jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Is there any unspoken rule that one is not supposed to run in the opposite direction on a stadium track? Was running yesterday at around 5 plus on lane 8 when a stadium staff commented that i was not supposed to do that as i might bump into other people. In fact there wasnt many people in the stadium yesterday at all. Decided not to argue and heeded his advice.

Technically not really.......... It's not like keeping left on PCN shared paths or dedicated cycling lanes, which is "well advised" by signs all over the place. Not really a track person so i dont know if there are keep to counterclockwise dir signages.

Outermost lane (lane 8) ought to be ok esp for 1 single pax, but if got more than say a dozen other people then better dont do that liao. But if lane 1-7 then better don do that regardless of number of pax on the track.
Even stadiums in Kenya got people running opp direction outermost lane this way, but then they are all super pros super experienced so totally no issue for everyone. lol

You got a certain muscle imbalance that needs to run clockwise direction?

sph777

Like this morning, I also felt a bit unwell when trying out a bit overdistance at just LT2 pace, wanted to do 8k if possible 10k. Too warm. Just 6k into it and felt like too warm already....no point risking it for the workout

Imagine doing HM with direct solar and where you can heat soak more coz longer duration, no amount of regular training (w/o any dedicated heat training) would get me to run at this pace. With a wee bit of mid morning/early evening running then perhaps, maybe.....just maybe with a bit of luck and active cooling can finish 10k with a bit of late 7-8am sun. (i started 10k AHM past 7am with all the other folks got cleared, still open lol...but then failed to realise HM joins 10k later wtf...either that or you need to be seeded way way in front)

lVEUEBh.jpg
Still sick time as always

sph777

They have taken care most of the unshaded areas of the later part of the route. Except at the 28.5kmkm mark all the way to Marina Barrage is totally unshaded. The majority of the mass, 5 hour finish time, will be there at around 8:30am -9am. Base on last year, not too bad. after 9:20am was when the sun was up and hot.

After that, the rest of the route are mainly inside CBD, should be safe from the sun. But garden by the bay will get morning sun, coz it's east side is unblocked.
This will be the best year to aim for pb alr

sph777

Is there any unspoken rule that one is not supposed to run in the opposite direction on a stadium track? Was running yesterday at around 5 plus on lane 8 when a stadium staff commented that i was not supposed to do that as i might bump into other people. In fact there wasnt many people in the stadium yesterday at all. Decided not to argue and heeded his advice.
If not crowded and you not on lane 1, I don’t see the issue. I think the guy just wan to kaobei.

WussRedXLi

This will be the best year to aim for pb alr

Hmmm.....technically for local race (SCM), yeah technically shd be the best chance, that statement is really true...best shot sia.
Do your best man, best chance presented now. If you want my kid go down hand you ice packets/towels? My 2 SS insulated bidons can hold many many. 🤣 Along the route also.

If not aiming for cash prizes, ok one lah. haha.....

WussRedXLi

I'd like to share this important pc of knowledge, is gold.

My pops couldnt even do a simple chair squat (unweighted) with both legs without pain / slight pain during good days. Very long already......and i didnt know what/how to do except movement based strengthening exercise then with or without bands.

For quad strengthening, Now i know concentric > isometric > eccentric or so-called negative reps. So isometric still would work. I asked him to wall sit for quads. Glute of coz can do other patterns with bands.

Nowadays ok liao, i think like 3rd week ok. And he has progressed to movement based chair squats. Soon will use bands. (y)

Ender

Sg active stadium staff will do that.
Most considerate athlete will only do opposite direction outside the lanes if needed to. 5 plus, there should be light crowd of people.

winningeleven

I always run in anti clockwise direction. I do feel in a share facilities. Regardless whether got crowd or not. We should follow the majority.

I always run on lane 8 and have meet a few clockwise runner. Mostly they will hop to lane 7 to avoid me. But sometime I ended up in lane 6 or 7 to overtake walker or slower runner and what happened I also need to care whether I will bump into the opposite runner.

Personally I don't feel any benefit or difference of running opposite direction of track .

On my stadium at Jurong west . The staff doesn't care . Sure have a few clockwise walker and runner

Ender

I always run in anti clockwise direction. I do feel in a share facilities. Regardless whether got crowd or not. We should follow the majority.

I always run on lane 8 and have meet a few clockwise runner. Mostly they will hop to lane 7 to avoid me. But sometime I ended up in lane 6 or 7 to overtake walker or slower runner and what happened I also need to care whether I will bump into the opposite runner.

Personally I don't feel any benefit or difference of running opposite direction of track .

On my stadium at Jurong west . The staff doesn't care . Sure have a few clockwise walker and runner
You frequently do HM distance in the stadium. Do take some time for, warm up or cool down, to do clockwise to rebalance. Left leg covers much lesser distance than your right leg for your volume on the stadium. Can do it outside the track or lanes for etiquette.

sales69

Technically not really.......... It's not like keeping left on PCN shared paths or dedicated cycling lanes, which is "well advised" by signs all over the place. Not really a track person so i dont know if there are keep to counterclockwise dir signages.

Outermost lane (lane 8) ought to be ok esp for 1 single pax, but if got more than say a dozen other people then better dont do that liao. But if lane 1-7 then better don do that regardless of number of pax on the track.
Even stadiums in Kenya got people running opp direction outermost lane this way, but then they are all super pros super experienced so totally no issue for everyone. lol

You got a certain muscle imbalance that needs to run clockwise direction?
Usually I run counter direction at Bedok Reservoir is to see chiobu. :o

But really is to break up the monotonous run. See things from another angle.

WussRedXLi

This pull up (WR) freak really managed to sub 2:30

Final 2:25:41

BTW he is the only fella able to gun > 10,000 pull ups in 24hrs and gun FM like this.

Too bad he didnt flex in his jeans, would really be quite the sight to finish 2:25 in jeans while holding the pull up WR. "Overdressed on the bottom and underdressed on top".
Will be damn satki

Dont ask me about his calluses on his palm, for me just a few per session already callus like crazy.

Bonus

WussRedXLi

Usually I run counter direction at Bedok Reservoir is to see chiobu. :o

But really is to break up the monotonous run. See things from another angle.

hmm......quite the idea.

Usually for cycling also can only see backside, unless they turn around at the lights. Some really really really nice shape one, got one nice back end and nice front end also that i cannot even forget despite seeing it like 2 years ago. Nearly jizzed in my pants then.

But coz of my cheap china bike, quite a few instances of that also. And once a group even talked to me about my bike. heh......

GlassDoor

If you want to go 1:25 HM why not try overseas? I will doing my first race overseas HM next year and see how well I can perform.
the "issue" is not the actual tt be it running a race or looping in a stadium. it's the training. and knowing myself.. i tend to get carried away. anyhow.. not decided yet.

sph777

Hmmm.....technically for local race (SCM), yeah technically shd be the best chance, that statement is really true...best shot sia.
Do your best man, best chance presented now. If you want my kid go down hand you ice packets/towels? My 2 SS insulated bidons can hold many many. 🤣 Along the route also.

If not aiming for cash prizes, ok one lah. haha.....
Haha thanks for the offer but I not aiming sub 3 this year la so I think is fine 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.