jogging and motivation thread

sales69

Started using China gel for my training. First used of this brand CPT for a 2:16 hour long run. Not as nice as M-action in taste. Can't tell if it works, but just completed the run as expected with the same expected fatigue.

The one with SuBingtian face has electrolytes, so should be good for long runs, to tahan the loss of electrolytes. But it's not enough to replenish, a full isotonic drink is still needed post run. The other one has medicinal taste, won't be buying it anymore.

CPT.thumb.jpg.a4fd3f285ab78e7262302dd0a88bdcfa.jpg
Nice. I wanted to get these gels initially but opted instead for Pocari dupe electrolyte powder.

Arrived yesterday. Will try later.

Also bought Plaid 2 and GouGe insoles.

Recently experimenting with different insoles after good results with those from Mizuno Wave Sky.

China no brand "step-crap" insoles also not bad. But these are thicker and cause big toe pain.

rarenick

Very healthy, lots of aerobic/cardio and strength. Also can be called performance based liao esp if the running/cycling includes VO2max intervals (esp if you are screened medically and cleared).
Just make sure nutrition + recovery focussed can liao, the latter just focus on decent sleep hygiene is best bang for your buck for the most mileage.
One more school of thought, you can train the fast twitch + motor units (motor neurons + fast twitch fibres and maybe a bit of intermediate twitch 2A fibres). Also trains the neuro pathway.
For running, add some sprint interval training, short ones 50m can liao, prehab with the usual PF, AT strengthening and maybe first few weeks just do 2 sprints per session, later then 3, then 4. No need to do too many. Really neuro work plus some benefits like RE, running form etc.
For strength/cali/etc, concentric motion just burst up, eccentric take 3-4 seconds. Enough liao.
Explosive stuff, like clapping push ups, or just burst type half reps 2 reps per second.......dont just do fully controlled slow ones with weights/resistance bands (we aint bodybuilders or aiming to be one).
Or basically plyometric type movements........
I am sure the impact and stuff adds to bone density as well, not only lower body but upper body as well. eg clapping push ups sure toughens the wrist and maybe clavicle collarbone and humerus, albeit slowly.....though am sure it would compound and add on over years of training + good nutrition.
His channel a bit controversial, not all would agree with him, but i think a good % he says makes sense.
Dont have to do those siao lang 1m type box jumps, but single leg pogo hops (bent knees for hitting more soleus part of the calfs if you want the best for running) would already do wonders for running....even though it's "just" basic plyo.

I like to slowly fine tune. Will consider all these in future. Now I just make sure I have consistent exercise and sleep. Food wise still need to buck up.

rarenick

extreme mentality will say running bad for knees, should swim instead. used to receive such comments from some people
1f602.png

Just do within our own abilities and let the body adapt and gradually become stronger. Those who overtrain/overstrained, did the wrong movement, too sudden, etc, then get worn and injured. Dont do then lose that function.

tanminghui1

I realised in jogging great runners have huge mileage

Like this video where they interviewed 2 Malaysian runners who got below 2.30. Both have >100km per week. If someone is disclipined to run 100km per week, most probably they can hit below 3

sph777

I realised in jogging great runners have huge mileage

Like this video where they interviewed 2 Malaysian runners who got below 2.30. Both have >100km per week. If someone is disclipined to run 100km per week, most probably they can hit below 3
@Kuudere mentioned this in the thread before:

https://www.threads.com/@sagecanaday/post/DEN9YawRXyJ?hl=en

Sage coached many people over the years and he recommended 85-100k/week of mileage, for a shot at breaking sub-3 overseas. 100-130k/week to gun for 2:40s, at which point should be realistic volume to go for sub-3 marathon in Sg.

So far, I only know two friends in my running circles that average 85-100k/week and both don't have family commitments (single by choice) and have solid work-life balance. One of them owns his business so have flexible schedule to run.

Apart from this, whether you get into injury and hamper your training performance is another matter altogether. The friend who owned business ran 30k (sg weather) in 4:15-4:16 min/km pace and was gunning for sub 3-hour marathon this year until he encountered an injury which set him back to running 3 times a week.

There are of course, some local runners that have fantastic marathon PR that don't run competitively in Sg. Know of 1 guy - Derek Li, ran 2:39 marathon and 1:14 HM overseas. Given the weather in Sg, it's not too surprising really.

WussRedXLi

Actually I don't disagree with this old guy. His method works for old people. Only thing I am against is is always speaks against other methods which are also scientific base. It reminds me back to the old days when a lot of youtubers jump on the bandwagon to condemn heel strike and promoting forestriking or midfoot, even Sage Canaday too which he later backtrack and quiet down. Nothing wrong with those forefoot or midfoot strike they are promoting.

Have to filter out those info that can work for ya. Eg I "just" train the fast twitch and neuro stuff, and things like plyo. But i dont train his twist n turn stuff, he actually has a few other exercises that i still dont get.
Also, ultimately, i think his results speak for itself in what is achievable.....for eg of interest to runners here is the 400m timing of 59-60s.
Of coz not electronic timing but if i am wrong is around our SG masters M40 podium standard.

For me i tend to run longer than that of coz (3-5k range i quite happy to gun), i am not that fast over the 400m....i think he mentioned he does not do endurance. But past 10k i also usually cant manage fast times. It might be duration related or something, and probably doing with fueling.
It's the same with cycling.......if it's longer than 1hr then for sure got (real) breaks and usually has a fun element and not training with any purpose.

edit - oh i think he calls that plyoception. (it's not a real term)

WussRedXLi

Started using China gel for my training. First used of this brand CPT for a 2:16 hour long run. Not as nice as M-action in taste. Can't tell if it works, but just completed the run as expected with the same expected fatigue.

The one with SuBingtian face has electrolytes, so should be good for long runs, to tahan the loss of electrolytes. But it's not enough to replenish, a full isotonic drink is still needed post run. The other one has medicinal taste, won't be buying it anymore.

CPT.thumb.jpg.a4fd3f285ab78e7262302dd0a88bdcfa.jpg

I am quite afraid of those with medicinal or very synthetic cough syrup tastes. So it's that mixed fruit type on the RHS that sucks right?

That honey lemon one i also aiming........

WussRedXLi

edit - oh i think he calls that plyoception. (it's not a real term)

Ok i think i know what he means and trying to get at....he posted a vid a few days ago. Not a real term but it's a mix of plyo + proprioception.

Actually in the vid below , the first exercise is "just" pogo hops (plyo) loaded with kettleballs. The second exercise also more similar to the first exercise than different. It's the third one with a full twisting motion that i am not sure if it is useful in reality.

PWtiLDr.jpg

quote -
Most people think training fast-twitch fibers is the holy grail of youth and speed. But guess what? That’s only half the story. In this video, I reveal why powerlifters can squat 800 pounds but still move like tanks, and why activating fast-twitch fibers alone won’t stop you from moving like an old man by 50, 60, or 70. I’m demonstrating 5 kettlebell exercises that train true alpha-gamma coactivation — a missing link no influencer, coach, or biohacker talks about. These movements activate both the Type 2X extrafusal fibers and the gamma motor neurons that control your muscle spindles — the hidden calibrators of balance, reflex, and fluidity. No fancy gear. No fluff. Just chaos, plyometrics, proprioception, and truth. This is Plyoception — and it’s what keeps me moving with agility and power.

WussRedXLi

Of coz for the above, real life got any real or significant use or not, that i am not sure.
Ultimately any usable benefits would need to be perceived by you the end pax.

But i'd also just share the story here since we are on this topic.

2 days ago Monday, i was with my wife at Farrer to do her IV drug treatment (Rituximab). So hungry liao, she wants that Betagro $3.10 chicken breast. Went down to get. While going back up, i was walking past the glass door of the building to get to the lift lobby (door) located outside the building but my right shoe's toebox area clipped on the glass door.

So i was falling forwards......tried my very best to regain balanace and not fall flat on my face / anterior part.
I took like a good 20m to do that, while trying to run and accelerate fast so that i could shift my COG backwards (like how you'd angle a broomstick forwards as it is falling forwards). While at the same time trying to stand back up so as to shift my COG backwards further. (for sure the split squats , good mornings, whatever motion helps). Did not fall eventually, but when i finally recovered my upright posture, i was running pretty fast (definitely way faster than your typical jogging pace).

tldr - I pok gai lah.
Edit - more like pok dai gai
. 🤣

I really think the running speed and power (acceleration) + posterior (back) upper body strength really helps in this....say, esp erectus spinae muscles.
Result : Luckily for whatever reason...... i managed not to buang over a good 20m, managed to regain balance by running/accelerating forwards + just standing back up regaining upright position but i needed a good distance.
I dont think any regular sedentary joe in their 50s, 60s would be able to recover. Of coz, in a more serious trip of the foot, nothing would have prevented this fall.

If really "buang", for sure would have some body rash in some parts of the body + significant blue back at the contact points. Cyclists know that too well with slower speed falls of below 20kmh.
It was not a serious trip, but i dont think it was a small one also.

Last time my grandma 80+ years old buanged before and also my father in his 70s also buanged in such a way. Sure blue black one with such speed. If no fracture coz no impacts big enough that is above the bone strength/fracture point, consider heng liao.

WussRedXLi

Just to share also......might not be always possible but it is good to know and always try this, always try to break fall not with your wrists. Even with wrists extended (it's almost a natural reflex with untrained folks), try not to exert too much force, ie dont try to break the fall with your wrists.
^^^^^^
Also why cyclists mostly wear gloves, it's a pretty natural motion.......also why wrist fractures not low. But at least in those falls which are not severe enough to fracture, can reduce the cuts. But still would have lots of blue back on the palm.

My last fall i successfully broke my fall sideways at a high %, my wrists only a bit sore, didnt really exert much force. My side deltolds took a good hit, the lateral side all blue black.
My helmet did touch the ground and got scratched. Mix of side and backwards roll.

Ender

I am quite afraid of those with medicinal or very synthetic cough syrup tastes. So it's that mixed fruit type on the RHS that sucks right?

That honey lemon one i also aiming........
ya,ya, RHS, mixed fruit. That's an accurate description, a hint of the synthetic cough syrup taste.

The honey lemon with electrolytes and SuBingTian's face, taste is ok. But M-action is a lot better, like desert for the jelly version.

Ender

And guess which part of the muscle that actually makes one to be insulin sensitive? It's the health and density of mitochondria cells.
More muscle mass, more mitochondria cells. And we can improve the quality and density the cells with endurance exercises that takes up fat + carb fuels for a long duration. And with proper recovery intensity, the cells will eventually eats up Lactate efficiently too. That is metabolic flexibility.

WussRedXLi

And guess which part of the muscle that actually makes one to be insulin sensitive? It's the health and density of mitochondria cells.
More muscle mass, more mitochondria cells. And we can improve the quality and density the cells with endurance exercises that takes up fat + carb fuels for a long duration. And with proper recovery intensity, the cells will eventually eats up Lactate efficiently too. That is metabolic flexibility.

Yeah definitely can mix in good decent base Z2, is gonna be really good to have both working together. (y)

I know even if slim (not even skinny fat), one can be pre-diabetic. But in real world here i have not come across any yet. Just came across that vid (i dont think she is lying) and so posted it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.