jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Just train tendon and muscle stiffness in your mix if you want. Side benefit would be bulletproofing your AT and PF as well. If you have seen how some runners run fast (the distance be it 3k all the way up to FM it doesn't matter as it's just a snapshot), they have that effortless somewhat bouncy stride. For seemingly little effort (energy), RE.......whatever you wanna call it.

How to train? See below.

Issue : It's not sexy like your various runs, people just wanna run coz it is more enjoyable.....of coz you still can improve via running alone, not saying that it doesn't. But then this is also free money on the table, esp so if you have already plateaued. So worth a shot. People usually dont do these properly (or never do at all) and progressively load till there is enough volume of.

It's free money on the table, as with some of the other workouts that we often post about. So, the mindset needs to train first as well....if your mind is already resisting this kind of training coz you are doubting it then you will never get down to do it consistently.

No need to be very long also, 1 year max you will see decent results even if you are just average. 2 years will get you solid results if you have been consistent.

WussRedXLi

Thanks! Even if lose weight I think SG is not possible haha. Yeah running volume must go up for sure

AI says 88km is average for Strava worldwide for getting below 3hr.

If want to do at your current weight, i think avg might be 120km, peaking even higher at 150?
Assuming normal and avg talent. Some might be able to hit that with much less of coz.

Guess must be sure about the goal (even if overseas) if that is not possible and whether or not you can spare the time needed and tahan the duration.

My current cycling is at that equivalent of around 150km/wk of running, but i can tell you really no life outside of "sports". (Of coz i also faff around a lot more with the stupid bike lah, now also spoil liao).

Anyway i just weighed myself, 69.8kg wtf, not sure is it coz of Creatine......haha. 10g/day now. I 173 only.
Other than the muscle gain.....
That time in 2022/23 i was below 60kg, lowest was 58kg......but that time my 5k/10k not say miles faster also.

WussRedXLi

WTF.......

dkuSQyi.jpg

Ender

Anyway i just weighed myself, 69.8kg wtf, not sure is it coz of Creatine......haha. 10g/day now. I 173 only.
Other than the muscle gain.....
That time in 2022/23 i was below 60kg, lowest was 58kg......but that time my 5k/10k not say miles faster also.
Very sure it's creatine. Remember I reported my significant weight increase of 3kg without diet change and exercise regime. Nothing much to do but accept it. Harmless, since you ae not into distance running.

Ender

"Single session spike"

Actually i have seen this before in another vid

Just went thru, as in I skipped scan the video on the part he talks about chronic and acute loading. THis is very much an established science, it's the Banister Impulse Response model. But he seems unaware coz he is using the ACWR ratio which is the term the research scientist used. In the running world we use TSB instead, it's the CTL-ATL, while ACWR is CTL/ATL. It's the injury risk number we track during the execution of our training plan. It's also the FORM, I used in STRAVA fitness chart.

WussRedXLi

Just went thru, as in I skipped scan the video on the part he talks about chronic and acute loading. THis is very much an established science, it's the Banister Impulse Response model. But he seems unaware coz he is using the ACWR ratio which is the term the research scientist used. In the running world we use TSB instead, it's the CTL-ATL, while ACWR is CTL/ATL. It's the injury risk number we track during the execution of our training plan. It's also the FORM, I used in STRAVA fitness chart.

Seems like these things best to be tracked by an app or a coach during a training block.

WussRedXLi

Very sure it's creatine. Remember I reported my significant weight increase of 3kg without diet change and exercise regime. Nothing much to do but accept it. Harmless, since you ae not into distance running.

Yep i just changed to 10g/day, luckily running performance not say changed significantly, actually can feel cycling performance have been improving slowly but steadily, and also other strength based exercises in which the no. of reps can be rather accurately tracked. No hurry also, as long as got improvements..

WussRedXLi

as they say..
heavy doesn't mean unhealthy
low body mass is not necessarily an indication of good health either

most bmi use 24 and under as healthy indicator .. 20 imo is a bit aggressive

Think it's 23 and under for ok BMI. Skinny fat centered around the belly really a thing for us....like you ask how your normal colleagues in office see others as not fat in the arms and legs, but they are actually fat coz of the belly......also that it is easier to hide the fat at the belly with clothing and pattern designs. Some lao uncles really stick skinny even in their arms and legs, but they are actually fat coz all centered in the belly and that is actually even more dangerous.

AI :
A healthy BMI for Asians is often set at 23, instead of the traditional 25, because Asian populations have a higher risk of developing obesity-related health issues like cardiovascular disease and type 2 diabetes at lower body fat percentages and BMIs compared to other populations, such as White populations. This is partly due to a tendency for more visceral (deep belly) fat at lower overall BMIs.

GlassDoor

Think it's 23 and under for ok BMI. Skinny fat centered around the belly really a thing for us....like you ask how your normal colleagues in office see others as not fat in the arms and legs, but they are actually fat coz of the belly......also that it is easier to hide the fat at the belly with clothing and pattern designs. Some lao uncles really stick skinny even in their arms and legs, but they are actually fat coz all centered in the belly and that is actually even more dangerous.

AI :
A healthy BMI for Asians is often set at 23, instead of the traditional 25, because Asian populations have a higher risk of developing obesity-related health issues like cardiovascular disease and type 2 diabetes at lower body fat percentages and BMIs compared to other populations, such as White populations. This is partly due to a tendency for more visceral (deep belly) fat at lower overall BMIs.
like you i was at my lowest a few year back post covid.. around 57-58kg... don't really feel any faster or healthier then.. plus my face can start to see cheek bone.. sagging skin around neck.. looks actually "chao lao"

now around sweet spot 65+- so much more "handsome" :ROFLMAO:
SHF also say i overweight

Your Result
Your BMI : 23.88
Standard BMI : 20
Overweight

GlassDoor

The ex special forces operator pulled his calves just before finishing 800m, time 2:32, pace 3:23 :oops:

the question that keep popping up as i watch that video
"I bet those guys can eat a buffet every meal and not put on weight. Wonder what's their base metabolic rate?"
:LOL:

GlassDoor

Sub 40 10k is way tougher than I thought it will be. This is like 95-98% of max effort.

If I thought sub 20 5k was hard in the past,this is literally double the pain and pleasure.

5vN22MR.jpeg

Kg7q9it.jpeg
welcome to the party... still chasing it after 8 months
your body needs to learn how much pain it can endure :LOL:
for the first few tries, the 7km mark is a real test

rarenick

Do u all make conscious effort to check whether u have any imbalances in your body? Like foot supination/pronation, weak glutes, tight ankles, etc?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.