jogging and motivation thread

rECKleSSfElla

618 sales going to start anytime soon. I believe Is saw Li ning on Tmall is on 13th May . QiaoDan also should be around there. Only thing is wait for the right time when TB release the daily vouchers and some day got shipment vouchers. Have to check in daily to see what vouchers are available.
TB and Tmall like to start their sale a few weeks before the actual event day itself but base on past years experience, those official stores tend to do 保价 so their listed price will remain the same throughout the promo period + whatever site and seller vouchers they give. PDD prices are more volatile and aggressive but you have to constantly monitor to spot the good deals.

Ender

618 for both Qiaodana nd Li ning is on, Plaid 3 is 704 yuan before shipping and GST. Li ning 6e discount is only 1169 yuan. So PDD better.

Seems like both open up for add to cart on the TB apps. SO good chance can buy the ship to singapore. I didn't try since not ready to buy yet.

Ender

Just notice TB app has this authenticity certification for extra 29 yuan from those 3rd party sellers.

kaisin82

I never got into weights. Just doing some interval runs now. It’s only 5km, 42km is another ball game in all. Thanks for the encouragement, I will remember this message when I’m on that run. Not sure if it helps, during this taper, I have been trying to do some zone 2 run and practising some breathing techniques to keep the HR low.
Congrats.
Mid 21 mins, technically you shd be able to sub-4 easily then 2 weeks from now, barring any fueling issues and pacing mistakes or muscularly cannot tahan last 10km (havent read that you did strength training but im not sure if you gymster coz i tot i read that somewhere before or something). Halfway you go take a dump for 90 seconds if wanna PS also no issue, you can afford it.....can even take the time to wipe clean clean.

ps. Take this also as a technical affirmation that solely from an aerobic POV, you CAN 100% sub-4. Psychological boost (v impt)

WussRedXLi

I never got into weights. Just doing some interval runs now. It’s only 5km, 42km is another ball game in all. Thanks for the encouragement, I will remember this message when I’m on that run.

Not sure if it helps, during this taper, I have been trying to do some zone 2 run and practising some breathing techniques to keep the HR low.

That's good......i think dont have to worry about the HR, you are there already. Can try to practise these good habits of coz, to make sure it becomes second nature (experience).

As mentioned, i total noob on long distance running. (in fact i have never raced/TT-ed above 10km)
Actually the main reason why i still run (shorter distance) is coz it is sorta cross training for my cycling and is a actually one of the low hanging fruits to improve in cycling.

But based on longer distance cycling, which wouldn't be super different from longer distance running, the common issues are like i mentioned. Fuelling, neuromuscular and/or muscular, and the neuromuscular part also includes the mental/cognition. For mental/cognition, any mental lapses/fog in cycliing = possible serious injury or even death. And lastly pacing, but this part is largely mitigated with our smart watches nowadays, meaning the only part is self-induced human error.
Lastly also related to pacing, is to overgun too fast during the last few KM coz you think ending, but then even last 2km is really too far to gun and kick. 😅 You can slowly negative split of coz.

Just take fuelling for eg, past 6-9 months i found it to be so bloody important when i was playing with it.
It is literally a game changer, vs last time in which i would never fuel. Big big difference, even for shortish but fast 60km rides. If it's a rather slow ride like together with my kid, then dont say lah.
Nowadays even with LT1 LT2 with sprints here and there @ 50-60km, can finish strong. Last time even 30-40km fast rides, maciam delirious already and return home wasted.
This is esp felt on West Coast Highway, where i'd usually end coz my house is near there. If not fuelled properly, over there even girls can overtake me as they'd be drafting in a group, it'd just be a pretty miserable feeling. Just no juice, no feeling in the legs, just pure weakness feeling as you limp back home at around 32-34kmh just at around high Z2 and low LT1 point and the vast majority of others overtake you, and there is nothing that you can do. Plus can totally forget the "sprint" part at Vivocity towards city, just no energy at all, if can even hit 40kmh over there slight slight downslope can arm chio already.
It is not full bonk, but there is evidence that even with just approx 40-50% of remaining glycogen stores , you are already quite significantly impacted, though zone 2 output is probably still mostly intact. Bonking is not a pure black and white state with nothing in between if you are the performance oriented pax and include the states in which there is any noticeable drop in performance and not just the dramatic state when you hit like 20-30% glycogen stores left.
And if one is looking at squeezing every last bit of performance in a proper race, then that performance hit at LT1 is best avoided, and for sure LT2 and any late race surges is totally bye bye.
But of coz if just aiming to Z2 it all the way to finish, no issue lah.

For tapering in sports, can best to reduce volume (aiming to reduce fatigue as much as possible) while maintaining intensity. So maybe best to continue a part of your "quality" workouts that gives bang for your buck (including strides for neuromuscular, RE, form etc) but for intervals can do the cut short reps type. Dont try to add anything that adds to fitness already, body cannot absorb for the last 7-14 days.

WussRedXLi

It’s only 5km, 42km is another ball game in all. Thanks for the encouragement, I will remember this message when I’m on that run.

BTW, i just did the VDOT running/race time predicting calculators, from the original Jack Daniels to some other predicting calculators. With 21:36, it ranges from 3:26 to 3:45.
And rightly so, coz we also have a recent data point of 2h 22mins for your 27k training long run, so that'd be converted to be like 3:47 or so for FM.
ie quite a decent buffer to 4h. You will surely run better in your race than your recent 27k long run one, 100%.

Of coz, it does not mean that kind of timing is capable by all folks who can run 21:36 for 5k. But you are different, you have trained quite ok for longer distances and specifically for the FM for the past few months, and now you are attempting a 5k.

While for me, you know my 5k timing. But my 10k i couldnt even break 38 mins that time when i was training 3k/5k and did around 17:40 lowest a few years ago, but also attempted 10k coz i did long runs up to 12-13k range but i never focussed on 10k specific speed workouts (eg 1-2k repeats) and my 800m interval reps also not exactly enough/optimal at around 5-6 reps coz i focussed more for 5k , so probably isnt surprising that i'd suck in distance as i focussed on shorter distances. While 3k i am even "faster" coz i trained around the 3-5k range. Im not sure tho, if i can include 1k into this, which i can run even faster than predicted based on my 3k/5k timings...but 1k is probably not a good basis as an indicator coz it is very anaerobic and quite neuromuscular as well.

Mila Azul

snusnu-futurama.gif

Mila Azul

Run club accused of ‘colonising’ MOE Evans Stadium track with over 25 people across 7 lanes​

79cce9bb80511db1a864e95fbae3b14354d0b0eb682f183c21a999eb0be1bd51

The run club drew criticism online.
PHOTO: ACROBATIC-LAKE-5339/REDDIT
Ethel Tseng

Published May 12, 2026, 03:55pm
Updated May 13, 2026, 04:39pm

Members of a run club have come under fire for allegedly “colonising” the track at MOE (Evans) Stadium, with more than 25 participants reportedly occupying seven lanes of the sports facility and drawing complaints over their “inconsiderate” behaviour.
A Redditor, who wanted to be known only as Ms P, raised concerns in a post on the asksg subreddit on May 7, saying she was “fed up with run clubs colonising whole spaces”.
Accompanying the post were photos of people in blue or orange tank tops, running along a track.

In one photo, over 13 people were running in a single file, while another showed more than 25 people spread out over seven lanes.

Described run club members as ‘one big sweaty cluster’​

Speaking to Stomp, Ms P said the incident occurred at MOE (Evans) Stadium on May 6, between 7pm and 8pm.

She said she had often seen the group at the stadium, but would usually finish her run before they began. However, she happened to run at the same time as them that day, something she described as an “overwhelming” experience.

Ms P recalled that about 10 to 15 runners in a single file began to overtake her, causing her to be “subsumed into the single file”.
“Mind you, they all approach you as one big sweaty cluster and have no sense of keeping some distance from you,” she said.
She also described the whole track being “blocked by run clubs” as there were multiple groups at the stadium.
In her Reddit post, she added that the group had apparently engaged photographers who would aim cameras at the track, which she felt was an “invasion of privacy”.

Netizen approaches run club​

Ms P said she approached the run club and asked who was in charge, wanting to raise concerns about their “inconsiderate” behaviour.

“They seemed to have a hard time truly comprehending me and one even snickered. They said they’ll let their management know,” Ms P recalled.

She said she has also raised the matter to the staff at MOE (Evans) Stadium.

A few netizens said Zephyr Running Club was the group featured in the photos.

Run club ‘disappointed’ by online comments​

In response to Stomp’s queries, a spokesperson from Zephyr Running Club said that track and running etiquette have “long been part of (its) club culture”.

The representative explained that runners are regularly reminded to stay within their lanes and avoid obstructing shared spaces.

“At the same time, while differing opinions are understandable, we are disappointed to see certain online comments crossing into racism and discriminatory language, which we do not condone,” the spokesperson added.

Moving into ‘dangerous territory’: Netizens​

Many netizens agreed that the group’s actions were “inconsiderate” and “obnoxious”.

One user even described such behaviour as their “new least favourite thing in Singapore”.

“A couple of times, I’ve had to squeeze myself and my dog to the side just to make space for those massive running clubs that pass unbelievably close to people,” the user wrote, recalling that their dog had allegedly been kicked by one of the participants.

Another said some run clubs are moving into “dangerous territory”, with participants “hogging” lanes or running backwards.

“Run clubs should treat public tracks like shared spaces by keeping groups small, staying to outer lanes when chatting or overtaking and respecting both track etiquette and privacy rules,” a netizen chimed in.

However, some netizens felt the group in question did not do anything out of line.

“Technically, to cut into your lane, they have to run around you. And technically, it’s not your lane,” one netizen said.

“Track etiquette is generally to stay in your own lane and choose a lane appropriate to your pace. I think the main issue is that the track is simply too crowded for OP’s liking,” another pointed out.

Stomp has reached out to SportSG for more information.

This news excerpt describes a conflict at the MOE (Evans) Stadium in Singapore involving a large running group and other individuals trying to use the facility.

The Main Issue A run club, identified by some netizens as the Zephyr Running Club, was criticized for taking up too much space on the running track.

• The Scale: Photos showed over 25 people occupying seven lanes of the track at once.
  • The Behavior: A runner named "Ms P" complained that the group ran in a long, single-file line that blocked her path. She described them as a "sweaty cluster" that didn't keep a safe distance from others.
  • The Complaint: Ms P felt the group was "colonising" (taking over) the public space and that photographers taking pictures of the runners were an invasion of privacy. She tried to speak to the group, but they were dismissive.
The Response

• The Run Club: A spokesperson for Zephyr Running Club said they teach their members proper track etiquette (rules of behavior). They expressed disappointment that online comments about the incident had turned into racist and discriminatory attacks against their members.
  • The Public Reaction:
    • Supporters of the complaint: Many people agreed the group was being inconsiderate. Some shared stories of having to dodge the runners or even having their pets accidentally kicked. They argued that public tracks should be shared, not "hogged" by large groups.
    • Supporters of the club: Others felt the runners followed the rules technically. They argued that on a track, faster runners must overtake slower ones, and no single lane belongs to one person. They suggested the real problem was just that the track was too crowded that night.
Key Concepts Explained

• Track Etiquette:This refers to the unwritten social rules of running on a public track.
    • Lane Discipline: Slower runners usually stay in the inner lanes (closest to the field), while faster runners use the outer lanes.
    • Overtaking: If you are faster, you should pass on the right (in countries driving on the left, like Singapore) or left (in right-hand traffic countries), but you must always signal or ensure it is safe before moving into another runner's path.
    • Group Size: While running alone or in pairs is standard, large groups running together can block the entire track, which is generally frowned upon in shared public spaces.
  • "Colonising" (in this context): The user used this word to describe the feeling of being pushed out of a public space by a large, dominant group. It implies that the runners acted as if they owned the track, ignoring the rights of others to use it.
  • MOE (Evans) Stadium: This is a public sports facility in Singapore managed by the Ministry of Education (MOE) but often open for community use. It features a standard 400-meter running track.
  • Stomp: This is a popular Singaporean news outlet known for reporting on local community issues, often based on tips and photos sent in by the public.
Current Status The situation is unresolved. The news outlet Stomp has contacted SportSG (Sport Singapore), the government agency responsible for managing public sports facilities, to ask for their official stance and whether any rules were broken.

kaisin82

BTW, i just did the VDOT running/race time predicting calculators, from the original Jack Daniels to some other predicting calculators. With 21:36, it ranges from 3:26 to 3:45.
And rightly so, coz we also have a recent data point of 2h 22mins for your 27k training long run, so that'd be converted to be like 3:47 or so for FM.
ie quite a decent buffer to 4h. You will surely run better in your race than your recent 27k long run one, 100%.

Of coz, it does not mean that kind of timing is capable by all folks who can run 21:36 for 5k. But you are different, you have trained quite ok for longer distances and specifically for the FM for the past few months, and now you are attempting a 5k.

While for me, you know my 5k timing. But my 10k i couldnt even break 38 mins that time when i was training 3k/5k and did around 17:40 lowest a few years ago, but also attempted 10k coz i did long runs up to 12-13k range but i never focussed on 10k specific speed workouts (eg 1-2k repeats) and my 800m interval reps also not exactly enough/optimal at around 5-6 reps coz i focussed more for 5k , so probably isnt surprising that i'd suck in distance as i focussed on shorter distances. While 3k i am even "faster" coz i trained around the 3-5k range. Im not sure tho, if i can include 1k into this, which i can run even faster than predicted based on my 3k/5k timings...but 1k is probably not a good basis as an indicator coz it is very anaerobic and quite neuromuscular as well.
wah 10km timing to sub 38mins, sub 42mins I also don't dare to dream. Thanks for the advice and encouragement. Hopefully these last 2 weeks, I do enough to hit below 4hrs

WussRedXLi

I should also try to do 10km marathon

wah 10km timing to sub 38mins, sub 42mins I also don't dare to dream. Thanks for the advice and encouragement. Hopefully these last 2 weeks, I do enough to hit below 4hrs

Actually nothing much left to do other than to do some final touches to the logistics and prep like for fueling etc.

Alas, forgot that there is actually one "easy test" that one can do to see if he/she has sufficient durability. Is the number single leg calf raises, 2-3 seconds up 2-3 seconds down kinda tempo. There is good correlation regarding muscular durability for the final stage of a FM. But now you better dont do and test liao, coz that would probably give you soreness for a good 3-4 days, for those pax who dont strength train.
The other one would be just to actually run till 35km to build mental resilience and to actually know if one has sufficient muscular durability, but has more risks.

Put it this way, if calves can tahan (no cramp), the other muscles also likely to be able to tahan. Minus some wierd/outlier cases.

WussRedXLi

This news excerpt describes a conflict at the MOE (Evans) Stadium in Singapore involving a large running group and other individuals trying to use the facility.

The Main Issue A run club, identified by some netizens as the Zephyr Running Club, was criticized for taking up too much space on the running track.

• The Scale: Photos showed over 25 people occupying seven lanes of the track at once.
  • The Behavior: A runner named "Ms P" complained that the group ran in a long, single-file line that blocked her path. She described them as a "sweaty cluster" that didn't keep a safe distance from others.
  • The Complaint: Ms P felt the group was "colonising" (taking over) the public space and that photographers taking pictures of the runners were an invasion of privacy. She tried to speak to the group, but they were dismissive.
The Response

• The Run Club: A spokesperson for Zephyr Running Club said they teach their members proper track etiquette (rules of behavior). They expressed disappointment that online comments about the incident had turned into racist and discriminatory attacks against their members.
  • The Public Reaction:
    • Supporters of the complaint: Many people agreed the group was being inconsiderate. Some shared stories of having to dodge the runners or even having their pets accidentally kicked. They argued that public tracks should be shared, not "hogged" by large groups.
    • Supporters of the club: Others felt the runners followed the rules technically. They argued that on a track, faster runners must overtake slower ones, and no single lane belongs to one person. They suggested the real problem was just that the track was too crowded that night.
Key Concepts Explained

• Track Etiquette:This refers to the unwritten social rules of running on a public track.
    • Lane Discipline: Slower runners usually stay in the inner lanes (closest to the field), while faster runners use the outer lanes.
    • Overtaking: If you are faster, you should pass on the right (in countries driving on the left, like Singapore) or left (in right-hand traffic countries), but you must always signal or ensure it is safe before moving into another runner's path.
    • Group Size: While running alone or in pairs is standard, large groups running together can block the entire track, which is generally frowned upon in shared public spaces.
  • "Colonising" (in this context): The user used this word to describe the feeling of being pushed out of a public space by a large, dominant group. It implies that the runners acted as if they owned the track, ignoring the rights of others to use it.
  • MOE (Evans) Stadium: This is a public sports facility in Singapore managed by the Ministry of Education (MOE) but often open for community use. It features a standard 400-meter running track.
  • Stomp: This is a popular Singaporean news outlet known for reporting on local community issues, often based on tips and photos sent in by the public.
Current Status The situation is unresolved. The news outlet Stomp has contacted SportSG (Sport Singapore), the government agency responsible for managing public sports facilities, to ask for their official stance and whether any rules were broken.

This one i watched aaroniseverything channel long time ago i already sensed one day sure someone buay song and go stir one, actually. 😅 :frown:

One trick that cyclists use on other fellow cyclists esp big ass group overtaking smaller group, is to greet them "good morning".....or "bike right" , some sort of acknowledgement / greeting. Then no issue liao.
Groups "subsuming " other small groups or even big groups.......quite common. Esp on popular roads like Mandai.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.