jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Sometimes these things really take very long to manifest fully one.

Can share with you my wife's story.

Back then in early 2010s, we went to Beijing for holiday and were enjoying ourselves. That time still not yet 2013 indon haze or 2015 heavy indon haze episodes, and the 1997 heavy haze long past liao so not much recollection.
Was during winter, enjoying the snow and building snowman etc. So one fine day suddenly "heavy fog", pretty heavy until could only see 200-300m in front of us. We thought winter weather lah...... so continued to be outside. Went back hotel that night and suddenly early morning my wife vomitted multiple times and headache.

^^^^
edit - when i returned to SG, i went to the USA Embassy and digged the AQI air quality index archive that the USA Embassy in Beijing would sample. That particular day in Beijing, the AQI spiked to over AQI 400. :s16:

So told the tour guide and the SG guide took us to Chaoyang hosp while the china tour guide took the rest of the group. At Chaoyang, did CT scan and blood test, but nothing came out, other than elevated platelet count in the 500s (i think upper limit is some 280 or something). The A&E physician told us return back to SG better check, this might be no joke. Took more painkillers and cured the headache, thought nothing of it.

Back in SG, went to SGH to see blood specialist and did tests, did some specific Anti CCP and ANA test, One was negative and the other indeterminate.

"Anti-CCP" refers to anti-cyclic citrullinated peptide antibodies, which are autoantibodies that can be detected in the blood to help diagnose rheumatoid arthritis (RA).
An anti-nucleic acid test most commonly refers to the Antinuclear Antibody (ANA) test, a blood test that detects proteins (autoantibodies) your immune system mistakenly produces to attack your own cells' nuclei.

Indeterminate still a bit concerning coz platelet up down a bit between 500s and 600s. So i think that time he a bit suspect got RA, so recommended to go SGH ARC (Autoimmunity And Rheumatology Centre ARC). RA side nothing, no confirmed RA diagnosis. So after like 9 months of follow up with both specs, platelet count same same, we stopped. Simply coz walk in status, so treated as private. We stopped coz too expensive, no insurance coverage coz no hospitalization. Subclinical, no sypmptoms, just monitor.

Then covid started and late 2020/early 2021 pain liao. The private $170 body checkup also indicated RF / rheumatoid factor went up, over the threshold value, i think hs-CRP also elevated. The GP in charge recommended that we see Polyclinic so that we can get referred to specialists, which then would be public rate. Same Anti CCP and ANA tests, finally confirmed positive diagnosis of Rheumatoid Arthritis coz satisfied multiple positives, including ultrasound and X-rays of several joints including hip, knees, scapula, elbow, wrists/fingers etc. Platelet count still same at 500-600s, sometimes 700.
So same thing, saw SGH ARC spec and took the typical RA meds.

After 1 year, changed to private coz worsening blood work. Private RA spec confirmed left elbow joint chronic and somewhat high level inflammation a bit spoil liao, my wife lost 15 deg of flexion, ie cannot straighten elbow. Took very specific monoclonal antibody IV meds and JAK inhibitors orally. Heng is insurance got cover coz private spec admitted my wife so can claim pre and post hospitalisation medical treatment. We also a bit stupid, shd have went private spec straightaway, even though the initial few consultations might not be covered, but we never thought the pte spec can cover by admitting her into hospital so that pre and post treatment visits at the clinic (basically just blood tests + collect the very expensive drugs) also covered.

Now i scared they pattern pattern, coz like the recent Great Eastern buay song Mount Elizabeth orchard and Mt E Novena. My wife used to be using Mt E Novena (coz the spec got clinic at novena) but now changed to Farrer park coz the claim process is terok. Farrer park is auto process for claims.

So 2011/12 "accidental" detection via blood platelet, but all other areas normal. God knows how many years before 2011 already got issue with the platelet liao.
So these things did not start with just 1 to even 3-5 years, not so fast one.
Is many many many years of ill-treatment of our bodies via our lifestyles and diet in one way or another.
In fact, even oral health and gut health, many people do not think anything about that.

And we still have not managed to find out what is the trigger. Is it oral bacteria going into bloodstream? (my wife already plugged out like 8 teeth, that time gingival infections and cavities quite terok).
Is it gut health? (leaky gut, gut issues like gluten sensitivity, celiac etc?)
Is it coz obsese? But now my wife slimmed down liao, the inflammation still going strong and never go down.
What the heck is causing the body to buay song and create the autoimmunuty?

Maybe body spoil already, once started and it would never stop. Is only a matter of slowing down the self-destruction of organs and body systems so that you can get X more years of quality living.

That is why, prevention is always better than cure. As there is a chance that one can never be cured even with the best of diet and exercise, and body weight getting back to normal . Cracked means cracked liao, can only manage the cracked symptoms with patching and reinforcements, so as to slow down the eventual building collapse.
am thinking the same, what i have experienced could be an early warning to a dormant issue. Thus now being cautious, especially feeling straneous on my heart when i pushed too much. All we can do is do our best to keep active and not lead a sedentary lifestyle, try to eat and live healthily. The rest hope for the best.

GlassDoor

me 50 my best av 5k pace is around 5:22min/km, been running regularly since 2023, still cannot break 25min for 5k :ROFLMAO:
一起加油!
was at the same stage some time back... if your target is to say run under 20mins...
then do 5 X 1km at 4" target pace. with 4 min slow recovery run in between. key is to get your body used to 4" target pace intensity. this is only recommended only for runners with a few years of foundation

WussRedXLi

am thinking the same, what i have experienced could be an early warning to a dormant issue. Thus now being cautious, especially feeling straneous on my heart when i pushed too much. All we can do is do our best to keep active and not lead a sedentary lifestyle, try to eat and live healthily. The rest hope for the best.

Hopefully is remission status for as long as possible, even with mild / low dosage medication(s) to manage and control is ok.

That is why i also inculcating into my kid that he cannot stop exercising one, start from young, do or die thingy. Is normal, like brushing teeth go toilet bathe. We still bathe and maintain personal hygiene even if there is hard work in office or family got commitment. Caveman that time also........we are not evolutionarily designed to be sedentary.

xllms

was at the same stage some time back... if your target is to say run under 20mins...
then do 5 X 1km at 4" target pace. with 4 min slow recovery run in between. key is to get your body used to 4" target pace intensity. this is only recommended only for runners with a few years of foundation
i am doing 4-8x1km weekly depending on weather and my condition. I cannot sustain 4" for one km. At best 4:45. Usually around 5-5:30 av & I will usually slow down at my later runs. So right now, the target is to be able to sustain the 5" pace throughout the entire 8 runs per session.

DulanMax

if i were to start running all over again.. these would be the 3 things i will tell my younger self.
In order of importance
1) learn to run slow and with a low heart rate (MAF method). Although the calculation for Z2 are crude in MAF but it's a good starting point. Progressively build up time on legs to about an hour.
2) increase cadence to at least 180 (i went from 160+ to now consistently 200+-)
3) improve running form using pose method - pose, fall, pull (this really helped me get faster with a lower effort, together with intervals)

listen to your body to run fast, run long and run injury free!
Is there a way to naturally increase cadence?

I'm trying to do MAF but if I'm running slow (Around 7.45 - 8min/km my cadence is like 140+ lol, but even if I'm doing 4x4 VO2MAX (Intervals around 5.15 min/km) sessions, my cadence is only around high 150s - 160s even during the running intervals.

Right now I find that if I try to increase my cadence, my heart rate and speed goes up significantly, so I'm trying to build endurance first before thinking about cadence, is this the right approach?

winningeleven

if i were to start running all over again.. these would be the 3 things i will tell my younger self.
In order of importance
1) learn to run slow and with a low heart rate (MAF method). Although the calculation for Z2 are crude in MAF but it's a good starting point. Progressively build up time on legs to about an hour.
2) increase cadence to at least 180 (i went from 160+ to now consistently 200+-)
3) improve running form using pose method - pose, fall, pull (this really helped me get faster with a lower effort, together with intervals)

listen to your body to run fast, run long and run injury free!
Wow. The cadence is so dramatically increase. I used to be 165...now is 175 max. I can't get increase it any more

Tom Sawyer

I'm trying to do MAF but if I'm running slow (Around 7.45 - 8min/km my cadence is like 140+ lol, but even if I'm doing 4x4 VO2MAX (Intervals around 5.15 min/km) sessions, my cadence is only around high 150s - 160s even during the running intervals.

Right now I find that if I try to increase my cadence, my heart rate and speed goes up significantly, so I'm trying to build endurance first before thinking about cadence, is this the right approach?
Many factors... I think for your case, your stride might be big. Try running with smaller stride.... Usually relationship is high cadence - small stride OR low cadence - big stride.

GlassDoor

when u run.. there is a natural rhythm between your arm swing and foot landing

these 3 things helped conditioned a higher cadence for me
1) quicken your arm swing naturally (shorten the swing and pull back fast), your foot landing should follow and sync up
2) wear shoes which have more ground feel and lower stack (current favorite is Adios 9 for this purpose).
3) focus on a quick pull up of your foot instead of pushing down when you land

your increase effort is because of stride length. take smaller steps. one way to adjust is to take off your shoes and run bare footed on a grass patch to get the feel. you will immediately find that you are running with smaller strides else it's super jarring from the impact.

metronome did not work for me as I find it highly distracting.

being conscious of how you are running is the first step to improving (y)

GlassDoor

Wow. The cadence is so dramatically increase. I used to be 165...now is 175 max. I can't get increase it any more
i managed to up from 160+ to about 190+- over a few months. 190-> 200 took at least a year. Many trial and errors on running form.
and I can maintain this high cadence from easy runs to faster runs except for 200m or shorter sprints.
i encourage you to try/readup on pose method of running.

GlassDoor

about time adidas release another super tok kong shoe to "milk" the fan boys :D
interesting that they are focused on developing tech for ultra running.

p.s. i always find it amusing that people think that buying that fast shoe will make them run faster. me think will probably injured them faster thou

WussRedXLi

about time adidas release another super tok kong shoe to "milk" the fan boys :D
interesting that they are focused on developing tech for ultra running.

p.s. i always find it amusing that people think that buying that fast shoe will make them run faster. me think will probably injured them faster thou

Happening today i think, the 100km sub 6 run.

60mm is scary. Some off camber surfaces like the popular turn just outside 1 marina blvd (NTUC wsg, e2i) just outside that pub area land not so careful/mindful sure roll the ankles until buay lin chu

WussRedXLi

This fella shd have use for the Prime X. Shd be able to help him go farther even.

Imagine if we are able to run at slightly above LT2 pace indefinitely.......stopping only when your joints or metatarsal or ITB gives up. No need supershoe liao la.
Or something like you run your 3k 5k pace for your HM or even FM if can tahan. Fwah.

Tudo88

My 5k progression over the years hahaha.

Anything is possible with the right mentality imho. If you tell yourself you can do it, then it's definitely possible.

The road to sub 20 was not easy for me but after achieving it,I am looking at sub 19 for my next goal.

jHT566u.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.