jogging and motivation thread

Tudo88

all the SEA marathon all start at 230 , only sg start at 430. I am keen to do the Da Nang Marathon , but need to see my CEO, whatever races she signs up , I need to accompany
Danang marathon next month wor. Think you need wait next year Liao. I wanted to go but kena injury

Tudo88

So frustrating when most recent HM performance indicates it is a realistic goal. I also checked two ladies runners with 10KM and HM PB slower can achieved sub 4. LOL. Endurance truly lacking.
I think you should know the reason. Your TAO training plan lack of long runs aka 28-32km runs. I think you need minimum 4 of these runs to be comfortable going into a marathon to hit your goal

WussRedXLi

So frustrating when most recent HM performance indicates it is a realistic goal. I also checked two ladies runners with 10KM and HM PB slower can achieved sub 4. LOL. Endurance truly lacking.

Actually for races, esp big scale races with very high participation rates, i really like and at the same time dont like the masses one.

1. Masses = fun, for sure. Atmosphere, can raise spirits up when the grinding gets tough.

2. Performance = Other than slow starts and whatnots, did i tell you someone just suddenly stepped out in front of me at AHM 2023 without checking and he continued to slowly jog ie not overtaking smartly, so i had to jam brake at around 4:00 pace flat? IIRC at the Marina Barrage bridge after turning left, that asphalt area frequent runners and esp cyclists (rolling down mah) would know even that asphalt area is ever so slightly downhill one. Then just along BEG just before Sheares bridge i got ITBS pain liao, whether anything to do with the jam brake, i dont know.

^^^^^^
For road cycling, such very slow overtaking and not checking prior, also not really zai/steady and can piss off other fellow cyclists. Vast majority of cyclists HATE braking, if not for safety reasons like avoiding cars or red lights...heck many of them will cheong even red lights. For me, i am always aware of this, hence i do check before "venturing out", even over at MBS area which is not even dedicated cycling lane or on the road. coz habit is there.
Really good habit to form, it's already like muscle memory for me, whereby on the road it's for survival, not only coz of cars but not holding your line would cause accidents with other cyclists on the leftmost same lane.
(can get shouted at by other cyclists one, coz high consequences)

Ok itchy finger, go ask AI. Sometimes also dont know whether true or not, this google AI. 🤣
Everything like also Yes yes yes......basket.

AI Overview
Yes, sudden hard braking during running can absolutely trigger Iliotibial Band Syndrome (ITBS), or cause a sudden flare-up of the condition. While ITBS is considered an overuse injury that usually develops over time, a sudden, high-intensity action like breaking sharply can cause immediate, acute irritation.
Torquay Sports Medicine Centre +3

Tudo88

OK bah...it’s all about value proposition. This Runsifly is being compared as a budget Asics Metaspeed for race days and its only costs 1/3 of a Metaspeed. Currently using my Xiaonians as an all round do it all instead of having multiple different types of shoes in the rotation. Much as i want to get a pair of Superblast 2 on the cheap from PDD, think i rather just get another pair of Xiaonians because they really are that damn good.
Lol I got Evo SL, Xiaonian and Lining redhare 9 ultra.

Evo SL retired at 600km. Out of these 3, I like lining the most. Very bouncy and responsive.

If I am going for a long run, red hare 9 ultra will be my choice for non plated shoe. I think Xiaonian is more like an easy day shoe for me but at 110 sgd, really can’t complain considering that Evo SL is 210 sgd

Sadisticnoob

I have a conservative mileage increment for my training block. I was averaging 70k/week for 2 months in Oct-Dec, though I started my training block at end September for my HM race.

Going into 18 week/55 miles, it will peak at 88km/week and the average mileage including taper and race week is 72km/week average. Should be manageable for me, because I am not changing it a lot from my previous block.

15km only, I know 100% I willn't cramp during the race. The worst that can happen is GI issues, but I intend to fix this with early morning runs + gels.

I fell sick + left knee injury after doing 2 weeks. I was about to reach the end of 2 weeks then the left knee injury + illness persisted for a while.

Now, I am just on track to finish week 1, and then all the rain happened. But I have 2 runs to go then I am done for the week.

Ya if you reach back at 8-9pm, it's better to eat dinner and then chill for the night. Maybe do strengthening exercises or plyometrics. Become a morning runner. It's much better since eating late means higher chance of GI issues. If you sleep late, no energy for work the next day.

I am going to follow this pace for pfitzinger:

recovery: 6.11
aerobic: 5.42
long run: 5.27
marathon: 4.57
LT: 4.13

I am going to try to space out the rest so that I can run without getting injuries. Interestingly, there's 8-15k race inside the plan. I am going to do the 15k race in income eco run, so that counts as one. Might run 10k and 8k for the other two respectively. :ROFLMAO:

I have to monitor training load or TRIMP score as well. Will see how it goes, since I am aiming for sub 3:30 full marathon.
talking about training load, i think it is not a good performance indicator for me, i can suddenly increase my load, but I dont feel really fatigued. At least for cycling, for running , I go try to see if can suddenly increase load.

0yNuIOE.jpeg

Sadisticnoob

Actually for races, esp big scale races with very high participation rates, i really like and at the same time dont like the masses one.
1. Masses = fun, for sure. Atmosphere, can raise spirits up when the grinding gets tough.
2. Performance = did i tell you someone just suddenly stepped out in front of me at AHM 2023 without checking and he continued to slowly jog ie not overtaking smartly, so i had to jam brake at around 4:00 pace flat? IIRC at the Marina Barrage bridge after turning left, that asphalt area frequent runners and esp cyclists (rolling down mah) would know even that asphalt area is ever so slightly downhill one. Then just along BEG just before Sheares bridge i got ITBS pain liao, whether anything to do with the jam brake, i dont know.

^^^^^^
For road cycling, such very slow overtaking and not checking prior, also not really zai/steady and can piss off other fellow cyclists. For me, i do check before "venturing out", even over at MBS area which is not even dedicated cycling lane or on the road.

Ok itchy finger, go ask AI. Sometimes also dont know whether true or not, this google AI. 🤣
Everything like also Yes yes yes......basket.

AI Overview
Yes, sudden hard braking during running can absolutely trigger Iliotibial Band Syndrome (ITBS), or cause a sudden flare-up of the condition. While ITBS is considered an overuse injury that usually develops over time, a sudden, high-intensity action like breaking sharply can cause immediate, acute irritation.
Torquay Sports Medicine Centre +3
I personally dont cycle on PCN, alot of bobo people around GTBB area . I scared to crash inside PCN seen alot happen.

For road racing , is more tricky I just avoid people who "look tired"

Tudo88

I personally dont cycle on PCN, alot of bobo people around GTBB area . I scared to crash inside PCN seen alot happen.

Now that I work around that area, I always run there after work. Hardly see those professional cyclists at that timing. Mostly is those hellobike tourists.

I always look behind when running lol. Afraid those cyclists just buang into me.

WussRedXLi

Ya if you reach back at 8-9pm, it's better to eat dinner and then chill for the night. Maybe do strengthening exercises or plyometrics. Become a morning runner. It's much better since eating late means higher chance of GI issues. If you sleep late, no energy for work the next day.

Even if no GI issues, going out after 9.30pm sure affect sleep to a certain degree. Personally i no issue even if i return at 11-12mn and then sleep at 1am if it's a long but easy ride.
But any workouts unless if you can get out to do at 8 = good luck sleeping.

It's the adrenaline. Coz there were times in which i raced with boy boys on fixies or PMDs or heck even PMAs (some can go nearly 40kmh one, met before at BEG lol), couldnt sleep, even though length is only 1.5km BEG, then cross MB bridge and after that is GBTB, not say race lah......but "pacing". 🤣

WussRedXLi

Yeah...... actually witnessed 2x SCDF ambulance episodes,, i shared before photo of the ambulance, runner and bicycle too for the GBTB one near the toilet area, the bends. I think hand broke for the runner coz of the way she was trying to support the hand, she was sitting on the cycling lane.

The other crash i witnessed was at Bay East Garden near the Marina Barrage bridge, the slope down + the slight curves there quite tricky if one is not paying attention and not "keeping left" from their respective directions.
That one i saw the crash directly, i cannot forget the crash sound, quite scary actually......i do drive but cars different coz got protection. Bikes vs bikes head on is.... ouch.

sph777

I have a conservative mileage increment for my training block. I was averaging 70k/week for 2 months in Oct-Dec, though I started my training block at end September for my HM race.

Going into 18 week/55 miles, it will peak at 88km/week and the average mileage including taper and race week is 72km/week average. Should be manageable for me, because I am not changing it a lot from my previous block.

15km only, I know 100% I willn't cramp during the race. The worst that can happen is GI issues, but I intend to fix this with early morning runs + gels.

I fell sick + left knee injury after doing 2 weeks. I was about to reach the end of 2 weeks then the left knee injury + illness persisted for a while.

Now, I am just on track to finish week 1, and then all the rain happened. But I have 2 runs to go then I am done for the week.

I am going to follow this pace for pfitzinger:

recovery: 6.11
aerobic: 5.42
long run: 5.27
marathon: 4.57
LT: 4.13

I am going to try to space out the rest so that I can run without getting injuries. Interestingly, there's 8-15k race inside the plan. I am going to do the 15k race in income eco run, so that counts as one. Might run 10k and 8k for the other two respectively. :ROFLMAO:

I have to monitor training load or TRIMP score as well. Will see how it goes, since I am aiming for sub 3:30 full marathon.
all the best! Sounds tough but very doable for u! Hope the injuries are behind u

sph777

Now that I work around that area, I always run there after work. Hardly see those professional cyclists at that timing. Mostly is those hellobike tourists.

I always look behind when running lol. Afraid those cyclists just buang into me.
I just keep to the running lane and try not to cross over to the centre but then again I run at 4-5 plus am so not many ppl. The scariest actually is sometimes got ebike at high speeds.

WussRedXLi

Wow.......great weather. Was 23.7 deg C just now at 6+ (22+ deg at midnight to 3am :oops: ), think at my additional elevation it might be 22.7-23.0 deg C.

3 x strides. 3x sprints, 10 mins zone 2 and then 18 mins threshold....no dripping sweat down arms or body at all, just normal perspiration on the skin. :love:

This kind of weather, dont want to get out to do sessions also difficult. 🤣
Hope later late afternoon also got extended + widespread rain, for tomorrow's fun weekend.

WussRedXLi

I just keep to the running lane and try not to cross over to the centre but then again I run at 4-5 plus am so not many ppl. The scariest actually is sometimes got ebike at high speeds.

Yeah the PMDs, most are actually "ok", they do "high beam" from behind and then for me it's just enough to check and quicky shift a bit more to the left and then they overtake. Im talking about even though im on the bike. Then on Marina Barrage bridge areas or something, usually they jitao high beam all the way (yes might get semi blinded, but i'd rather get semi blinded but can shift and keep extreme left than to die die keep centreline), just keep extreme left, usually non issue they know what to do.

On rare occasions, can get PMAs aka motorised wheelchairs doing 30-35kmh one. lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.