jogging and motivation thread

xllms

any coros pace 3 users experiencing HR on watch drop to 40-60 range 1/2-1hr after a 10km fairly relaxing run? I had a few such experiences, last one happened last night. But after that it goes back to a more normal range of 90+ after shower.
is it an error or my HR really dropped to so low after a run with HR av153, max170?

rarenick

My supination quite severe. The lateral side of my sole can wear off not just the heel area, but the whole length of the shoes. But I don't care much. Just neutral shoes till now. Personally, I think running gait analysis are over rated, and everyone should just wear neutral shoes and adapted to it gradually.

Surprisingly supination responses higher than pronation, which I think I have. Anyway will be learning from YouTube videos on how to resolve it. This pronation problem along with bow knees seem to be with me for some years and getting more obvious. They are affecting me in cycling and to a lesser extent for running.

sales69

any coros pace 3 users experiencing HR on watch drop to 40-60 range 1/2-1hr after a 10km fairly relaxing run? I had a few such experiences, last one happened last night. But after that it goes back to a more normal range of 90+ after shower.
is it an error or my HR really dropped to so low after a run with HR av153, max170?
Try manual taking heart rate during those moments. Could be the watch acting up.

Ender

I don't use my coros pace 3 after my run. So I can't tell you if I had this problem.
Just do a wellness check when it happen.

WussRedXLi

Amazing that he still can maintain and keep up with the elite lead pack up to 30-35km despite being like 20 years older.

sph777

AI says 88km is average for Strava worldwide for getting below 3hr.

If want to do at your current weight, i think avg might be 120km, peaking even higher at 150?
Assuming normal and avg talent. Some might be able to hit that with much less of coz.

Guess must be sure about the goal (even if overseas) if that is not possible and whether or not you can spare the time needed and tahan the duration.

My current cycling is at that equivalent of around 150km/wk of running, but i can tell you really no life outside of "sports". (Of coz i also faff around a lot more with the stupid bike lah, now also spoil liao).

Anyway i just weighed myself, 69.8kg wtf, not sure is it coz of Creatine......haha. 10g/day now. I 173 only.
Other than the muscle gain.....
That time in 2022/23 i was below 60kg, lowest was 58kg......but that time my 5k/10k not say miles faster also.
Not ready for it now. If I get Tokyo in March then see how. Until then, just continue to plug at weight loss. Target for SCSM is 3:20

sph777

unfortunately...i am not there yet. the last TT i did end Aug I am still 20 secs off. But it's the first time I did it under 41.
i am actually exploring "cheating".. aka pre-run-fueling, a faster shoe and cooler temperature. Maybe I just need the moons to align

Most folks like me chasing the sub 40 dream are training at around 3.40-3.45 for intervals.

Training at 3.30 pace,I will guess you should be able to hit 38-39 quite easily honestly. Maybe you can look at your pacing strategy,HR etc.
This is what I mean by I don't have speed. All my intervals are like 3:50-4:05 pace. But I can sustain those longer hahaha.

WussRedXLi

Interesting.....will try training for 360 degrees scapular pull ups. Looks to be a very impt basic foundational exercise.

WussRedXLi

Not ready for it now. If I get Tokyo in March then see how. Until then, just continue to plug at weight loss. Target for SCSM is 3:20

Slowly does it......you are in your 30s only, have all the time in the world.

Can explore new sports also, can be done one. For all you know you will go into sprinting later, calisthenics, cycling even. When i was racewalking/running, i certainly have zero idea that i will get into cycling and calisthenics (albeit super baby level compared to younger athletes at the fitness corner) as well. If i can swim, i will even enter triathlons like mid distances T100 / 70.3 and try.

Have the mentality that after a couple of years, you will unlock your first muscle up etc. It's just a matter of time and takes longer time coz i believe the majority of us are just avg have normal genetics which we cannot change.

But.....our mentality and mindset can be shaped one. That is the most important factor i feel. (y)

Tudo88

This is what I mean by I don't have speed. All my intervals are like 3:50-4:05 pace. But I can sustain those longer hahaha.
You are closer to sub 40 than I am which means your training are effective haha. Anyway to just crack sub 40,it's ok to train at 3.50 pace I guess. Recommended is 3.45 from the videos I watch.

Ender

just curious, your workouts intervals, are those paces prescribed by your trainer?

sph777

Slowly does it......you are in your 30s only, have all the time in the world.

Can explore new sports also, can be done one. For all you know you will go into sprinting later, calisthenics, cycling even. When i was racewalking/running, i certainly have zero idea that i will get into cycling and calisthenics (albeit super baby level compared to younger athletes at the fitness corner) as well. If i can swim, i will even enter triathlons like mid distances T100 / 70.3 and try.

Have the mentality that after a couple of years, you will unlock your first muscle up etc. It's just a matter of time and takes longer time coz i believe the majority of us are just avg have normal genetics which we cannot change.

But.....our mentality and mindset can be shaped one. That is the most important factor i feel. (y)
For me definitely into run and swim. Cycling I can do but don't like it. Limited to gym bike/ spin / helloride/ anywheel

Ender

A lot of it he just says hard. It is up to me/ my body haha
Have you tried the McMillan pace calculator? You key in your race time, like your recent 10km PB. It will recommend the various pace range for different types of intervals.

WussRedXLi

based on my own experimentation and non scientific. you can give this a try.
3 X 3km @3:30" pace or faster.. walk 200m in between to recover. the pace should feel hard 90-95% but can finish the repeats.

there are some variations of this 4 X 2.4km or 5 X 2km again at a pace much faster than 10k target pace. you can potentially ramp up the speed due to the shorter distance. But uncle body cannot tahan... i literally puke after a 5X2km session! so be warned.
unfortunately...i am not there yet. the last TT i did end Aug I am still 20 secs off. But it's the first time I did it under 41.
i am actually exploring "cheating".. aka pre-run-fueling, a faster shoe and cooler temperature. Maybe I just need the moons to align

Why so many people trying 10k now. :unsure:

That very much is your V02max pace based on 40+ for 10k and 19+ for 5k. That is 3 sets of 3K @ 10:30. Or 3 sets of 10 mins VO2max. 10 full mins VO2max 1 shot....if it is possible in the first place depending on training/genetics.
No wonder you puked.... even for 5 x 2k. Which is 7 mins x 5.
edit - even norwegian 4 x 4 is 16 mins total.

3k TT @ 10:30 i can do on good days only. 10 mins flat on excellent days and i only achieved twice only out of dozens and dozens of tries. I "try" that sometimes as part of my weekly run workout session, not too difficult to recover from. As shared with you before, i aim 3:20 but of coz quite a few times too fast, 3:15 is still ok but then sometimes i hit 3:07-3:10 be it first or 2nd km then i know is game over liao.
But then if too slow coz mindset wanna be disciplined and dont satart off too fast, but 1st km 3:30-3:35 then it really is too slow, difficult to neg split and catch up later unless stars and moon align to get below 10 mins.

How about trying 3:30 for 30 seconds and then 15 to 20 seconds rest. 12 reps, 3 sets....between sets can rest for 2-3 mins. At first see if can do 2 sets also can (12 mins work), then progress to 3 (18 mins work). Microburst intervals.
If feel better, then do these occasionally is can......
Technically, from the stuff that i have come across, this is very very effective in cycling....esp since that sport might be surgey, even for non draft legal races we'd have to contend with accelerating out from corners, which is even more brutal than running hairpin turns.
But 10k, not so sure if it is as effective.......see how you'd alternate with LT2 intervals and this.

Holding at VO2max for "extended periods" meant for LT2 intervals too brutal, not sure if it is a positive training stimulus or 反效果 just fatigue you out and increase risks esp for us middle aged.

sph777

Have you tried the McMillan pace calculator? You key in your race time, like your recent 10km PB. It will recommend the various pace range for different types of intervals.
Haha I don't want to force a pace. I just push by feel

Anti 5 star

When I first joined was 4k for 1 year but if u don't want commit 1 year then is 400/month. Now I train under another coach and not him personally but Soh will upload your training plan on google docs/sheets, can't rmb, he will tell u target pace etc. Once a week he will call you and talk to u about progress etc on top of daily messages. On the sheets/docs, u are to update how u feel about the run, effort level etc.
Can share which coach you under now? Soh say want set up video call then 1 week + nvr get back to me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.