jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

LCB / Lucy Charles Barclay won, most people's fav chiobu Kate Waugh 2nd. Taylor Knibb 3rd.

Seems like Megan Mcdonald dislocated her shoulder during the swim or something

WussRedXLi

One of my fav runners

25 x 400s 60s/30s, not very dissimilar to the microburst VO2max intervals that i am working on now @ once per week (3 x 12 x 40s) 2:1 work rest.....pucking brutal session. Retched the first few sessions....

sales69

One of my fav runners

25 x 400s 60s/30s, not very dissimilar to the microburst VO2max intervals that i am working on now @ once per week (3 x 12 x 40s) 2:1 work rest.....pucking brutal session. Retched the first few sessions....

Wow 25 sets. I do 10 already wanna pack up haha.

Ender

@Ender @sales69

Go hoot 5kg of your California Sports nutrition creatine.
$31 per 1kg......30% first order.
Only this product got 30%, others are typically 20% which is useless.

Use autoship, once received, then cancel. Can use another account (another email) to hoot again.

30% offer till 31 Dec.

Exp 2028, can load it up until then, you calculate your consumption.

tSKpj3m.jpg

vZz6UbZ.jpg
Thanks good deal. But the qty a lot for one package. Have to split some into one small tub for everyday use and the rest kept in cool storage for long term storage without open up for months till the small tub is used up. Else caking will happen soon. Even the small tub I put it in the fridge.

LWZ

How do you all shop for running shoes?

My current asics outer sole about to be worn, now researching for a new pair. So how to know which brands are suitable or unsuitable for me? My target is $100 to $150 if possible, not exceeding $200. Low speed, 4km up to 8km run. Probably considering asics, adidas, nike, new balance and anta. I have worn before the first 2 brands, quite OK for me. Not so familiar with Nike and anta. New balance only tried the old army running shoes.

Need to go all the way to IMM? Is queensway worth going?
Anta got quite a few shops now

https://sg.anta.com/pages/store-locations

rarenick

For me is Qiaodan and Bmai.
This YT have many Chinese shoes review. Li Ning Yue Ying 5 looks good though some reviews saying 4 is softer?
But all these can only import online right? Then cannot try size

Kuudere

One of my fav runners

Not a good workout for marathon though, longer intervals are much better. And volume is too low.

https://ibb.co/JWctdZxb

My workout from yesterday: 3k x 4 (3 minute recovery), 4:1 work rest at 15k goal pace

Even more mileage than him liao. I think his biggest problem isn't his speed but translation of speed to endurance. Don't really see him doing long workouts.
Wow 25 sets. I do 10 already wanna pack up haha.
Not that difficult leh, especially for a marathoner. As a taper workout, it's quite reasonable though.

24 x 400m >> Chill, taper session just to keep legs warm

Ender

But all these can online import online right? Then cannot try size
For those that we can't local store to try for size, our most common method is to use china foot length. Measure the larger foot from the wall to the further tip of your foot. Then add about 8 to 15mm and use the china length.

Like my big foot measured around 283mm, I will buy 295mm shoes. Not fool proof, but so far so good. For 290mm I might take the risk if it's very cheap. Of course this method cannot determine foot width. Use online review to gauge the width.

sales69

Not a good workout for marathon though, longer intervals are much better. And volume is too low.

My workout from yesterday: 3k x 4 (3 minute recovery), 4:1 work rest at 15k goal pace

Even more mileage than him liao

Not that difficult leh, especially for a marathoner. As a taper workout, it's quite reasonable though.

I don't run marathon ma. Below 400m distance is the only way I can run at around 3.45/km pace.

Coros app will classify the run as Anaerobic.

Usually after 10-12 sets will do another 2km easy. But will feel the heart is tired. Weak ah. 😂

WussRedXLi

Even more mileage than him liao. I think his biggest problem isn't his speed but translation of speed to endurance. Don't really see him doing long workouts.

Think he just restarting his speed training i think as he mentioned it was time he started to get his legs really spinning again with some speed stimulus, last post was in June 2024 so maybe he did rest for quite a while and he is happy to be "back" and able to film himself for YT vids.
Additionally he at altitude....
edit - watched the vid again, oh he did mention he did his build up before that also.....mile repeats, tempo, he did 30k the week before. For his long run, 30k at tempo he said he was able to do 3:20 pace, and he will be trying 35k soon. His coach mentioned he started the build up 2 months ago.

One big difference is the float/rest......part of the training for regular folks like me. My microburst intervals at 130-140% of threshold i rest at half the work period. Quite vomit inducing at first even during first set, gotta train and get used to it then could manage. Even now the last set of 12 i still cannot sustain at 2:1 work rest and i gotta pull back to 1:1.
That is why i mentioned what he did was not dissimilar to the cycling microburst intervals 40/20s at VO2max / 130-140% of FTP.

I think all these and the whatever short running chapalang workouts that i did helped me shave another 30-45 seconds for my 3k. Not sure how much it helps / maintain my 5k specifically...... not really running "long". Maybe end of the year of in early 2026 i try 5k. (T100 in April, that'd a 4k run and then a longer 6k run)

WussRedXLi

I don't run marathon ma. Below 400m distance is the only way I can run at around 3.45/km pace.

Coros app will classify the run as Anaerobic.

Usually after 10-12 sets will do another 2km easy. But will feel the heart is tired. Weak ah. 😂

I lagi shorter. My all these longer "strides" intervals for around 40 seconds i tend to run at around 3:15 and if feeling good and got got energy can do closer to 3:00. Distance covered is around half of my rooftop, so that's ~ 200m. Quite short. But not often, quite a few weeks never do that liao, and even longer never do 30 mins LT2 liao. I tend to enjoy all out Sprint Interval Training sessions more which i have never missed (so-called time efficient, but also can be viewed as lazy 🤣 ), but only like 1 warm up and then 4 work reps then gao dim.

Tend to enjoy the equivalent cycling intervals more.

Tudo88

I6cbdKf.jpeg

We did similar workout. One set lesser than you haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.