam literally 1 year younger now​

A NEW WORLD RECORD! || Sam Ruthe Is An Absolute Legend and Crushes 1 Mile World Record-15 Years Old​

WussRedXLi

Ruthe and Cam Myers are the duo to watch in Oceania

Sam Ruthe's little sister can run the mile in 5:08, or something like our pri 6 NAPFA 1.6 in 5:06?
Our SG zhar boh national record for road mile is Romaine's 5:24 i think.

I remember last time i ran (walked) the 1.6 like 13 mins.....and the teacher told me and the rest to stop and take 5 liao, ie pls dont bother wasting everyone's time go study for your PSLE or something la. hahahaa....... 🤣
And yeah, zero pull ups, kena suan also. That is why younger days + even NSF i hated physical fitness.
(heck NSmen up till age 34 i also mostly cannot pass naturally, need to be creative a bit plus a bit of luck hoping the station instructor looks elsewhere...which they usually do coz it's the Air Force)

WussRedXLi

Hope tomorrow morning got chance. Seems to be dying down coming from the NE direction.

WussRedXLi

They run 5 min for the mile like jogging.....
Got lactate measurements during recovery for the mile, unfortunately for competitive reasons they wont publish it in the vid

WussRedXLi

Better dont risk i think.....grounds a bit wet (knn just had to drizzle at 5.45 for 15 mins :mad::mad:). Also just 2 weeks plus from the race event

Just a LT1 to maybe LT2-ish run can already. 2.9 mmol/L at the end i think it never went above 4
From the looks of it i think 3:25 3:30 (GPS) possible. Think i suspect limited more by lactate (clearance) with specific parts of running muscles rather than cadio/pulmonary. (my running specific weekly mileage never over 30km and commute/lunch is already 22km...so 30 is that's on good weeks liao, though cycling has never been below 300km).

Guess gotta wait till some similar event during SW monsoon ba.... in June .

lqcGSx8.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.