jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Jialat my first glance read the video text as rating Push-up bra. 😂 :s13:

Coz of the thumbnail pic ba...... there is a bra there. Very good example why a picture is worth more than a thousand words, coz our occipital lobe processes images several tens of thousand times quicker than reading text, which aids decisions making and comprehension

Ender

I cant advise on the brand of sunscreen, but i dont use it. Thing is, i would slowly condition and slowly tan it up........every weekend basically. No sunburn. The black pigmentation is natural sunscreen.

Healthy or not or will get carcinoma or not, dont know. So far since around 2016 when i started to get into outdoor activities, no issue.

But bo bian if you do not want that wierd tan mark........ just gotta wear t-shirt + arm sleeves. Or run before 9am or after 6pm.
Melanoma comes after many year later. My father in his 80, then show signs on his arm. Doc say it's his outdoor exposure when he was younger. Caught early, treatment is very easy, use liquid nitrogen and freeze the spots. So if we are under the sun for too long, the chance are high after 20 years it will come regardless of being tan or sunburn or not. My father was not a sporty type to go under the sun for sports. He was a bus driver, so exposure is strictly just the arm, where the spots were found.

Talking about tan line, my runs are 99% sun down, to avoid the sun. After 8pm. Even then i have a clear tan line where my running short ends. but no singlet tan line. Very strange.

WussRedXLi

Melanoma comes after many year later. My father in his 80, then show signs on his arm. Doc say it's his outdoor exposure when he was younger. Caught early, treatment is very easy, use liquid nitrogen and freeze the spots. So if we are under the sun for too long, the chance are high after 20 years it will come regardless of being tan or sunburn or not. My father was not a sporty type to go under the sun for sports. He was a bus driver, so exposure is strictly just the arm, where the spots were found.

Talking about tan line, my runs are 99% sun down, to avoid the sun. After 8pm. Even then i have a clear tan line where my running short ends. but no singlet tan line. Very strange.

That's scary sia. Thx for sharing.
As far as possible, been keeping the cycling not past 10am and even then 9-10 try to find routes that are shady.
Not solely based on UVI but more on temperature. 🤣

Zq8c9Wn.jpg

WussRedXLi

Caught early, treatment is very easy, use liquid nitrogen and freeze the spots.

But i think the upside to all this is that, coz it is skin (ie visible), high chance can be caught early. Esp if one is discerning.

Anyway i guess the basics good to know for all of us coz of outdoor acitivities, be it running, swimming or cycling.

AI from Google :

Melanoma often looks like a changing or new mole, following the ABCDEs: Asymmetry (uneven halves), irregular Borders, uneven Color (multiple shades, pink, red, white, blue), larger Diameter (pencil eraser size), or Evolving (changing size, shape, color, or symptoms like itching/bleeding). It can be brown/black but also pink, tan, or colorless, and may appear as a fast-growing bump or a non-healing sore, even under nails.

The ABCDE Guide to Melanoma
  • A: symmetry: One half doesn't match the other.

• B: order: Ragged, notched, scalloped, or blurred edges.

• C: olor: Uneven, with shades of brown, black, tan, red, white, or blue.

• D: iameter: Larger than 6mm (pencil eraser), though smaller ones can be concerning.

• E: volving: Any change in size, shape, color, elevation, or new symptoms (bleeding, itching, crusting).
Other Signs & Variations
    • New Growths: A new mole or spot that looks unusual or different from others.
    • Nodular Melanoma: Can be a firm, rapidly growing lump, sometimes same color as skin or colorless.
    • Subungual Melanoma: Dark streaks under a fingernail or toenail, often the big toe.
    • Non-Healing Sore: A sore that looks like it's healing but then comes back.

sph777

Good to know. My runs are always early morning while swims are lunch time but I guess take it as it comes.

WussRedXLi

Good to know. My runs are always early morning while swims are lunch time but I guess take it as it comes.

Bonus - weekly i calculated that we need about 30 mins of exposure to midday peak sun times to get sufficient D3. I believe that (norway) study is based on half naked upper body exposure.

For swmming, i think really gotta be mindful esp if over 1 hr per week, coz haked + trunks and esp while swmming and so body is really exposed perpendicularly to the sun.

Seems like the risk is cumulative over our lifetime rather than a few times acute episodes.

Ultra cycling also esp susceptible......coz cycling is more "cooling" than running. Same as miza said, the sunscreen gets washed off one. Spandex sleeves work great, but a bit uncomfortable. Same goes for swmming with regards to sunscreen, it works but if longer distances/duration, then...... . :

Eg

WussRedXLi

Nice weather this morning. 30km 5:40 avg pace. Out the door and back in under 3hours 💪
UV exposure risk are there for sure. But I will take it over dying of sedentary lifestyle related chronic illness.

What the......never knew you long distance one. My long distance is only 3 runs that i have done, 16-18km, and that was like 2 years ago. 🤣

I think i one of the few who still middle/middle-long distance. (actually 5k is technically long distance, just that for many there is too much VO2max + LT2 % innit hence is short distance)

WussRedXLi

Ok, shift away from health troubles.

Next week CNY liao. So how much distance you doing for Huats?

For me i will try long distance 138 possily 168. My kid and wife oversease.......so. Not sure if trying on first or second morning of CNY. First day early morning is good but then if bonk and get stuck outside then i will get parked by mother coz of visitation at 12 noon. 2nd day a bit low morale, coz day after that i not onl leave.

Need to plan route properly for re-fuelling with real food i think, plus the usual snacks and Kang shifu beverages of coz.

ps
but i know one of the stops would be this at Sims Vista hawker (open 1000hr, i have confirmed they open on first and second day)
Or the 23hr open curry mutton @ Geylang Lor 10 Nasi Kandar

AHVAweqr3s7DgxH9wfOhL6CRA6f5qAePrKsRObKatvPQSWX7tcPiTW2sEfW8nsUSHu0E60UPCnnjFUn2P1YFhQNdyEym3rNAPtivgj8iDsHQvGU7NfQ2uehNVhN2d84dgXu7xJBqAbKs28geThc=s680-w680-h510-rw

images

GlassDoor

What the......never knew you long distance one. My long distance is only 3 runs that i have done, 16-18km, and that was like 2 years ago. 🤣

I think i one of the few who still middle/middle-long distance. (actually 5k is technically long distance, just that for many there is too much VO2max + LT2 % innit hence is short distance)
i do a longer distance run every two weeks or so... today entire run Z2. max hr 138 that was going up some 5% slope. could have gone much longer but got errants to run. took two gels from the scsm hoots and random vending machine for 100plus. really shiok run before the festivities next week.

WussRedXLi

Dont know how i got to read this but i just came across.......
Not sure how trained the fellas were, but i thinks those here who are performance based and have at least some structure shd be representative.

Of coz for those who are interested, can read the whole PDF, least the abstract got caveats and nuances that are not represented properly......and how good a study was this and what reps/sets the drop jumps were, i dont know. No time to read details also. But main takeaway is 23.9% improvement in 2.4. :oops: I think there shd be significant carryover to 5k and possibly 10k.
Just sharing ba.........

edit - but yeah, my knowledge is that drop jumps are really good for runners and basically the best.......folloed by depth, followed by pogos (or even single legged skipping rope might count).

Another aspect is also, plyo is really time efficient, can be done literally anywhere and hence fit your schedule, is really gold with the possibility of very good returns for the buck you put in.

https://www.academia.edu/117364098/..._Competitive_Middle_and_Long_Distance_Runners

Effects of Plyometric Training on Endurance and Explosive Strength Performance in Competitive Middle- and Long-Distance Runners​

Abstract​

The purpose of this study was to examine the effect of a short-term plyometric training program on explosive strength and endurance performance in highly competitive middle-and long-distance runners. Athletes were randomly assigned to a control group (CG, n = 18, 12 men) and an explosive strength training group (TG, n = 18, 10 men). Drop jump (DJ) from 20 (DJ20) and 40 cm (DJ40), countermovement jump with arms (CMJA), 20-m sprint time, and 2.4-km endurance run time test were carried out before and after 6 weeks of explosive strength training. Also, the combined standardized performance (CSP) in the endurance and explosive strength test was analyzed. After intervention, the CG did not show any significant change in performance, whereas the TG showed a significant reduction in 2.4-km endurance run time (23.9%) and 20-m sprint time (22.3%) and an increase in CMJA (+8.9%), DJ20 (+12.7%), and DJ40 (16.7%) explosive performance. Strength training group also exhibited a significant increase in CSP, although the CG showed significant reduction. We conclude that properly programmed concurrent explosive strength and endurance training could be advantageous for middle-and long-distance runners in their competitive performance, especially in events characterized by sprinting actions with small time differences at the end of the race.

Key takeaways​

sparkles

AI​

1. Plyometric training significantly improved 2.4-km run time by 23.9% in trained runners.
  2. Explosive strength increased in the training group: CMJA (+8.9%), DJ20 (+12.7%), DJ40 (+16.7%).
  3. Control group showed no significant performance changes, indicating the effectiveness of plyometric training.
  4. Combined Standardized Performance (CSP) improved in the training group, contrasting with a decline in the control group.
  5. Plyometric training can be effectively integrated into regular endurance training for competitive runners.

WussRedXLi

This guy not bad, i trained to around this standard (around 65 for 60 seconds) before i moved over to just training dips with a bit of overhead push (the metal logs at fitness corner, single hand).

Ender

Bonus - weekly i calculated that we need about 30 mins of exposure to midday peak sun times to get sufficient D3. I believe that (norway) study is based on half naked upper body exposure.

For swmming, i think really gotta be mindful esp if over 1 hr per week, coz haked + trunks and esp while swmming and so body is really exposed perpendicularly to the sun.

Seems like the risk is cumulative over our lifetime rather than a few times acute episodes.

Ultra cycling also esp susceptible......coz cycling is more "cooling" than running. Same as miza said, the sunscreen gets washed off one. Spandex sleeves work great, but a bit uncomfortable. Same goes for swmming with regards to sunscreen, it works but if longer distances/duration, then...... . :
From what I read, singapore UVB is strongest during midday, and exposure of 10 to 20 minutes with exposed limps is good enough for each day. Any more is too risky. Hence I think leave the exposure to Sun for NEAT activities and errands, rather than training. Most of us train for more than an hour, that's too long to be under the sun.

Ender

Dont know how i got to read this but i just came across.......
Not sure how trained the fellas were, but i thinks those here who are performance based and have at least some structure shd be representative.

Of coz for those who are interested, can read the whole PDF, least the abstract got caveats and nuances that are not represented properly......and how good a study was this and what reps/sets the drop jumps were, i dont know. No time to read details also. But main takeaway is 23.9% improvement in 2.4. :oops: I think there shd be significant carryover to 5k and possibly 10k.
Just sharing ba.........

edit - but yeah, my knowledge is that drop jumps are really good for runners and basically the best.......folloed by depth, followed by pogos (or even single legged skipping rope might count).

Another aspect is also, plyo is really time efficient, can be done literally anywhere and hence fit your schedule, is really gold with the possibility of very good returns for the buck you put in.

https://www.academia.edu/117364098/..._Competitive_Middle_and_Long_Distance_Runners

Effects of Plyometric Training on Endurance and Explosive Strength Performance in Competitive Middle- and Long-Distance Runners​

Abstract​

The purpose of this study was to examine the effect of a short-term plyometric training program on explosive strength and endurance performance in highly competitive middle-and long-distance runners. Athletes were randomly assigned to a control group (CG, n = 18, 12 men) and an explosive strength training group (TG, n = 18, 10 men). Drop jump (DJ) from 20 (DJ20) and 40 cm (DJ40), countermovement jump with arms (CMJA), 20-m sprint time, and 2.4-km endurance run time test were carried out before and after 6 weeks of explosive strength training. Also, the combined standardized performance (CSP) in the endurance and explosive strength test was analyzed. After intervention, the CG did not show any significant change in performance, whereas the TG showed a significant reduction in 2.4-km endurance run time (23.9%) and 20-m sprint time (22.3%) and an increase in CMJA (+8.9%), DJ20 (+12.7%), and DJ40 (16.7%) explosive performance. Strength training group also exhibited a significant increase in CSP, although the CG showed significant reduction. We conclude that properly programmed concurrent explosive strength and endurance training could be advantageous for middle-and long-distance runners in their competitive performance, especially in events characterized by sprinting actions with small time differences at the end of the race.

Key takeaways​

sparkles

AI​

1. Plyometric training significantly improved 2.4-km run time by 23.9% in trained runners.
  2. Explosive strength increased in the training group: CMJA (+8.9%), DJ20 (+12.7%), DJ40 (+16.7%).
  3. Control group showed no significant performance changes, indicating the effectiveness of plyometric training.
  4. Combined Standardized Performance (CSP) improved in the training group, contrasting with a decline in the control group.
  5. Plyometric training can be effectively integrated into regular endurance training for competitive runners.
Didn't read the report, coz I don't know hot to interpret data. Just from the abstract, it seems for long distance runner, the advantage is just the final few hundred where sprinting may be required if the other guy is very close.
We conclude that properly programmed concurrent explosive strength and endurance training could be advantageous for middle-and long-distance runners in their competitive performance, especially in events characterized by sprinting actions with small time differences at the end of the race.

Mila Azul

nowadays I swim weekdays lunch time, got my tan in and no sunburn also haha

Perhaps I’ve damaged my body—once, I could walk in the sun without burning, but now my skin is reacting strangely. My recovery has also slowed. :frown:

Mila Azul

I cant advise on the brand of sunscreen, but i dont use it. Thing is, i would slowly condition and slowly tan it up........every weekend basically. No sunburn. The black pigmentation is natural sunscreen.

Healthy or not or will get carcinoma or not, dont know. So far since around 2016 when i started to get into outdoor activities, no issue.

But bo bian if you do not want that wierd tan mark........ just gotta wear t-shirt + arm sleeves. Or run before 9am or after 6pm.

I’ve grown older and more anxious, perhaps because after searching for sunscreen, I started seeing information about skin cancer caused by sun exposure. :ROFLMAO:

Ender

I was sitting on the fence where to sign for eco run, coz I might have a surgery coming up for my hemorrhoids. Todays with the doctor, I almost wanted to go for the surgery, but the Doc tyhink it not that big, and try for lifestyl change plus meds. Also the risk might be too severe to take for the size of it. So decided not to go for it, also mean I can sign up for this race.

Done, $32 with Policy holder code. Cheapest HM in Singapore.

WussRedXLi

From what I read, singapore UVB is strongest during midday, and exposure of 10 to 20 minutes with exposed limps is good enough for each day. Any more is too risky. Hence I think leave the exposure to Sun for NEAT activities and errands, rather than training. Most of us train for more than an hour, that's too long to be under the sun.

Of coz if we also have training in the sun, even if just 9-10am period sat + sun 2 days 2 hrs......then 10-20 mins of midday errands or even say lunchtime walk to makan, shd be sufficient. Actually 5 mins x 5 times mon-fri enough liao...heh. Waiting at the lights already 1-2 mins. But then again, i am in short sleeves/T-shirt. Long sleeves might need more.

It's this one, wah nowadays AI damn zhun/fast.

In Norway, sunlight provides crucial Vitamin

during summer (up to 20,000 IU from 30 minutes in Oslo), but none is produced from late autumn to early spring due to low UVB levels. Nearly 90% of Norwegian vitamin D is derived from sun exposure, with deficiency common in winter. Daily supplementation (e.g., cod liver oil) is often necessary.

GlassDoor

I was sitting ont he fence where to sign for eco run, coz I might have a surgery coming up for my hemorrhoids. Todays with the doctor, I lamost wante to go for the surgery, but the Doc tyhink it not that big, and try for lifestyl change plus meds. Also the risk might be too severe to take for the size of it. So decided not to gor for it, also mean I can sign up for this race.

Done, $32 with Policy holder code. Cheapest HM in Singapore.

https://www.google.com/search?sca_esv=8e5ba7d0347bd658&sxsrf=ANbL-n6BMwxY3XGADhXSEIdn7YK6PfDDVw:1770882330921&q=hemorrhoids+meaning&si=AL3DRZEC_ZDAByhd6HDMGU3krnZdhej97QeEE-PoRZmS2PYBFGIephGOvxmNrJS7Senhyc1ZXIx-EaRKRF-pOnXsR17bxYkfyLaxwHJXjYakxPv_q9KOa81Ar6-ME_2iPixkZ_RH8UN34GqY7WMPv7JcJiALiTWlXA==&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwid7ZfiutOSAxXe4zgGHd4dDRQQyNoBKAB6BAgaEAA&ictx=1
i am still procrastinating over it. Motivation not high. Guess I am not a race/mass run person.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.