Haha I am trying to think of the ideal mileage for my training block. Signed up for Hatyai 21. Will begin my training block on 1st March so that’s around 10 weeks of training.
I have a conservative mileage increment for my training block. I was averaging 70k/week for 2 months in Oct-Dec, though I started my training block at end September for my HM race.
Going into 18 week/55 miles, it will peak at 88km/week and the average mileage including taper and race week is 72km/week average. Should be manageable for me, because I am not changing it a lot from my previous block.
Will u be doing 15km or half at NTUC? haha. How's the training for your marathon in goldcoast? Hope your pfitz plan is going well!
15km only, I know 100% I willn't cramp during the race. The worst that can happen is GI issues, but I intend to fix this with early morning runs + gels.
I fell sick + left knee injury after doing 2 weeks. I was about to reach the end of 2 weeks then the left knee injury + illness persisted for a while.
Now, I am just on track to finish week 1, and then all the rain happened. But I have 2 runs to go then I am done for the week.
As with any sports pursuits, is generally the interest and making it as a hobby lah. So it becomes a lifestyle.
For some it might just be a hobby based pursuit, while for some, they find it interesting to chase performance goals/figures.
If for health gains, i know it is difficult to prioritise exercising sessions over other recreational interests in life or family commitments. But if family is able to do it together with you, it is easier.
Of coz, if the day job is demanding and/or commuting is jialat, then most bets are off. By the time if reach home is 8+ to 9+pm period already, no way. The next priority then is sleep. I feel the best is if can reach home by 7pm, so that quick shower and makan is 8pm you'd have free time already. So 8.30 earliest can go out. Either that or sleep early but wake up early the next morning.
Ya if you reach back at 8-9pm, it's better to eat dinner and then chill for the night. Maybe do strengthening exercises or plyometrics. Become a morning runner. It's much better since eating late means higher chance of GI issues. If you sleep late, no energy for work the next day.
I used the Pfitzinger entry plan in the first SCSM after covid (2023?), think it's the 18/55. It was really hard for slow runners like me. Trimp score was too much for me. I made it thru though, with thoughts of giving up and need for massage and foam rolling. I think this plan is suitable for those already in the sub 3:45 full marathon aiming for sub 3:30. I was a 4:30 then aiming for sub 4, but it got me to 4:18 then. Still I find it was too hard for my level. TAO has lesser TRIMP score for me, plan was easier, and it brought me to 4:14 without the urge to look for massage or foam rolling.
I guess the Pfitzinger plan should suit you, being a faster and stronger run.
I am going to follow this pace for pfitzinger:
recovery: 6.11
aerobic: 5.42
long run: 5.27
marathon: 4.57
LT: 4.13
I am going to try to space out the rest so that I can run without getting injuries. Interestingly, there's 8-15k race inside the plan. I am going to do the 15k race in income eco run, so that counts as one. Might run 10k and 8k for the other two respectively.
I have to monitor training load or TRIMP score as well. Will see how it goes, since I am aiming for sub 3:30 full marathon.