jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Recently added more weight for my squats. Now 18kg dumbells + body weight. Today did 1 x 20 reps and 2 x 30 reps. I think enough liao. Think I will progress to single leg in near future.

How much are u all doing for squats?

I am sure my technique/form is absolutely no way near perfect or even recommended standard so as to avoid injuries. But so far not injured yet but once i did get very minor muscular strain which went away the next day.
Main thing is keep the spine as straight as possible, so that no real or as low wear and tear to the discs as possible while doing.

I use 4 of the black minibands that i recommended you before (frm shopee), each one while at extension is ~10kg from what i measured on the luggage scale. I use 4 of them so ~40kg. Right leg now progressing to 10 reps while left is at 8. My squat depth is knee cap will do until bending angle is 90 deg, but my upper body (with as straight a spine as possible) is bent forward at an approx 30 deg angle. Then i straighten up.
For safety i will use the other hand to touch a chair that i put in front, just stabilise a wee bit......if body balance is good and also any stabilizing muscles are good, the hands helping would be minimal.

But bands a bit different than weights, coz the miniband resistance at max squat depth is zero and only at the top then is 40kg for the 4 black bands that i use......different resistance curves than weights.

Only 1 hand on the bands also trains a bit on grip strength.

I only do single leg variations coz less loading on the spine coz less resistance needed to get the training effect, quite a bit safer for any type of deadlifts/squats that you do. Coz it is literally your whole body weight from the kneecap up that you are pushing against + the resistance your hands are giving.

Kuudere

Pls update when 18m :s16:

Will go for sub 18 min but not in a rush

Very interesting method of training but can see why it would guarantee results. All the best

There are some variations I can do even though the structure is quite fixed. Such as running in the upper limit of the pace range and doing jog recovery. These makes the workouts harder but still within acceptable limits. Also, consistently increasing my mileage. I hope to go towards 75-80k to get an idea of what I can do.

My goal is 1.22-1.23 HM overseas, probably 1.27-1.28 HM local. The workouts should get me to do that, but I will attempt 5k TT first and look out for the next HM local race I can go for.

sph777

Will go for sub 18 min but not in a rush

There are some variations I can do even though the structure is quite fixed. Such as running in the upper limit of the pace range and doing jog recovery. These makes the workouts harder but still within acceptable limits. Also, consistently increasing my mileage. I hope to go towards 75-80k to get an idea of what I can do.

My goal is 1.22-1.23 HM overseas, probably 1.27-1.28 HM local. The workouts should get me to do that, but I will attempt 5k TT first and look out for the next HM local race I can go for.
all the best sir! Plenty of time as the next HM other than SCSM is prob next year liao. Garmin too late to sign up I think and way too soon to see the results

Tudo88

all the best sir! Plenty of time as the next HM other than SCSM is prob next year liao. Garmin too late to sign up I think and way too soon to see the results
Think earliest local HM will be 2XU next year already haha.

I am considering to attempt my Sub 90 HM at Vietnam likely but depends on how close I am to my Sub 40 10km first. I don't think I am unable to hit sub 40 as of now but if I am like 10-20s off,I take it as a success haha

WussRedXLi

3 yrs experienced amateur doing same workout as Lucy Charles Barclay. Lucy was in a Core heatsuit and purposely chose a spot that is in the sun, HR = 120.
Experienced amateur in normal attire and with a fan blowing directly at him for cooling and in the shade of the room, HR = 157 and still sweating bucketloads. :oops:
After that the amateur also decided to try the Core heatsuit on, gave up 20 mins before the session and commented that it was the toughest sessions he has ever gone through. HR = 169 for him while LCB is 127

GOn7Z8G.jpg

Ender

Not sure if other supplements like Mg/D3 would help, even if it's just a little. You taking?

My wife just got her results yesterday, "only" 57 ng/ml of 25 hydroxy vit D. She tests every 3 months.
She is taking like 5-7 times 5000 IU every week, been taking for like 4 years already. (supposed to take daily, but sometimes will forget lah). The best she got was like just below 70ng/ml, think that period probably did not miss any days of supplementation.
5k IU daily probably no issue for the vast majority unless also getting lots of sunlight.
10k probably need like half yearly test to monitor for overdose (100 ng/ml)
Somehow I don't think I am nutrient deficient. As seen from the BMD of my spinal, which is excellent for my age. It gets the nutrients it needed to be healthy. So the imbalance of bone loss at hip, I still think the running I do, the impact load is not targeting at the area of the hip.
Anyway I have been doing hip extension related strength exercise, kettle belle snatch, swing, and one legged dead lift.

sph777

Think earliest local HM will be 2XU next year already haha.

I am considering to attempt my Sub 90 HM at Vietnam likely but depends on how close I am to my Sub 40 10km first. I don't think I am unable to hit sub 40 as of now but if I am like 10-20s off,I take it as a success haha
In SG if u 10-20s off, essentially u are there liao overseas haha.

WussRedXLi

Somehow I don't think I am nutrient deficient. As seen from the BMD of my spinal, which is excellent for my age. It gets the nutrients it needed to be healthy. So the imbalance of bone loss at hip, I still think the running I do, the impact load is not targeting at the area of the hip.
Anyway I have been doing hip extension related strength exercise, kettle belle snatch, swing, and one legged dead lift.

Wah...that shd be good enough liao.
Osteopenia shd still be at a largely ok level. Guess just have to monitor over time.

Mecisteus

WussRedXLi

Reporting from Sapporo Mitsui outlet park
ASICS Novablast 5 approx S$125 after 10% tax deduction and additional 5% coupon discount. But no Superblast nor Megablast 😂
https://www.asics.com/jp/ja-jp/nova...FE2jGce4TrovJcgFpdTanxbcotxjeMjsaAlOBEALw_wcB

$125 ok, last time the lowest we purchased before for my wife also around $130 mark on shopee, 1 gen older model of coz.
Actually now got disc on ascis.com.sg, $153.

Mai hiam buay pai daily runner colourway, still got sizes.

1012B811_400_SR_RT_GLB

xllms

$125 ok, last time the lowest we purchased before for my wife also around $130 mark on shopee, 1 gen older model of coz.
Actually now got disc on ascis.com.sg, $153.

Mai hiam buay pai daily runner colourway, still got sizes.

1012B811_400_SR_RT_GLB
the colorway you shown is available here as well and even cheaper, approx. S$105, after all the deductions mentioned.
am getting the all white colorway, latest model, so am happy.
NIKE Alphafly 4 after tax deduction is approx. S$250 (no 5% coupon discount). Not too bad also, but such shoes too expensive for a recreational leisure pace runner like me.

GlassDoor

Very Happy day!
Impromptu 10K this morning at the track. Temp and hum both acceptable.
Apple watch say i PB both my 5K and 10K :D
17:44 & 39:31. Timing purely based on gps.
Was not wearing my casio f91w to time. And given the watch buzz the 10K distance 10-15m after I cross the line. i was probably 3-4s faster than what the watch indicated.
Huge confidence builder today for the next TT 💪

sph777

Very Happy day!
Impromptu 10K this morning at the track. Temp and hum both acceptable.
Apple watch say i PB both my 5K and 10K :D
17:44 & 39:31. Timing purely based on gps.
Was not wearing my casio f91w to time. And given the watch buzz the 10K distance 10-15m after I cross the line. i was probably 3-4s faster than what the watch indicated.
Huge confidence builder today for the next TT 💪
Both timings are so sick! Congrats, 17:44 is damn fast

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.