jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

i see some of his videos and follow some of his recommend strengthing exercises.. maybe i am not dillgent enough.. lol

Just wondering, you train somewhat close to failure (maybe 1 or 2 reps in reserve) for your main exercises like calves, quads, glutes right? Or you train lightweight and just do X mumber of sets and Y number of reps and call it a day. I see many many runners do this......a key way to tell is that their last 1 or 2 reps, the speed is very shun one, no slow down no nothing. Face / body not stressed, swee swee going thru motion.......

Another thing might due to plyometrics....not sure if you do. The instantaneous peak loading you can get is much higher also.

WussRedXLi

i see some of his videos and follow some of his recommend strengthing exercises.. maybe i am not dillgent enough.. lol

Anyway, i'll just leave you the vids, feeling sleepy already, going to sleep very soon as tomorrow very early session. 😅 Top one by Global Triathlon Network is easier to digest and more layman. Second more in depth by a physio.
Both for injury prevention and performance.

xllms

@xllms @Tudo88 and other Coros users. The coming firmware update quite major upgrade. Lucky Coros pace 3 also getting it despite being one gen old.

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2026/03/software-strategy-guidance.html

COROS Spring 2026 Software Update Adds Race Pace Strategy, Climb Guidance, and more!​

UntitledImage-10.png
thanks for sharing. Just updated. Will play around and see how this works, especially how the watch keep the runner at his/her planned race pacr during the run

Kuudere

Yeah Garmin race predictor way off. Coros one not bad although it’s predicting I can do 3:05 hahaha
I think runalyze is quite good at predicting the conservative estimate. It takes into marathon shape, which is weekly running mileage and long run volume. Right now, it predicts me to be 3.47 marathon time. :ROFLMAO:
No point in developing running in Singapore. The only glory they can bring to Singapore is SEA Games honour. If you can compete minimally Asian Games level, I think Singapore may nurture you haha.

The only pathway for amateur elite runners is really thru social media like RuntoJapan, Ben Felton, Nick Bester all these. China got many amateur elite runners doing this
It's worth even if you can't get in asian games competitor. If you can get sea games winner from overseas, it's a good start.

I think it can also be recruiting overseas students come to sg to study. There was 1 postgraduate student 10 years back that ran really fast in local uni IVP. I remembered that guy to be running faster than our local SEA games 5k/10k representative.

Bringing fast runners under sports scholarship, can help. Or best is for them to train abroad and then represent Singapore when it matters.

With stronger competition in Sg, I am quite sure more people will strive to improve more. :LOL:
My rule of thumb is for every 100km you run per week, do 2 hours of strengthening + plyometrics + stretching per week. If you run less than that, you can scale proportionally to the 2 hours.

My medium long run @Ender

I started at 7.53pm, finished around 9.40pm. Finished dinner by 10.15pm. I am now having supper at 11.40pm. I am certain that I can still get 7 hours of sleep, just need to be very disciplined.

Screenshot-2026-04-01-233942.png

WussRedXLi

The last stage

Pity the girls, and our national team there.
Heng they not racing @ Northern thailand (truly smoked out). Starting it was 97.7 ug/m3 for PM2.5, or around AQI 180 if i brain converted correctly.

wSnIpJO.jpg

1yJzb8H.jpg

WussRedXLi

I started at 7.53pm, finished around 9.40pm. Finished dinner by 10.15pm. I am now having supper at 11.40pm. I am certain that I can still get 7 hours of sleep, just need to be very disciplined.

Screenshot-2026-04-01-233942.png

I think you can as you are young and might possibly not have the sleep issues that plague the older folks like me, as long as you can hit the 7hrs and also min 2hrs deep sleep and possibly min 3 hrs light sleep.

I also like night workouts, but unfortunately from my own testing, i dont think it is optimal, even for easy sessions. Still would affect even for easy sessions. And i cannot push it before 8pm, my place here is a total nightmare, be it traffic or PCN. In fact just a few nights ago i nearly got involved in 2 PCN accidents on the dedicated cycling lane during my 8.15pm session (usually i'd get out of home at 9-9.15pm).

You can ask sph777, he will tell you the same thing. 🤣 🤣

I am going to change everything to early morning sessions liao, see if it helps my performance. Coz i am also not merely training for running/cycling, but also after gains in my fundamental calisthenics and also things like BSS, split stance RDL.
It seems doable i am able to fit things in (also simply coz i run to work which is nearby 1km away), as long as i sleep by 10pm (I slept at 9pm last night) i will be able to wake up at 5.30am latest.

We do so much training follow this and that plan pay so much for coaching for some even, fuel so nicely and follow nutritional plan so closely, buy so many shoes for some, but without PROPER recovery which is also one of the MAIN pillars, is really wasted one.

But of coz, still testing in progress for me. I am not sure if it translates into better performance.
Really need to test it out in reality and see if the theory holds.

Last night.
Sleep was better than 82% of other users in their database. No night session last night.

BTW, the first and second big chunk of deep sleep is very important, best for it to be as "wide" as possible. It's all the good stuff that are found here, from CNS recovery to HGH release by the pituitary gland to muscle tissue repair, everything. This is the peak recovery for us.

9iX1bZo.jpg

cHTo3No.jpg

WussRedXLi

Issue for night sessions is not that i cannot get to bed and lie down by 12 or 12:30 midnight, as the next morning i can rise as late as 8:30am and still arrive at work at 9am, then i'd go makan, do my milo etc.

The issue is that the actual sleep logged and sleep report all would be totally dismal. ie You lie in bed for 7.5 - 8hrs, yes that is true and looks good on paper..... "Oh, i have slept 7.5hrs, power liao i am "recovered".
But you deep and light sleep total no more than 4 hrs, and actual sleep time 5 to 5.5hrs. The remaining is like zombie lie on the bed nia.

^^^^^^^^
The hormones cortisol and adrenaline aside, not sure if it is also tied to the post workout fueling. Also, the insulin theorectically might be slightly elevated throughout the night (hormonal issue).......those interested can check this out, there are some who are wearing CGMs.

And yes, after waking up, i am still feeling tired. 9am Reach office need to hoot 3 scoops of Nescafe gold and 4 scoops milo if not 10am i still zombie.

Just now was morning workout session, 5:39am wake up, i rode 67km, of which 23km was LT2 effort, the rest easy.
Now i still haven't drank my coffee / caffeine yet.......and not feeling tired. 🤣
I think after lunch then drink.

WussRedXLi

Heh....... boi boi so motivated

No wonder SRY said during SEA games last Dec, the youngsters brought their 10 years series over there to do.

WussRedXLi

Geez, more important than i had originally thought. (from an older pax pov, already affected with declining testesterone levels in the first place)

Yes, getting enough sleep is crucial for maintaining and increasing testosterone levels. Testosterone production peaks during REM sleep and deep sleep stages, and sleeping less than five hours per night can reduce testosterone by 10% to 15%. Conversely, prioritizing 7–8 hours of quality sleep helps optimize hormone levels.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +4
Key Findings on Sleep and Testosterone:
  • Optimal Duration: Men who sleep 7–8 hours nightly have higher testosterone compared to those who sleep five hours or less.
  • Sleep Deprivation Impact: Just one week of restricted sleep (e.g., 5 hours per night) can significantly lower daytime testosterone.
  • Deep Sleep Importance: Testosterone production is highest during deep sleep phases, which occur after roughly 90 minutes of sleep, particularly during the first REM cycle.
  • The Inverted U-Shape: Studies indicate that while insufficient sleep reduces testosterone, too much sleep (over 9.9 hours) may also show a decline in testosterone and muscle function, suggesting an optimal "middle ground".
    National Institutes of Health (.gov) +5

sph777

I think you can as you are young and might possibly not have the sleep issues that plague the older folks like me, as long as you can hit the 7hrs and also min 2hrs deep sleep and possibly min 3 hrs light sleep.

I also like night workouts, but unfortunately from my own testing, i dont think it is optimal, even for easy sessions. Still would affect even for easy sessions. And i cannot push it before 8pm, my place here is a total nightmare, be it traffic or PCN. In fact just a few nights ago i nearly got involved in 2 PCN accidents on the dedicated cycling lane during my 8.15pm session (usually i'd get out of home at 9-9.15pm).

You can ask sph777, he will tell you the same thing. 🤣 🤣

I am going to change everything to early morning sessions liao, see if it helps my performance. Coz i am also not merely training for running/cycling, but also after gains in my fundamental calisthenics and also things like BSS, split stance RDL.
It seems doable i am able to fit things in (also simply coz i run to work which is nearby 1km away), as long as i sleep by 10pm (I slept at 9pm last night) i will be able to wake up at 5.30am latest.

We do so much training follow this and that plan pay so much for coaching for some even, fuel so nicely and follow nutritional plan so closely, buy so many shoes for some, but without PROPER recovery which is also one of the MAIN pillars, is really wasted one.

But of coz, still testing in progress for me. I am not sure if it translates into better performance.
Really need to test it out in reality and see if the theory holds.

Last night.
Sleep was better than 82% of other users in their database. No night session last night.

BTW, the first and second big chunk of deep sleep is very important, best for it to be as "wide" as possible. It's all the good stuff that are found here, from CNS recovery to HGH release by the pituitary gland to muscle tissue repair, everything. This is the peak recovery for us.

9iX1bZo.jpg

cHTo3No.jpg
Our side is either late (after 9pm) or early (4-6am), if not, human traffic is insane

WussRedXLi

Got environmental sounds in this video. More realistic than the lifestream

Elizabeth Liau
She got 3rd in the best ASEAN rider (based on cumulative individual timing from the 3 stages if i am not wrong). But of coz this is just across the various ASEAN countries/teams, excluding cycling club teams national teams from australia, khazakstan, ubekistan, russian, various chinese cycling teams.

hhLJ2Vn.jpg

HQhxl0c.jpg

Got 6th in stage 3, just got pipped by Li Ning Star Ladies cycling team

SCl5M3z.jpg

WussRedXLi

Our side is either late (after 9pm) or early (4-6am), if not, human traffic is insane

Running clubs and recreational joggers aside, i think also partly due to the last 9pm water fountain show, and also the GBTB Supertree showtime at 8.45pm and also 7.45pm. Also with these shows, got the associated Hellobikes, going for short joyride at BEG esp after the 7.45 and 8pm shows which are significantly more crowded than the 8.45/9pm one (still a lot of people tho).

huattoeat

Running lab shoe donation is back!

Anybody know how strict their criteria is? My old shoe can give back anot for $$ anot? No holes, just worn out from running nia

rECKleSSfElla

is asics superblast 2 very firm? I intend to buy 1 for recovery run. Evo SL i heard is very unstable due to the lack of plate / rods
EVO SL's reputation for not being the most stable of shoes out there is not due to the lack of plate/rods. If anything, the EVO SL has a piece of midfoot shank embedded but still people are complaining about the stability. Plenty of non-plated shoes out there that does not have complains about stability like the EVO SL does so lack of plate is not to root issue.

Personally i dont own the EVO SL or ran in them but i tried them in stores and i instantly knew its not the shoe for me. I find the surface area of the mid foot down to heel is too narrow and gives you a feeling of walking on stilts. Not a shoe for heel strikers, not a shoe for heavy set runners and not a shoe for beginners/recreational runners without a good base or strong core.

WussRedXLi

is asics superblast 2 very firm? I intend to buy 1 for recovery run. Evo SL i heard is very unstable due to the lack of plate / rods

Actually just check the chinese youtube vids and get a normal chinese daily trainer for for your slower recovery paces. Also would be quite suitable for the vast majority of joggers' paces for their easy pace runs actually.
The issue is not only $$$, but the possibility of it being "too fast" and "pushing" you too fast for your recovery days. End up you are not "training correctly"....... but of coz if you are an ok fast runner say 5k 20 mins / 10k 40 mins, this would be largely a non-issue. Recovery is truly for recovery, dont turn it into a workout.

If need the branding factor, get something from Li Ning would be great, their colourways are great.

Even when i was peak in my running last time, i'd never have thought of wearing a Superblast for recovery. Not even for easy actually. 😅 (but it is still very suitable for long easy runs, it's a high stack supertrainer)

You need to go down to the store to try, different pple have different perception. For me, i like softies, and yes it is not a soft shoe so, esp for the normal recreational jogger's recovery paces of closer to 9-10min/km coz you are not really stepping into the foam if that makes sense. If you can run your recovery at 7:00 to even as fast as 5:30-6:00 pace, then sure why not if you can only have 1 shoe. Coz then easy paces of 5:00 or below would feel great in this shoe. Same goes to the original Superblast.

WussRedXLi

3hr and 6hr runner differences

Both would benefit from 90-100g/hr intake.

Misconception of most amateur runners for race day : I am not running as fast, i dont need to fuel / fuel as much as i am very fat optimized.

Further complicated by insufficient carb loading and not eating before the race (overnight your liver is already 70-80% depleted of its glycogen, with the muscle glycogen largely intact).

Females might benefit from in-race fueling even more as they tend to store less glycogen than males.

Of coz if just running for fun timing not big focus on that then no issue lah, got consume can already.

fwgsmk7.jpg

eOG2Agg.jpg

Cnc9DkU.jpg

MpHtlYH.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.