jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

I felt it was unstable but still bearable when going 4:05-4:20 pace for 15km income eco run. Plan to use it for decathlon half but we'll see. BYDSIM prob use plaid 3
me cheap skate... BYDSIM will probably use one of the discount bin shoes most likely AP3 again .. or if internal+external conditions are excellent..maybe AP4

Ender

where do you guys usually run?

At your place or will go to some park and run?

My place got no pcn and always run at pavement like abit sian.

Nearest park is like 2km away
Blessed with sengkang pcn nearby that connects to Punggol waterway and via lor harlus to pasir ris park.
Actually Singapore quite conducive for runners becoz of sidewalks. Some countries, runners have to share roads with the cars.

Kitaro9202

Blessed with sengkang pcn nearby that connects to Punggol waterway and via lor harlus to pasir ris park.
Actually Singapore quite conducive for runners becoz of sidewalks. Some countries, runners have to share roads with the cars.
mine is serangoon stadium but i dont like to run loop prefer to run from point a to b and better without traffic light.
Look at jb can already not really pedestrian friendly

sales69

Bedok Reservoir + surrounding area. Sometimes Bedok Park.

Don't like waiting for traffic lights at normal pavement.

sph777

me cheap skate... BYDSIM will probably use one of the discount bin shoes most likely AP3 again .. or if internal+external conditions are excellent..maybe AP4
I got my Feidian 6e from carou 150, plaid 3 also under 160, I dun spend above 200 on shoes haha

WussRedXLi

gonna try increasing my distance run over the next 2 weeks to 3x per week , all the while increasing mileage.

my target for the marathon is 5 hours.

But before that I have a cycling race in Sep which i may or may not go

Dang it, missed this national day promo. This morning i think all sold out, cant even rush down during lunch. Met manta red @ $61.

WussRedXLi

swimming is the most risky as cramp, u are in trouble of drowning alr

If cramp other than at swimming pool, is good game liao.

I kena before @ Swimming pool, one leg...... heng was 1.2-1.4m, so just bounce up and down slowly to the side of the pool and tahan. heh.......

Cycling is if one fxxer on kpod/drugs/drugs and whack into you, good game liao. Still remember the fella on Nicool Highway going opposite direction, 3 cyclists kena, 1 killed. TYpical weekend early morning timing @ 5am plus iirc. (dont ask me why they see car headlight oncoming didnt quickly "jump" onto sidewalk/grass).

I could be part of the statistic as well.

Actually according to stats, cyclists cycling on the road (all types including indians/banglas wo lights and helmets and hellobikes cheonging road) and PMA highest incidence of injuries+fatalities per xxxx user, higher than motorcyclists. Believe it or not. But absolute fig still moto is tops, coz of sheer number of moto users.

WussRedXLi

city running, usually at bay east

i garden running only, 800m loops, for interval workouts or just continuous, plus some strides/sprints, once a week workout nowadays no more than 5k (usually 3-4k). Chop chop do chop chop finish totally fuss free.
Also serves as a "rest day" vs my cycling training....i do feel rested despite it being a running interval workout.

Also, of coz, run to and from office, plus during lunch which i'd bring home + quick shower. Hawker too crowded too stressful unless if can leave office before 1145h.

winningeleven

mine is serangoon stadium but i dont like to run loop prefer to run from point a to b and better without traffic light.

Most of the time I ran at stadium . As long it can get the job done! Other wise I would go to jurong lake .

Actually stadium also got many inconsiderate users. They walked into the track without looking and could just appeared at your running path . Some like to spread out the arm to stretch while walking at the track ..

WussRedXLi

Most of the time I ran at stadium . As long it can get the job done! Other wise I would go to jurong lake .

Actually stadium also got many inconsiderate users. They walked into the track without looking and could just appeared at your running path . Some like to spread out the arm to stretch while walking at the track ..

Same goes for my activesg public track here, even tho it's the place with rubber track surface. Any serious runners definitely wont go there. So bo bian, i just run at my garden area, hard solid tiled ground which can cause slips when wet etc. (esp with the damn ASICS AHAR soles) LL

Kitaro9202

oh ya like 7pm the crowd is crazy at serangoon stadium and have many activities also

sometime too pack cant run properly

Sadisticnoob

all the best!
I am having problem increasing the pace from 5:30 downwards , i think due to the running form .

Bedok Reservoir + surrounding area. Sometimes Bedok Park.

Don't like waiting for traffic lights at normal pavement.
reservoir is next to my house , thats my current running area

WussRedXLi

I am having problem increasing the pace from 5:30 downwards , i think due to the running form .

Im no expert but I think for me, even prior to covid, i just started on SIT/strides kinda running, together with my kid......and when running of coz i just had to go check out all those YT vids on A B C skips and stuff.
And after that I was just running 2-3k distance then, not much chance to even really start to perspire much. :ROFLMAO: :unsure:

I think that is the best way to "fix" and train form. It's mainly neuromuscular. Also, these fast running makes you able to run at a high cadence "comfortably", as in, if you wanna run 3:30 pace and below, there is absolutely no way even 185 cadence can cut it for us amateurs, let alone some saying "hey, i can only run at 165-170". Yes, technically no issue, just that......if wanna run fast below 4:00, good luck using even 180spm, let alone 165-170. Unless if you can stride really far, which i dont think so.

However, once you have had run XXX mileage, esp if training for marathons for long, ie ingraned muscle memory, i am not sure if strides and drills can fix as you'd need to unlearn years of ingrained muscle memory.

It's same in calisthenics, they teach you to learn the form first, ie reps DO NOT MATTER, neither would building pure strength, once that movement pattern is learned, it'd hard to unlearn and do all those bad habits.
My kid is doing this at the moment.....build the neural pathways.

WussRedXLi

I think that is also why some folks cannot break 17 mins 18 mins 5k or similar like sub-10 for 3k or sub 8 for 2.4 or even sub 5 for 1.6.

If biomechanics cannot, then you can train all you want aerobically with high mileage with the best plan, be genetically talented in your VO2, anaerobic, just physically biomechanically is cannot.

GlassDoor

I think that is also why some folks cannot break 17 mins 18 mins 5k or similar like sub-10 for 3k or sub 8 for 2.4 or even sub 5 for 1.6.

If biomechanics cannot, then you can train all you want aerobically with high mileage with the best plan, be genetically talented in your VO2, anaerobic, just physically biomechanically is cannot.
imo running long and running fast two completely different thing. I had to start at basic to run fast. and the trial and error of running fast very easy to get injured.

WussRedXLi

imo running long and running fast two completely different thing. I had to start at basic to run fast. and the trial and error of running fast very easy to get injured.

Yes, 2 different things. One is neuro, form, anaerobic/vo2max, power etc blah for the shorter distances involved. Then the other part (even for 5k or 10k) involves more towards aerobic, of coz. Of coz not saying even 2.4/3k no aerobic, just a matter of how much overlapping.

For eg. Just did a quick AI, coz in this thread occasionaly we have folks who mentioned why cannot run fast why cannot go higher cadence etc :
Technically already overstriding, and of coz we all know what these lead to

This is "just" 3:30 pace, is fast enough but if we play 400, 800m, 1k......this is not fast actually, can even dip below 3:00, i ever recorded 2:46 for 1k, but that is GPS of coz so not sure abt accuracy.
ps. BTW dont anyhow try, even for me, after trying that, one part of my metatarsals start to pain a bit already.....heng pain only lasted like 2-3 days. And since i not really bank on running, so willing to take the risk. (i was inspired by Sawe's WR then :unsure: :ROFLMAO: )

Biomechanics limitation, and if we force this, efficiency dips.

AI Overview

At a 3:30 per kilometer pace with a cadence of 170 steps per minute (SPM), your stride length is 1.68 meters (or 5.51 feet). If your pace is 3:30 per mile, your stride length is 2.70 meters (or 8.87 feet).
Yes, a stride length of 1.7 meters for a runner who is 1.72 meters tall is a sign of overstriding. Your stride length is almost the same as your total height.

Ender

Want to avoid traffic lights. want point A to B. Then consider take bus to Bishan/AMK park, or use share bike, not that far, about 2 to 3km ride. There is a PCN from there all the way via Toa payoh, Potong pasir, Kallang, National stadium to Bay East, from Bay East you can decide to run to Garden by Bay or turn left to run all the way Changi airport on East coast Park PCN.

GlassDoor

Yes, 2 different things. One is neuro, form, anaerobic/vo2max, power etc blah for the shorter distances involved. Then the other part (even for 5k or 10k) involves more towards aerobic, of coz. Of coz not saying even 2.4/3k no aerobic, just a matter of how much overlapping.

For eg. Just did a quick AI, coz in this thread occasionaly we have folks who mentioned why cannot run fast why cannot go higher cadence etc :
Technically already overstriding, and of coz we all know what these lead to

This is "just" 3:30 pace, is fast enough but if we play 400, 800m, 1k......this is not fast actually, can even dip below 3:00, i ever recorded 2:46 for 1k, but that is GPS of coz so not sure abt accuracy.
ps. BTW dont anyhow try, even for me, after trying that, one part of my metatarsals start to pain a bit already.....heng pain only lasted like 2-3 days. And since i not really bank on running, so willing to take the risk. (i was inspired by Sawe's WR then :unsure: :ROFLMAO: )

Biomechanics limitation, and if we force this, efficiency dips.

AI Overview

At a 3:30 per kilometer pace with a cadence of 170 steps per minute (SPM), your stride length is 1.68 meters (or 5.51 feet). If your pace is 3:30 per mile, your stride length is 2.70 meters (or 8.87 feet).
Yes, a stride length of 1.7 meters for a runner who is 1.72 meters tall is a sign of overstriding. Your stride length is almost the same as your total height.
i have repeatedly watch her videos over and over.. her running mechanics is on another level. hope my brain can steal 1% also enough :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.