Ender
Got first for trifactor 5.25 km run, 1 km open water swim, 10.5km run
Congrats for the 1st.
Got first for trifactor 5.25 km run, 1 km open water swim, 10.5km run
Thanks, was at ECP.Wow congrats. At ECP or Sentosa?
Thanks!Congrats for the 1st.
Haha cycling I don't feel is doable in sg. Won't be something I pursueGo learn cycling ba....... i think you would be able to dish out quite a lot of raw watts. Size matters.
Out of the 3 disciplines, this is the most exciting. With the running base, folks usually pick up fast and can excel in cycling.
For me i dont know for what reason, a bit difficult to put on muscle.
Even my kid's improvements beat me.
Haha cycling I don't feel is doable in sg. Won't be something I pursue
If I was in China like @xllms , I would prob take up cycling hahaYeah....the pros of cycling is there. But first and foremost need to get past the cons.
For me not so bad coz i started driving quite long time ago in the 90s and on and off till around 15 years ago when me and my family cut out the car expense (which is a big one) when my father retired....so not too bad i guess.
Literally every single weekend, it's pretty easy to see which cyclists aren't drivers before or now (not just licence holders)....which i believe the majority of them.
Cars still ok, one major error i see is when they wanna execute a lane split, they never check properly, a small number of them will check but my guess is that the quick glance is insufficient.....heck even cars putting up signal also insufficient. Just takes esp a MY motorbike gunning thru fast and that's it, only saving grace is that the typical cycling times have much less traffic. But, it's still a gamble. Seen one case just last week, one group of young adults, Keppel Rd (i coming back from Sentosa), we travelled together, but then reached Cantonment link near our place they just poked and changed in between lane 3 and 2 to lane split coz lane 3 LHS got buses just before Customs House bus stop. Around 7.45am, that time starting to peak liao.
During more "normal" timings, you really need to behave like a motor vehicle and not a cyclist....either that or just avoid normal timings altogether.
If I was in China like @xllms , I would prob take up cycling haha
WOW was at Lining PS yesteday and they left with US7 and US12 for Red Hare 9 Ultra....
Buy from Taobao/PDD ba. Cheap and many colours and sizes.WOW was at Lining PS yesteday and they left with US7 and US12 for Red Hare 9 Ultra....
You must do intervals to get the speed and not just strides.Can anyone recommend me some simple to follow but structured workouts for a 20 minute 5k?
Have been running a lot of my runs easy pace at around 5.20 to 5.30 min/km, with some harder efforts with multiple strides of around 100+ metres for speed. I run 5-6 times a week of up to 7km.
Was pretty cool on Saturday morning and so decided to do a 5k and time it properly, surprised that i got just over 22 minutes.
Can anyone recommend me some simple to follow but structured workouts for a 20 minute 5k?
Have been running a lot of my runs easy pace at around 5.20 to 5.30 min/km, with some harder efforts with multiple strides of around 100+ metres for speed. I run 5-6 times a week of up to 7km.
Was pretty cool on Saturday morning and so decided to do a 5k and time it properly, surprised that i got just over 22 minutes.
Yeah, can follow sph77's linked plan, good general basis for training 5Ks.
Seems like you are already quite regimented and been running for quite a bit with decent weekly volume (easily 30km bare minimum, 3 - 5 years min), to be able to do 22 mins without that much of a specific training.
Then to get below 20 mins confidently, if you want a lagi simpler way. just add in some intervals. Your strides actually already put you in good stead, continue to do them....they are good for neuro, running economy, form etc.
Very simple to follow workout, just rinse and repeat, remember, we keep it simple here and dont overdo......also important to recover properly. All very simple to follow. Also, remember, progressively overload and must have patience, start small then increase to big.
Start with 200m (just a little longer than your strides), aim for 45s on a track, or if using GPS then 3:45 thereabouts. Just 1-2 weeks to get the hang of it.
Then proceed to 400m, and then 800m, ard same pace of 3:45, or 90s/1:30 per 400m lap and 180s/3:00min for 800m. Try eg 90s run and 90s rest first, or 1:1 ratio. Then can slowly cut down to 2:1, eg 90s run:45s rest.
Start with 6 reps and work your way up....maybe 12-15 reps or so, see how much you can tahan.
Don't worry if cannot hit 3:45 pace, in fact best not to get below 3:45, it is actually more fruitful to even "fail" towards 4:00 or 4:10 paces esp for the latter reps instead of just mindlessly pushing, or even if you cut sessions short and go recover, which will happen sometimes.
Once a week, if can tahan then try 2x a week. The rest of your stuff and mileage (7k sessions) ok can continue doing.
Dont worry too much about specifics of exact structure. Just remember the paces of 3:45-4:00, do the reps for the distance, play with the work:rest ratio, up to 2X a week equally spaced, rinse and repeat with the occasional full distance TT, you will get there one despite the simple structure, it wont be difficult at all.
Also, one thing that i personally find important, is maybe every 2-3 weeks, try to "race" and see where you stand, this also doubles as your workout session. This is to train you to pace correctly, to gain "experience", and also gets you an idea how much are you improving not only in timings but also you will know via "feeling", as in hey.....i can run 21:30 yes...but then it feels not very difficult......sometimes you will have that "strong" feeling one, then you'd know you are better and that helps psychologically.
If you are running 20m+, 22 mins 5k not all out, that still counts as training (threshold pace).
And the fun part of 5k, or even 3k, is that you can "race" pretty often and not get beat up.
Also, it doubles up as training for the full distance.
Can also try 3k first (or even the ubiquitous 2.4k for SG males), try to get consistently below 12 mins, as a gauge, it would be easier on the body.
If after a few months still cannot and you are stuck at 20:xx or not making much improvements, then we see what we can add in or adjust, like plyo or strength, or adjust pace more to just slightly above 4:00 min/km pace for more LT2 emphasis .
But shd be quite easy one lah, with your base just continue what you are doing.
You must do intervals to get the speed and not just strides.
Can try something like:
https://hyvenutrition.eu/blogs/trai...oxbpELPj2WfnlxuVIT6_9S_AtiKrgq1oGWjZJ7OEGxk2G
618 sales going to start anytime soon. I believe Is saw Li ning on Tmall is on 13th May . QiaoDan also should be around there. Only thing is wait for the right time when TB release the daily vouchers and some day got shipment vouchers. Have to check in daily to see what vouchers are available.Feidian 6E 579rmb on PDD. Cheapest i seen so far. Nice lar hope got chance sub 500rmb by 6.18.