jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Actually i think i am not even doing sufficient hard workouts. By percentage it is like 90% easy and 10% hard only. But still the stimulus from say the threshold workouts of ~2hrs, that is like 4 x 30 mins. That's why i also do a fair bit of stregnthening and plyo, prefer to err on the side of caution from my past experiences.

But i guess more or less sufficient to meet my needs and not much niggles. I am not sure if no strengthening/plyo, i would have those tendo and fascia pains or not.
I slipped in timing a bit for my 5k since 2023 - mid 2024 but that is fine, around 30-45 seconds probably. My 3k seems to be ok.

Cycling per week:
Workouts : Currently is 1 dedicated 18-25 mins VO2max work duration intervals (aim is to hit 90% of MHR), sometimes i go kee siao and really shag out to hover pretty close to MHR and i really follow the 2:1 work rest ratio, only coming to find out i cant finish the workout when @ around 2/3rds of the intended session duration, then need to drop it back to threshold plus more towards 1:1 ratio.
If not then is total of dedicated ~ 1.5hrs threshold HR in 2 sessions ....but past 3 months i had been gravitating more towards VO2max workouts.

Running per week :
Workouts : Maybe 20-30 mins duration of threshold run or maybe 15 mins VO2max intervals.
Same workout session 1-2 sprint interval on flat ground (100% RPE) 75m. Good way to further warm up after the typical dynamic warm.
Hill sprints total 5 reps of ~ 40 metres and + 8 metres elevation? (during office to home commute)

Z2 per week
Cycling : ~ 10hrs. But for sure need to sometimes foray into tempo and even threshold due to mini slopes like @ Sentosa or climbing Faber / nagivate traffic esp when coupled with headwind.
Sat + Sun : 6hrs to 10 hours of Z0 to Z1, several breaks in there. Joyriding with kid

Running : Just take it to be around 60 mins of Z2 and 20 mins of Z1 weekly.
From the 4 reps of 1km home-office commute per day

WussRedXLi

Everything drink in moderation. Coconut water also contains natural sugar.

Also funny that some tot 100% coconut water means no other water. Luckily clarified. Else many stop drinking plain water. Coconut water supplier huat ah.

Heh......if mostly or only drink coconut water as liquid intake, sure health issue. Really too much sodium, possibly hitting over 2000mg/day.

Some overconsume papaya also.....maybe they want to prevent constipation coz some find passing motion a challenge so they hoot half a papaya purchased from the hawker centrem the following day finish the othe rhalf, can get too much potassium. I know of 1 case like that.
The amt of potassium in papaya is like 2-3X that of coconut water wrt weight.

xllms

Everything drink in moderation. Coconut water also contains natural sugar.

Also funny that some tot 100% coconut water means no other water. Luckily clarified. Else many stop drinking plain water. Coconut water supplier huat ah.
yes everything has to be done in moderation in relation to one's diet. In my case, i consume only carbs once a day in moderate quantities. Besides drinking a pack of coconut water after my runs, i also drink one pack a day in addition (max). It helps in moderating my HBP. Maybe that's the reason why my weight isn't coming down :ROFLMAO:

Those with kidney issues should avoid consuming large amounts of coconut water. Coconut water has high potassium content. A large intake of potassium in kidney patients may lead to life-threatening hyperkalemia (too much potassium in the blood).

xllms

How about BMAI Jintan turbo 3. Locally can check Pangu running at Kallang Wave mall, but do call if they carry it and have stock now. Also can get from TB if going down to Kallang too much trouble.
Turbo 3 should cost more than S$100. Not a good choice for beginners as well, imo. But can go Pangu Running @ Kallang Wave to try others. Not sure what other brands do they carry. Gotta go check the place out the next time I am back in SG.

WussRedXLi

Turbo 3 should cost more than S$100. Not a good choice for beginners as well, imo. But can go Pangu Running @ Kallang Wave to try others. Not sure what other brands do they carry. Gotta go check the place out the next time I am back in SG.

Nowadays seriously not many "true" beginners good shoes, other than the typical Novablast and Evo SL jack of all trades type, but for sure overbudget. The best thing about the BMAI (very well received) is that anyone interested can still try, as far as chinese shoes are concerned, esp for fit and midsole feel for bounce etc.

But the chinese typical trainers, i feel not there yet atm, but the supershoes/performance cat is of coz the direct opposite. Like as if they are pouring most if not all resources into the high performance category to give you best bang for the buck effect.

kkkkdllmkkkk

for running shoes, i think they only carry bmai....

kkkkdllmkkkk

nowaday i jog 40 mins of 6 mins 30 secs pace then take a quick break of 2 minutes, slow jog for another 20 mins at around 8 mins pace... felt more easy for my body considering the fact that i am 165cm and 80kg bui bui tryin to lose weight

WussRedXLi

nowaday i jog 40 mins of 6 mins 30 secs pace then take a quick break of 2 minutes, slow jog for another 20 mins at around 8 mins pace... felt more easy for my body considering the fact that i am 165cm and 80kg bui bui tryin to lose weight

Sounds good, will work one lah. My wife also sometimes take water break, sit down at my rooftop here blow wind for 3 mins before continuing.
Just think of it as total duration.

My kid also, the weekends, so many breaks and sometimes pretty long....like last weekend halfway he hungry, we turned out from our "training @ Sentosa" to Vivocity, went to Fairprice Xtra and ate the boxed Sushi using our CDC vouchers, that time only 8.30am 🤣.
Over time duration of around 2 years, he still grew much stronger in cycling despite no threshold workout trainings (though got climbs), beginner gains and actually now into intermediate territory even. He can chiet other faster adults on foldies no issue, he small 150cm kiddo so on foldie cannot ride road bike yet. We "TT" at that Sentosa speed limit sensor and i saw his speed grew....nothing much to it of coz but just a metric to track and he a bit obssessed with it (fun mah).
Maybe next year can pace some ladies on road bikes or something liao. heh......

Ender

Li Ning seems to have quite a few of Atrium sales recently. Reported the Red Hare 8 pro can get for around $75 or less. Not as cheap as PDD or Tao Bao, but certainly a lot cheaper than their retail price. Have a pair, I find it's a good daily trainer. I can wear this for 2 hours run.

DigDub

Li Ning seems to have quite a few of Atrium sales recently. Reported the Red Hare 8 pro can get for around $75 or less. Not as cheap as PDD or Tao Bao, but certainly a lot cheaper than their retail price. Have a pair, I find it's a good daily trainer. I can wear this for 2 hours run.
$62.50 if can manage to track down where they have their atrium sales.

vGIsqKF.jpeg

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

Cyclist
Quite easy, just look at the wrist area (gloves mah), upper arms, thighs, socks area (usually higher than running socks). Or cycling shades, but maybe a bit difficult to tell)

But i havent come across her before (will definitely stop to say Hi / chat), she quite friendly one.
I do come across Aaron, Vanessa, Justina (I think) and prischew quite often over there....in fact Prischew stopped me once at Marina bridge asking me to take pic for her with the SG Flyer as the backdrop....coz i stopped at the brdige trying to look for 1 dropped bolt that i did not loctite, from my bike's rear saddle bottle cage holder. :oops:

ps. Yeah, over there quite a few girls to see one, some quite naise.

rarenick

Cyclist
Quite easy, just look at the wrist area (gloves mah), upper arms, thighs, socks area (usually higher than running socks)

Video quality so poor u still scrutinise.
Tan lines are ugly. Mine slowly fading away liao.

WussRedXLi

PSA tip

Use this for your single legged calf strengthening. Use hands to press upwards, single legged calf raises. I think exert 50-60kg downwards or more accurately 80-90% of your bodyweight force is possible with this method, for low reps heavy weight till close to failure. Bonus is no need for forearms grip strength, which might be the limiting factor if you use barbells/dumbells or even resistance bands....so even if you are willing to hoot heavy, your forearms give up first. Easy to know if sufficient or not, if you cannot deadhang for 20 seconds it's very likely grip strength not up to par.
But w this method relying instead on pecs, front deltoids, some traps together for sure can exert more force.

Additionally trains your upper body as a whole compound movement for added bonus.

Hopefully is sufficient weight, wo going to gym. Plyometrics would fill in the impact forces.

Bend a little bit till 20 - 30 deg is can and still trains your soleus a fair bit in addition to the gastrocs , 45 deg or more would load up too much quads/glutes and you shag out.

Bo bian, not much money for gym membership, gotta work with what i have access to.

RkoF9jZ.jpg

WussRedXLi

I just found out 1 pretty big "imbalance" for L and R. My triceps.

Hands itchy, at fitness corner go try out that metal log push up device (above pic)

Heaviest of them 3 logs, my left hand can only manage 8 - 9 reps fail liao. Not really capable of explosive throws upwards to get air hang time.

My right hand easily 2X, and more than capable of doing explosive push and "throwing" the log up with air hang time.

Sian, but at least now i know what to try and so can improve a bit on dips/push ups. My left side weaker, in fact literally 2X weaker. Coz i never do unilateral before.

I think things like scapula pull ups i better go try some one handed versions

rarenick

I just found out 1 pretty big "imbalance" for L and R. My triceps.
Hands itchy, at fitness corner go try out that metal log push up device (above pic)
Heaviest of them 3 logs, my left hand can only manage 8 - 9 reps fail liao. Not really capable of explosive throws upwards to get air hang time.
My right hand easily 2X, and more than capable of doing explosive push and "throwing" the log up with air hang time.
Sian, but at least now i know what to try and so can improve a bit on dips/push ups. My left side weaker, in fact literally 2X weaker. Coz i never do unilateral before.
I think things like scapula pull ups i better go try some one handed versions

Lately I also realised my right arm is bigger than left arm. So start doing more sets/reps on the left arm. How I realised was my medium size tee shirt, the sleeve was quite loose on left arm but not the right arm.

winningeleven

I felt my right strained ankle on 95% recovery and went for a jog on 7km on Tues and ended up triggered back my gluteus medium injury (I thought I was fine already) then yesterday. I went to jog again yesterday night and totally flare up at 5km and now is damn super pain. I think I really want to rest 2 weeks liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.