jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

sub-20 5k!?! :ROFLMAO:

Or start with 9:40 for 2.4, easier ba. Then rep it 2 times in a set. :grin:
It's not too dissimilar with cycling on WCH, doing both directions....i used the same knowledge/RPE to aid my pacing.

The longevity / cardio benefits would still be largely there.

As usual if you remember when you started running years ago, the beginner phase would be "painful" as it is a new way to run/train, but ultimately after 3-4 weeks you'd start to get used to it, 3-4 months you will see results.

The same with running faster.....

The same when i started cycling, even though i could run, initially my muscles were so tight and i wasnt able to go fast. After 3-4 months, good to go and improvements come nicely coz already have training knowledge.

You adapt, the body is beautiful. Unless if one has some predisposed genetics for muscles and mitochondiral/lungs/heart systems that together effectively brings his VO2max ceiling to below 50, then quite difficult.

WussRedXLi

Last time when I was 14, my pb was 17:06 for ~4.8km (?) cross country.

Then I failed IPPTs during reservist.

Now I run much more frequently, but will never ever be able to get back to that pace. :ROFLMAO:

Dafug, you another ex-cheongster, age 14 already like 18 min flat 5k. :oops:

Another "attribute" i find with young cyclists (or even fixies) is that they are very willing to try things, to risk, to cheong. Like no loss no limits mindset. Cheeseburger one time on WCH at like just before 7am i had a fixie pacing and drafting me and cheonging downhill (clementi) high cadence at nearly 60kmh no helmet and all. I no problem one, coz if crosswheel is he buang not i buang, but then i scared he buang coz he no helmet.

xllms

999af0faacf9a299274c515cace02a2e.png

xllms

Now I run much more frequently, but will never ever be able to get back to that pace. :ROFLMAO:
wah, C div 17:06 4.8km should be able to get into top 5 depending on the year.

sales69

This evening saw 2 reps from Dynafish at Bedok Reservoir.

Should be in collaboration with Tampines Safra running club.

They present Xiaonian to them and can trial run. Brought along the full colourways, White, Black and Red/Yellow.

Good to see the brand doing promotion and hopefully they get bigger and introduce more quality products.

Next time can see more people wearing primary school white shoes. :s13:

Actually look pretty good for casual wear too!

Kuudere

My bro actually was top 20 during Wings, but didn't do that well in A div. He ran 17.37 for the 4.8km and got top 20. Fastest was 16.08.

Maintained his performance throughout NS while peers failed IPPT.

Participated in an overseas malaysia race also 4.8km and ran your time and PB at the age of 27 last year. He was the third fastest in the race.

He ran a lot more mileage (60+k/week) to build up for it.

**Also, you time would have been 12th place for A division in Wings cross country.

WussRedXLi

Initial VO2max 35.3 150 watts 166bpm HR
After 12 weeks VO2max 40.0 (+13.3% improvement) 170 watts 166bpm HR
Long story cut short, her graphs also got "shifted right".

Weekly structure
1 x 45 mins easy
1 session of Norwegian 4 x 4 (VO2max) work rest 1:1 ratio. I think they include the 4 mins rest as training time also since there is power produced, so total 32 mins
2 x strength sessions per week

xllms

Or start with 9:40 for 2.4, easier ba. Then rep it 2 times in a set. :grin:
It's not too dissimilar with cycling on WCH, doing both directions....i used the same knowledge/RPE to aid my pacing.

The longevity / cardio benefits would still be largely there.

As usual if you remember when you started running years ago, the beginner phase would be "painful" as it is a new way to run/train, but ultimately after 3-4 weeks you'd start to get used to it, 3-4 months you will see results.

The same with running faster.....

The same when i started cycling, even though i could run, initially my muscles were so tight and i wasnt able to go fast. After 3-4 months, good to go and improvements come nicely coz already have training knowledge.

You adapt, the body is beautiful. Unless if one has some predisposed genetics for muscles and mitochondiral/lungs/heart systems that together effectively brings his VO2max ceiling to below 50, then quite difficult.
when I started running years ago, running/sprinting/striding were so much easier
6 x 100m (15s)
4 x 400m (75s)
were a piece of cake :ROFLMAO:

to achieve 9:40 for 2.4km, that's an average 4min/km pace. Not impossible, but plenty of dedication, focus and work for old folks...if achieve this then it will be well within reach to go below 25min for 5km.

xllms

6th nia. There were more siao kias way ahead of me
already a good achievement. what were your mileage during those days.

i can still remember the X-country team runners in my sec sch doing 5km runs daily (before or after school) and 12-15km during one of the weekends at macritchie reservoir during non-competitive period (barest minimum). Towards national cross country races, they have to clock 100km/week.

ctstalin

already a good achievement. what were your mileage during those days.

i can still remember the X-country team runners in my sec sch will do 5km runs daily (before or after school) and 12-15km during one of the weekends at macritchie reservoir during non-competitive period (barest minimum). Towards national cross country races, they have to clock 100km/week.

Old man here now. That was 24 years ago. last time never track these things.

Coach say run, we just run. Training was at 3 times a week on weekdays and then a weekend long run at macritchie at least 5k up to 12k.

That was my most successful year, scrapped a medal position in x-country, won a gold and bronze and national tracks and fields c'ships.

Then I fell out of love with running pretty quickly after that and the decline followed :s13:

Tudo88

Coach say run, we just run. Training was at 3 times a week on weekdays and then a weekend long run at macritchie at least 5k up to 12k.

That was my most successful year, scrapped a medal position in x-country, won a gold and bronze and national tracks and fields c'ships.

Then I fell out of love with running pretty quickly after that and the decline followed :s13:
Means you around 38-40? Doable la to regain your peak if you really want. You got the athletic ability already haha

xllms

very good achievements to snag medals in national track and fields c'ships & x-country. with this base, running long distance is rather second nature to you. salute!

WussRedXLi

when I started running years ago, running/sprinting/striding were so much easier
6 x 100m (15s)
4 x 400m (75s)
were a piece of cake :ROFLMAO:

to achieve 9:40 for 2.4km, that's an average 4min/km pace. Not impossible, but plenty of dedication, focus and work for old folks...if achieve this then it will be well within reach to go below 25min for 5km.

Yeah need some dedication and focus on specific training, it's not a 150 mins or even 300 mins/week @ MICT level, general Health Promo Board challenge thingy where you spam duration z1 z2 can liao. 🤣

But then, also actually no need to be fully structured even, as long as more or less the structure and variation is there....... got a bit of VO2max work, comparatively more LT2 work, log in your easy miles/long runs (dont even have to be super long or time consuming, even 8km is very decent and works coz that is what i have been doing), lock in your sleep (that's 50% of the whole equation) rinse repeat can liao. Do those tests that i posted recently, and if strength or neuromuscular is weak then try to raise those limiters as well with explosive strength, plyo, strides and possibly hill sprints.
No need to aim for 16 weeks or 24 weeks or 36 weeks plan and put stress on yourself, it'll come eventually.

If still cannot reach, that might be some genetic limiter like lower VO2max ceiling. This one bo bian.

Only some issue for middle aged adults is like whether work schedule allows or not, coz must be on your toes to prevent tio pok and i know in my office there are folks who purposely stay until 8pm, mgmt also just implemented puctuality core value, so 1 minute late also frowned upon and there is clock in nowadays (toxic sia). Such circumstances also bo bian.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.