jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Actually if u plan to run MBS (where I run almost everyday), just go out a bit earlier, usually even until 6.30 plus also not very crowded
yah, my first run was before the sun came out, less people seen running around MBS.
I guess yesterday was weekend and it was later which is normal that more people were running.
i hope i can sleep early tonight to get out before 6.30am tomorrow 😂

WussRedXLi

Got any running attire to recommend?

I wear tshirt to run normally after easy run 45mins more than half the shirt will be soaking wet

Just go TB and get any of the running t-shirts since you are starting. If you dont mind and have decent arm muscles can try singlets. After that if you think you are really into it then get really branded/better stuff if you require.

I can recommend this, this is my bread n butter workhorse and i must have purchased like more than a dozen total for my whole family as well to use. I wear to office, wear to hawker/NTUC, wear for my workouts...though i must say they are usually not more than 30 mins + i am not a heavy sweater from what i can see out there.
Cheap n good, nothing fancy but quality is more than good enough.
The blue colour is very very nice. White colour also very safe to get, goes well.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id...oughtlist.suborder_itemtitle.1.78a52e8dClb9VM

If wanna look more "pro" (more just towards the branding) :
Nedao brand is good and extremely popular in China as well and i also see some locals starting to wear this nowadays, but lots of colour OOS now, and you need to change your default addr to a chinese one first before you can add to cart, then change back to SG for direct ship or other options when checking out.
Anyway, is not very expensive also lah.

The baby blue is quite unique to be honest. You dont see this colour often over here in SG.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?abbucket=14&id=885434355499&mi_id=0000j9Ck-dwr3tnDMmKb7n-xP7smRrR7X8d3yhKemPzhUzI&ns=1&skuId=6136705290251&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.1&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"50458d9f200f1cbbefb93f9447047f7f"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

edit - oh got usual blue too.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?a...f08d4c41abe7c98d05f745edeb"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

s_mario

I have plantar fasciitis, now need to temp stop running for maybe 3 to 6 months and monitor the healing. Anyone have this issue? Sian.
me.. now i have rest since end Jan till now but i feel very much to go run.. hows your pain now? mine doesnt hurt much but sometimes it hurt.. i didnt run but i have been cyling, rowing and doing ellitpcal

xllms

WussRedXLi

Ender

I wear tshirt to run normally after easy run 45mins more than half the shirt will be soaking wet
I chime in. I wear mostly vented holes singlet. Those western brand are expensive. From Tao bao, I got brands from Qiaodan, UTO, Nedao, Flipbelt. All about similar quality as western brand and they weigh only 45 to 60 gram for L or XL. I have 4 UTO singlets that weight under 30 grams, but I can't find them anymore.. Quick dry and most importantly is they don't hold as much sweat as most generic polyester singlets, very drippy. So end result is they don't get heavy at full sweat saturation, the rest of the sweat just drip down.

rECKleSSfElla

Go safra emart buy those SAF unit singlet. Cheap and quality decent. Quickdry effect is ok-ish but i find the sweat tend to get wicked and stays at the bottom of the singlet. If you not BBFA, i recommend searching for this kind of singlet on local or china ecommerce platforms.
6drLPMP.jpeg

Material very thin, comfortable and full of holes for ventilation. Quickdry effect is superb.

dev_stg_prd

I chime in. I wear mostly vented holes singlet. Those western brand are expensive. From Tao bao, I got brands from Qiaodan, UTO, Nedao, Flipbelt. All about similar quality as western brand and they weigh only 45 to 60 gram for L or XL. I have 4 UTO singlets that weight under 30 grams, but I can't find them anymore.. Quick dry and most importantly is they don't hold as much sweat as most generic polyester singlets, very drippy. So end result is they don't get heavy at full sweat saturation, the rest of the sweat just drip down.
get from official or taobao cheaper ah? how is sizing?

WussRedXLi

is this suitable for home?what do you think for sg hdb context?

Just go fitness corner in your area before your cycling/running sessions to do. Infra all there already.

If you have trained for over 2 years consistently, and also i believe you are relatively young, you should be able to reach a level that you can start to aura farm at the fitness corner and with a physique that others want to take a second look. This additional bonus quite addictive one. 🤣

For the rings, just get on TB, i shared b4 with sales69. Around 20+ dollars only. Hook it to the monkey bar station or pull up bars station. Get the 32mm thicker dia ver

Only slight difference is that the video some exercises like pull up can do neutral grip. Sometimes, for some reasons, pull ups (pronated grip) might induce some pain over time and neutral grip might seem to be better. But usually supinated grip (chin ups) shd generally be ok enough. Possible problem areas are wrists, elbows, scapula/shoulder.

And yes, esp for my (Weighted) dips, i can sometimes next-day feel a bit of stress on my wrists but as of today i am still not injured. Just load progressively, the tendons need time to strengthen. Same concept in running and injuries.
My scapula and elbows are fine with dips tho. I read that some folks got issues with scapula due to what...stability issues when doing, esp when the dip depth is deep ie elbows bend lower than 90 deg. But basically i just do until 90 or mostly not that deep, maybe 70-80 deg is fine.

xllms

Nedao fansee spotted.

But nowadays for us here, need to change default addr to CN, then checkout that time change back to SG addr. All these i prefer direct ship, so no troubles fuss free. Last time no need.
thanks for sharing. next time i can use this approach to buy stuffs for my siblings and send directly to their home address. Half of my luggage for this trip is filled with their things 🤣

WussRedXLi

thanks for sharing. next time i can use this approach to buy stuffs for my siblings and send directly to their home address. Half of my luggage for this trip is filled with their things 🤣

Wah that means this method still not well known here in SG with buyers here. :oops:
But for some small number of items (eg Qiaodan shoes), it would not work as the error is different. But majority shd work.

Kuudere

Think just stick to 40-45cm is fine, focus on the movement quality, ie and speed and explosiveness conditioning, training the stretch shortening cycle, neuromuscular training etc. Tendon stiffness training shd be sufficient also.

Maybe maciam like strides, and to a certain extent Sprint Interval Training. So i think the goal is not focussed on volume .... Those are not intervals. Though of coz the studies do 60 reps total....but i am happy with slightly less like 30-40. Also not on toughness. As long as have that strides training kinda mindset, we shd be fine.
For next 2 months, i probably will stick to that. I can increase the difficulty if I wanted to easily.

I was talking to a few colleagues who were ex sprinters. Shorter distances apparently easier to get injured.
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/3578639/

Proven to be correct, assuming both sprinters and long distance/marathoners train the same amount of hours, sprinters/middle distance have 2x of the injury risk of long distance/marathoners.
I suspect is triple whammy.

I changed insoles on new shoes, then did not insert properly. (can feel a bump instead of flat)

Then that day feeling tired still die die wanna run 1k intervals. End up run slower than usual and can feel gait is off.

Next day jitao plantar pain. :(
Avoid wet/uneven running surfaces especially if you do hard runs, since it will increase the risk of plantar fasciitis.

Also, helps to take a short nap for recovery before hard runs if you run in the evening. Always helps me to hit the pace.

The camera shift to the 2nd place guy celebrating first place for 2 minutes, meanwhile the actual winner was humble and quietly walked away haha :ROFLMAO:

Joshua Cheptegei

Geoffrey Kamworor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.