jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Half Marathon distance aiming 23kmh. (2:37 min/km)

Sprint = 100m 10 secs

Wow......the way they bonk. :oops:

In 5 more years, i think can sustain 2:00 min/km pace stably for a few good KMs and be very useful in similar situations.

WussRedXLi

Terrible this morning too. 6AM +

Lowest was 28 deg C and 89% RH, meaning 33.8 deg C heat index temperature.
That's in clementi

In AMK it was 28.5 deg C and 87% RH, or 34.9 deg C heat index temp.

Terok 😅

At night can forget it, even at 10pm i think confirm no less than 35 deg C heat index.

Also last night switched on AC, could not tahan even with the fan. Partly "heat training", party trying to reduce energy consumption due to US-Iran War. 🤣 😅

Gezuz, now 10am, old CCK road already 41 deg C heat index (32.1, 71%).

This morning AMK 6AM+ lowest 27.0 90% RH
Heat Index 31.3 deg C

Compare this with Tue's AMK heat index 34.9 deg C (28.5 87%) at the same time.

WussRedXLi

Summary​

This video centers on the specialized coaching approach for older cyclists, particularly those aged 40 and above, addressing the unique challenges and strategies needed to optimize performance while balancing life’s demands. The discussion features Will Harper, founder of Duchy Coaching, and Alex, a coach with professional cycling and sports science experience. They emphasize tailored coaching for mature athletes who often juggle high-stress jobs, family responsibilities, and limited training time, contrasting significantly with younger, full-time athletes.

Key Insights​

• Target Audience: Duchy Coaching primarily serves cyclists in their 40s to 70s, often professionals with busy lifestyles, limited training time (sometimes as little as 3 hours per week), and high cognitive loads.
  • Coaching Philosophy: The coaching approach is adaptive and highly individualized, focusing on weaving efficient and effective cycling training into athletes' demanding lives.
  • Former Pro Coaches: The team comprises seven former professional cyclists, including Olympians and world championship medalists, bringing high-caliber expertise and practical experience.
  • Balancing Life and Training: Older athletes face the challenge of integrating training with work, family, and travel stresses, requiring flexible and realistic training plans.

Differences Between Older and Younger Athletes​

AspectYounger Athletes (e.g., Collegiate/Pro)Older Athletes (40+)
Recovery & SleepEasier recovery, longer sleep durationShorter sleep duration, more recovery challenges, possible sleep apnea
Life ConstraintsFewer responsibilities, mostly focused on sportFamily, job, travel, and other stressors
Training VolumeCan train many hours (e.g., 5-6 hours daily)Limited training time (e.g., 3 hours weekly)
Mental ShiftSports-centered lifestyleNeed to balance training with many life demands
Nervous System StressMainly training stressTraining plus life stress accumulate, raising cortisol
Ability to Sustain High LoadHigh tolerance for frequent hard sessionsNeed for more recovery days and easier riding

Core Coaching Strategies for Older Athletes​

• Training Variety:
    Older athletes require greater variety in training stimulito avoid plateaus. Unlike younger athletes who can adapt to repetitive, systematic training, older physiology benefits from varied intensity, cadence, and interval formats, including:
    • Short, sharp big gear efforts
    • Frequent changes in cadence
    • Strength and conditioning sessions
    • Sprint intervals alternating with steady-state work
  • Intensity Approach:
    Contrary to common belief, older athletes need substantial high-intensity training—often more than younger athletes—to combat anabolic resistance and aging effects. Soft or overly gentle training leads to faster decline.
    • High-intensity work is essential to maintain adaptation and performance.
    • However, this must be balanced with increased rest and recovery.
  • Rest and Recovery:
    Recovery is critical and must be emphasized morethan in younger athletes. Older athletes require:
    • More frequent and longer rest periods
    • Periodized training plans with polarized intensity (hard days interspersed with easy days)
    • Attention to recovery modalities and stress management
  • Holistic Stress Management:
    Coaches account for the sum total of all stressors—training, work, family, travel—which affect the nervous system and recovery.
    • Elevated cortisol from life stress can blunt training adaptation.
    • Managing workload outside training is vital to avoid burnout or non-adaptive states.
  • Nutrition and Health Monitoring:
    Nutrition and physiological health are emphasized:
    • Proper fueling to support training and recovery
    • Regular blood panels to monitor hormones and overall health
    • Maintaining muscle mass to support testosterone levels, especially critical for aging males

Case Study: Nigel from Dubai​

• Initial Approach: Reduced training hours, increased fueling, and periodized intensity tailored around a travel-heavy, stressful job.
  • Outcome: Within one year, Nigel increased his threshold power by over 50 watts and qualified for Grand Fondo World Championships in the top 10% of his age group.
  • Key Takeaway: Small, strategic adjustments in volume, intensity, and nutrition can yield significant performance improvements in older athletes.

Additional Observations​

• Mental Challenges: Many older athletes struggle with the mental shift from a high-volume, pro-like training mindset to a balanced, sustainable approach.
  • Technology Caution:Over-reliance on wearable data (e.g., Whoop, Oura Ring) can mislead athletes. Coaches stress listening to body signals over blindly following metrics.
    • Example: An athlete ignoring unfavorable device scores still performed well in competition, underlining the need for intuition and contextual awareness.
  • Sustainability Over Quick Gains: Rapid improvements can lead to burnout or plateaus if training is not carefully managed within life’s broader stress context.

Conclusion​

Effective coaching for older cyclists requires a nuanced blend of high-intensity training, increased variety, and significantly more rest, all integrated with an understanding of their complex life stressors. Listening to the body, managing total stress load, and adapting plans dynamically are key to sustained success and performance gains in this demographic. Duchy Coaching exemplifies this approach through their specialized programs and experienced coaching team, helping mature athletes maximize their cycling potential within real-world constraints.

cherynsq

Went to see dermatologist regarding my heat rash . She advice not to run for now as medically fit vs physical condition is different

It’s like saying you are 99% full , you can still eat . But it’s up to you whether you want it or not

WussRedXLi

@xllms

Bro, the calling is getting stronger. :whistle:

If my kid taller a bit, i'll buy liao. Then can mix use with him.
Alas......still a bit far for his height.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?abbucket=14&id=1030153032209&mi_id=0000MJecxdcSmNx3tO2QqG4loNWHE52yU1FID0IzoKmfzFw&ns=1&priceTId=2147843917763298337873707e132e&skuId=6205896454320&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.3&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"38c91b23ee3db37ae62d731ba644163c"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

O1CN01j1rIl81UcSLRkW55e_!!400722538.png

xllms

very good looking bicycle and looks similar to the one pointed out to you previously
price @ RMB13k with shimano 24speed T800 carbon fibre
good as first bike, but feels maybe abit ex.
one of my first reaction when i see the bike side elevation, the part with the word CAMP is so thick, can hide a battery pack within to make it into an eBike 😂

WussRedXLi

Zhar boh sub 4:00 pace

Their standard scary shiat even for girls. She only got 11th place for females. Recreational runners realm.

Then you see the 3 guys in the group vlogging and pacing her, chatting and general sightseeing vibes with no breathing sounds.

cherynsq

This weather is not suitable for run . I double check with a senior consultant in respiratory function and he straight told me to avoid

noinimod

This weather is not suitable for run . I double check with a senior consultant in respiratory function and he straight told me to avoid
Ya nowadays the weather is too crazy. Can only run in early morning before sun set or at night when it's totally dark. Any other timing with the slightest appearance of sunlight is killer

WussRedXLi

I think the shift from night sessions to early morning sessions with more sleep and better quality with more deep wave/light sleep really helps. Based on the same training structure. Might have more positive feedback loop going on too.

Noticed that my zone 2 paces really improved. Cycling 30kmh on the drops only is around 115 bpm now.
Running also.

This morning no running workout just too warm, shifted to short run to prime legs + 38km LT1-LT2 cycling.
Tried to aim for IPPT pass mark last time 12:30 - 12:40 range. 🤣

AoRUQaR.jpg

WussRedXLi

Dont run too long too hard. Train via other ways. AC room treadmill running, or cycling (in which there is much more cooling and you can bring more water with ice and also refill along the way)

WussRedXLi

Kim Chuan Road now 41.7 deg C heat index (33.1 65% RH).

I remember back in 2016 tailing end of Super El Nino, same period in Apr, it 10-11am could get to 43-44 deg C heat index. Lagi warmer. Sometimes got transient peaks in the 45-46 deg C range (heat index temperature) at some stations like CCK.

But still better than in Philippines, heat index temps of comfortably over 50 deg C.

WussRedXLi

very good looking bicycle and looks similar to the one pointed out to you previously
one of my first reaction when i see the bike side elevation, the part with the word CAMP is so thick, can hide a battery pack within to make it into an eBi
one of my first reaction when i see the bike side elevation, the part with the word CAMP is so thick, can hide a battery pack within to make it into an eBike 😂

Is T800 as base but some important specific parts like the bottom bracket/front end stiffened with Toray M40 and the Shimano ultegra version (different frame from the 105) stiffened by 90T.
Anyway, even the 105 version T800 + M40 is plenty stiff even for sprints of our amateur levels, the differences are really miniscue.

kDk31xA.jpg

eVkq8sf.jpg

Also borrowed some cues from the Factor One i guess. If CAMP make the front fork lagi wide a bit, then they'd have an absolute winner.

Factor-One-Premium-Package-Road-Frameset-Nimbus-Gr-0144.webp

2026-factor-one-dec-2025.jpg

xllms

Is T800 as base but some important specific parts like the bottom bracket/front end stiffened with Toray M40 and the Shimano ultegra version (different frame from the 105) stiffened by 90T.
Anyway, even the 105 version T800 + M40 is plenty stiff even for sprints of our amateur levels, the differences are really miniscue.

kDk31xA.jpg

eVkq8sf.jpg

Also borrowed some cues from the Factor One i guess. If CAMP make the front fork lagi wide a bit, then they'd have an absolute winner.

Factor-One-Premium-Package-Road-Frameset-Nimbus-Gr-0144.webp

2026-factor-one-dec-2025.jpg
A wider front fork will make the bicycle more versatile by having wider tires for off-roads.
mai ganjiong, even if CAMP does not do so, some other labels will do it. Be patient, it will come soon.
Even with this frame, it is already a very good design. Only price isn't so nice :ROFLMAO:

rECKleSSfElla

Geez seriously got people totally gonna ditch their training schedules just becuz of the heat? Tweak or get creative with the ways you train.

Switch to morning runs if the evening heat is too much.

Start 45-60mins earlier and finish before first light if you are already a morning runner.

Stop and take more water breaks on long runs.

Do shorter but more up tempo runs instead of long runs.

Got gym membership then go run on treadmill or engage in other forms of cardio.

Medical conditions aside, the heat is terok but not enough to just surrender and nua until more cooling conditions come along(if and when). I still see same old bommers going for their daily morning walks at the stadium when i go for my runs so able bodied adults got no excuses.
For those who understand chinese, this vid is worth a look

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.