jogging and motivation thread

Ender

wah 1% decoupling is very impressive leh. all my run has about 5-10% decoupling lol
Only after tapering properly, you will see that.. Training, especially during peak phase, getting 5% is good liao.

WussRedXLi

there was a drowning incident during a triathlon in HK last week. :(
so risk applies to all

Sure got risk one, coz we'll never know how swim proficient that athlete is, despite having safety canoes/kayaks. eg T100 just significantly relaxed swim proficiency entry level for Singapore, maybe they want more entries.
Ultimately, triathlons all over the world have significantly more deaths / 100k than FMs.

It's just like road cycling. Cyclists A-Z all have, best are those who can ride defensively, maybe aided by their driving experience and road knowledge on reading drivers' behaviour etc. Of coz, some drivers who cycle as well also have nasty cycling habits.
That's why recently i asked bro sadisticnoob whether or not he has seen any crashes of this nature, coz young tertiary students with barely any ounce of driving experience (not only holdiing a valid licence) chee hong and chit chat / turn their heads at each other while chatting, for long durations right in the peloton at nearly 40kmh........ i see also scared. Distracted riding in a group.

AI :
Yes, the T100 swim entry requirements were relaxed. Athletes no longer need to submit strict time-proof documents. Instead, you only need to check a box during registration on the Official Singapore T100 Info Page declaring that you have finished at least two open water swim events since January 1, 2024. [1, 2]

Ender

there was a drowning incident during a triathlon in HK last week. :(
so risk applies to all
And it is strange that Triathlon, almost all incidents happens at the 1st leg, i,e swimming. So it isn't due to fatigue, since they are fresh from the start.

sales69

The day I stop chasing my sub 4 hours. I will be back to plateless, minimal or no rocker, low stack shoes. The old days of what they call the tracer profile shoes. From description, you QH looks like one of these.
I'm enjoying it atm. Connected to the ground. Getting back the feeling of rotating every step. Can feel Improvement but still learning how to keep things consistent.

Recently ran 300m at 3.30pace. Every step, push-off using own effort, well controlled at high 190s cadence.

6 months ago, to run the same pace, I had to depend on the super bounce and rocker effect of Feidian 6E.

Years of running with highly cushioned, plated, rocker shoes means just need to swing my legs to move along. Became lazy. :s13:

If I were to train long distance again, I would wear shoes with profile like Qinghong for majority of runs.

Max cushioned for very long runs. And plated shoes only for races.

GlassDoor

I'm enjoying it atm. Connected to the ground. Getting back the feeling of rotating every step. Can feel Improvement but still learning how to keep things consistent.

Recently ran 300m at 3.30pace. Every step, push-off using own effort, well controlled at high 190s cadence.

6 months ago, to run the same pace, I had to depend on the super bounce and rocker effect of Feidian 6E.

Years of running with highly cushioned, plated, rocker shoes means just need to swing my legs to move along. Became lazy. :s13:

If I were to train long distance again, I would wear shoes with profile like Qinghong for majority of runs.

Max cushioned for very long runs. And plated shoes only for races.
加油 💪

can whole heartedly recommend lifeng SL for very long runs... you don't need max cushion shoes

WussRedXLi

Sure got risk one, coz we'll never know how swim proficient that athlete is, despite having safety canoes/kayaks. eg T100 just significantly relaxed swim proficiency entry level for Singapore, maybe they want more entries.
Ultimately, triathlons all over the world have significantly more deaths / 100k than FMs.

AI :
Yes, the T100 swim entry requirements were relaxed. Athletes no longer need to submit strict time-proof documents. Instead, you only need to check a box during registration on the Official Singapore T100 Info Page declaring that you have finished at least two open water swim events since January 1, 2024. [1, 2]

ps. There are a fair number who probably just get pulled from the water coz they did not meet the cut off timing.....way too slow.
Always see a good few number cases from the results, DNF. Not dissimilar to your FMs/HMs cut-off dramas.
This is with regards to the local T100 race, not others like overseas IM etc.

Not sure if they were allowed to continue go bike and run tho.....to get their money's worth (after all, it's 468++). But no official timing recorded i think for these subsequent legs.

Tudo88

Feidian 6E is a shoe meant for the real elites lol. Like those doing 3.20-3.30 min/km.

My ankles always hurt after using this shoe. At low 4min pace,I don’t enjoy using this shoe. Intervals maybe ok haha.

That explains why this shoe is not getting much fanfare from regular runners because cannot fully unleash the power in this beast haha

WussRedXLi

Don't whether previous cases were at the same beach or not, but sentosa beaches have claimed quite a number of lives.

I went to ask AI, nothing concrete. SPF / SDC dont publish specific figures.

Found a 2006 old article. Seems like not really out of the ordinary....just whether or not it happened at Sentosa or ECP or Pasir Ris or Ubin or etc. And whether or not it was reported.

Today Online
28 Feb 06
Up to 50 people drown along coastline a year: Minister

AN AVERAGE of some 40 to 50 people die along Singapore's coastline a year, including those along the Sentosa beaches. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang (picture) revealed this figure in Parliament yesterday, in response to a question on whether the lagoons at Sentosa are safe for swimming.

In Sentosa alone, there were five drowning incidents last year, and in the most recent case in January, two of the drowned victims were suspected to have consumed alcohol. In all the drowning incidents, the victims had strayed outside the roped-in areas designated for swimming, the minister added.

The Sentosa Development Corporation (SDC) has a team of lifeguards manning the beaches daily from 9am to 7pm, and regularly maintains the sand gradient along the beaches to make sure the waters are safe to swim in.

But its efforts alone will not be enough, said Mr Lim. He said: "The public has to play its part too and take precautions for their personal safety.

Sentosa's beaches are not enclosed lagoons but are part of the open sea. In this environment, swimmers will be exposed to the natural tidal wave and wind conditions, as well as marine creatures.

"Hence, beach-goers at Sentosa are strongly advised to exercise the same level of caution as they would in open sea," said Mr Lim.

WussRedXLi

Bottom line - know your skills and limits.

Some forms of swimming and cycling are best left to experienced folks. If not so experienced with regards to specific knowledge (maybe you really know how to swim/cycle, but still without the relevant location knowledge or things like the weather etc), best to pair with experienced or do it in groups, and use safety devices, adjust timing (like for cycling, dont do it during damn peak periods lah esp if not so experienced in solid live traffic, some are just bodohs).

Ender

加油 💪

can whole heartedly recommend lifeng SL for very long runs... you don't need max cushion shoes
Really think 361 LF SL is underrated compare to the fanfare of Dynafish xiaonian and Li Ning red hared 6 U for a 万金油跑鞋. But I guess most runners don't sweat like us, they are blessed with cool and dry climate.

GlassDoor

Really think 361 LF SL is underrated compare to the fanfare of Dynafish xiaonian and Li Ning red hared 6 U for a 万金油跑鞋. But I guess most runners don't sweat like us, they are blessed with cool and dry climate.
I like XN and did try RH9U at the store. The biggest issue I have with those shoes as a daily trainer is that there is ZERO forefoot flexibility.

LF SL has good mix of everything. if i were to really really nick pick. The foam's response is a tad slower than what I prefer. My normal cadence is about 196 but in LF SL it drops slightly to 194. I guess that's a trade off for having a slightly softer ride vs an even firmer ride. But it is still plenty quick for most folks maybe even too quick :ROFLMAO:

sph777

Feidian 6E is a shoe meant for the real elites lol. Like those doing 3.20-3.30 min/km.

My ankles always hurt after using this shoe. At low 4min pace,I don’t enjoy using this shoe. Intervals maybe ok haha.

That explains why this shoe is not getting much fanfare from regular runners because cannot fully unleash the power in this beast haha
I felt it was unstable but still bearable when going 4:05-4:20 pace for 15km income eco run. Plan to use it for decathlon half but we'll see. BYDSIM prob use plaid 3

Kitaro9202

where do you guys usually run?

At your place or will go to some park and run?

My place got no pcn and always run at pavement like abit sian.

Nearest park is like 2km away

sph777

gonna try increasing my distance run over the next 2 weeks to 3x per week , all the while increasing mileage.

my target for the marathon is 5 hours.

But before that I have a cycling race in Sep which i may or may not go
all the best!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.