jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Thanks, will try it out tomorrow. slow and consistent shall be the key.
Not really good at rope skipping. ;) although saw online everyday10min rope skipping is beneficial

Just get 1, quite cheap. Just 3 x 1 min in between 1 min rest per day is good, the skipping (bouncing) motion really helps with running, in that it is a concentric motion for the calves and eccentric motion for the shin muscles as well. It has a bit of plyometric element as well, as well as a bit of strength element. Supposed to help with injury prevention (tendons/fascia/ligaments) as well (any injury = going back in fitness, look at it from a broad pov)

Next time more advanced stage is 1 legged skipping, which i am doing now.
I dont do much pogo jumps other than the diagonal directions, and even then just a bit.

rECKleSSfElla

Asics Metaspeed sees a refresh and brand new launch with Tokyo series and Metaspeed Ray.

https://therunningchannel.com/first-look-asics-metaspeed-ray-tokyo/

Metaspeed Ray £265.00 but not sure whether the price is place holder.
4S6jwxC.jpeg

kaixax555

Just now I go Puma Somerset

Saw they got new colorway liao for Nitro Elite 3

LyDWPbv.jpeg

Still thinking get the Purple one (which I have) or the new red one :o

Also for the new Fast-R3 liao

W0XJDeF.jpeg

I noted some things:
1. The heel sits behind the rear pads
2. The tongue is wafer thin, literally paper next to the already thin Nitro Elite 3

No price increase from the Fast-R2, still same price (359)

Same as Metaspeed Sky/Edge Paris (which I see at Dhoby Asics also)

Ender

Berry long never go jogging.
Today erection day decide to restart my jog again.

Punctured tire really need long time build up again. 2.4km 15min 50s 😢
Honored to have TS come here and check back on us. All things fine, sir.

WussRedXLi

Can go see Puma also, Pumagrip is no horse run

My entire shoe rotation is Puma :s13:

Older folks shd really wear pumagrip shoes. My 2 parents and my MIL all on pumagrip (deviate nitro 2 and MIL on Puma Electrify)....they dont wear anything else on rainy days. Wet weather all other shoes i scared but with pumagrip no scared. (my office shoes also pumagrip, got confidence)
Coupled with strength training with mini bands and supplements, really no scared.

WussRedXLi

just really go an calculate, its already under obese category:(
Thanks, will try it out tomorrow. slow and consistent shall be the key.
Not really good at rope skipping. ;) although saw online everyday10min rope skipping is beneficial

Allow me to share slightly more in-depth topics to ya......

So can start on running, and skipping as an activity. Skipping (or later stage any resistance bands activitiy) can be done in the house, even in the aircon office. I do them in my office server room where it ranges from 14-19 deg C. Saves on time as well. 🤣

Running has lots of benefits, it is pretty time efficient as well, it is among the top most time efficient for all exercises in terms of energy expenditure. However, even for me, i cannot focus on > 1 to 1.5hrs of running.....mental block which leads to zero interest. I have big interest in shorter stuff, esp 3k and 5k. That is why i am still running despite being addicted to cycling (i started racewalking first, then running, then cycling, i am a post covid cyclist).

So for eg, a proper HM till this day be it an actual event/race or even GPS run i have not attempted yet.

Not sure what is your "mileage" for you in future, you may or may not be able to walk/run/hop/whatever mix for anything longer than 1.5hrs. This is true for my wife (she used to be BMI 33).

So if you are obese, for sure you want results. But why cannot? The main reason that was/is cited by my wife is the SG weather. So even if wake up 6.15am and out there by 6.30am and then walk/jog till 7.45am is really the max. Later nights not conducive to her. I believe obese folks generally are more sensitive to heat issues as well, as per my wife.

So another activity that you might wanna try later on is cycling. It is slightly less time efficient in energy kJ burning per unit time (various reasons that i shall not expand on here) but then in SG context here it is perfect. You can start with a cheap but decent foldable bike via carousell first, brands like crius / fnhon are great. Zone 2 heart rates you should be able to hit like low 20 kmh after a few first weeks of muscular conditioning. What this means is that your body muscles would be generating that specific amount of heat but it is cooled by 20+ kmh of wind.
After a few months once you have mastered all the nuances of cycling, you can even upgrade to a road bike, which would further (but not much) increase the efficiency more, ie more cooling. However you might not wanna go into road bike territory if you do not like that kind of more aggressive riding position (ie try out a road bike first by any methods be it from a friend or from the shop, or heck if you manage to bump into any cycling groups chilling at hawker centers, you can ask.....just gotta be thick skinned a bit and have the initiative to make the first move.....vast vast of these fellas are cycling super siaos one for sure one way or another they would be able to hook you up onto something like trying out 1 lower cost bike in their group with 2 of them maintaining balance for you while static or something and then sharing lobangs on carousells etc. 🤣
Shops also can, but issue is that you generally need to pay heckloads more, and you might not want to plonk down that kind of investment for just PCN cycling.
You'd then find that zone 2 kind of HR you'd barely perspire one, 2 factors at play here first being the much higher (wind) cooling and 2 with the wind cooling that means also much better evaporation, which leads to more cooling. Which is good in local context as far as comfort goes.
Now during the cooler months, for folks who dont perspire much, during early mornings you'd find that you dont even perspire at all for zone 2 base rides, damn shiok.

But anyway going a bit off topic already, but cycling is one of those activities in which there is much much less impact, so generally you can do that activity for many hours, ie overall total energy expended is high.
Same goes for swimming. But then i am not swimming siao, so no help here.
That is provided that you can invest a higher number of hours into physical activities.
In order to lose (fats) weight, you must eat right and also do sufficient volume in exercise. It is very difficult to burn fats as it takes really a lot of exercise activity, so you'd need all the help you can get, and doing it as an interest/hobby is the best. You might also be able to do biking to run specific errands instead of nua-ing at home in front of the phone/computer, so that also leads to increased NEAT (non exercise activity thermogenesis).

WussRedXLi

As usual, do your zone 2 guys (with sufficient vol to what race distance(s) you are training for.
Safest + easiest too.
Once you have that nailed and sufficiently filled, then training in the other zones would net you further benefits.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.