BYDSIM marathon route... bottleneck at marina barrage again

780180309_122138491371148292_4291003601959479382_n.jpg

775493938_122138491353148292_8571019828117390477_n.jpg

775448188_122138491377148292_9024909298157199365_n.jpg

Ender

west coast highway AND sheares wew! Sheares at the end as per long ago.
Just when we thought sheares is history, the new organizer bring it back. Ask Ben what was he thinking, thought he is race director and he understood us by making videos about the bridge.

WussRedXLi

Cycling groups also got stories about cardiac events.

Usually for age 35 or 40 and above, vast majority is usually undetected coronary artery diseases.
Coz you can be fit, but same thing your diet could be totally shiat. These 2 are independent of each other.

Young boy boy or xmm that time go whack, no such issue. Coz young.

But when age 40 or worse 50s/60s even 70s you go whack same way as last time without screening, is asking for trouble. Is not coz of age, is coz of the undetected condition, keyword, UNDETECTED or SILENT, asymtomatic.....simply coz you never screen. Same case for certain cancers, etc etc.

But the disease there and progressing, and ever ready to F you up exacerbated by training or racing.
Is not coz the activities are inherently risky , and is not the root cause.

That's why TMX is a bare minimum screening, ~ 400 only. Best if can include CAC, to include diagnostic accuracy or i forgot what's the exact medical terminology.

WussRedXLi

GXGX, so got WCH again?

This year Super El nino also, peaking around that time. Shd be rather cloudless that time.

So, better train smarter, and then harder and recover more at the same time. Aim to finish before 9AM.
Very safe on WCH then, i promise.

Tudo88

Just got recommended Energy Gel By Peak on PDD. The sport shoes maker is also into Gels now. Around 25g of carb per pack, and they come with Electrolytes (san sodium though). Just placed an order for 12 pack for two flavors, only $7.81. That's around 65 cents per pack. Discount differ from buyer to buyer.

Will give this a try haha.

sph777

GXGX, so got WCH again?

This year Super El nino also, peaking around that time. Shd be rather cloudless that time.

So, better train smarter, and then harder and recover more at the same time. Aim to finish before 9AM.
Very safe on WCH then, i promise.
WCH is early on sir, it's Sheares that is at the end this time

WussRedXLi

WCH is early on sir, it's Sheares that is at the end this time

Wah.....then you all heng. Shd be fine. Coz WCH to and fro easy 5-6km total coz you all wont do the whole length of viaduct, plus the 23m climb up.

And you know what would be worse? Suddenly they go kee siao one year and then add WCH add Sheares bridge and also add Sentosa loop coz nearby. :ROFLMAO: Sentosa cycling still ok, roll down got momentum for some climbs and descents and then gun a bit back up, but running will kill many knees.

But chill.... wont happen lah, coz many ang mohs there will kpkb. Many folks there are already pissed off with cyclists. :unsure: 😅

edit - if done fully, Sentosa shd have a total elevation gain of just under 300 metres but that's including all the small single lane roads which would be too small for SIM. :unsure:
But still, if keep to double / triple lanes in addition to the cycling lane + pavement ie definitely wide enough, shd still be a decent ~100 metres elevation.

Then they will advertise "Iconic Sentosa route" :unsure:

ctstalin

i use AI... it plotted it... one part went into the SEA! and was like 39.xx km
hahaha... i think i use the one that is here.. maybe i try using the offical website...

I manually did it hahaha! On strava it was 42.2km with almost 2000m in elevation change! But after importing to garmin, the distance became 42.16km and a more acceptable elevation change of 200+m

Edit: Extended the starting line by a wee bit, whole course is now 42.2km. The u-turn at ECP kind of sketchy, but whatever. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.