jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

Wah......Glassdoor, that also means your cardio no joke.....i more or less remember your HR also not say super high, if you maintain such a rather high cadence for comparatively long distances (your 15k TT?), even at ~ 3:50 pace. Since you'd subconsciously like to hit cadence limit first before striding.
i run slow for years at full nasal. it was a self discovery process. MAF180 was the original tipping point many many many full moons ago.

interesting a SRY short pop up on my fb feed this morning when i was mindlessly scrolling. He was commenting on how some folks were doubting his easy run hr of 100+ only.
I think to those folks they are missing the point. For anyone that has not run/jog before. you run.. hr will spike there is no zone... some months in you will start to see hr maybe developing a comfortable short plateau as it continues t's upward climb in your runs...... 1-2 years later the z2 plateau will start to drop and if run faster.. a 2nd plateau will start to develop which is LT. a few more years later.. those two two plateau will become more defined and possibly lower. Consistency is key.

WussRedXLi

my form and gait actually mirrors asian females runners at the semi elite level. example.. for an easy/recovery pace my cadence starts at a low 190 with very short stride length almost like shuffling automatically and subconsciously.

Cant find the chinese guy youtuber @ 210spm even at relatively slow 5:00 pace, but here's some good krmm content. (y)

215-220spm @ 3:30
But i think coz of her short height, she LL one lah, coz she is aiming for a 37 min 10k and then 3:30 for Berlin i think. So, by hook or by crook, whatever it takes, like in cycling, you just gotta "spin" man if not enough strength/power.

Certain Pace is basically a certain power (watts), in which power is strength/torque x cadence (rpm in cycling or spm in running).

from what you describe. I will say you fall into the stride runner group. at the 3:15-3:20 range i am already above 210+ cadence easily already. (y)

Yeah....maybe i fall more towards the stride camp. Of coz for many others there are many shades of stride/cadence camp, some fall in between accordingly.
But honestly i haven't thought much about things in such detail and i just slowly and progressively train with increasing paces and progress slowly.....same with my calisthenics, mostly is more or less plateau, and then suddenly you find a period in which you'd improve quite noticeably and then you progress up (usually after a period of deload)........like in cycling you'd accordingly and automatically select your own spinning cadence at certain speeds/power, like you said, self discovery.

WussRedXLi

That screaming and heavy breathing sound effect......heng im on earphones. :s34: :s34:

I measured 250spm. what the...... 3:20 pace :oops:

But then , bro......not efficient at all. Very very high energy cost man, coz the lower leg (calves) no pendulum effect mechanically speaking.
You see the upper body also......i see already also sweating in my chair.

6-7:-00 pace is still good lah......esp for FM or even ultras. Will do the trick.

GlassDoor

Cant find the chinese guy youtuber @ 210spm even at relatively slow 5:00 pace, but here's some good krmm content. (y)

215-220spm @ 3:30
But i think coz of her short height, she LL one lah, coz she is aiming for a 37 min 10k and then 3:30 for Berlin i think. So, by hook or by crook, whatever it takes, like in cycling, you just gotta "spin" man if not enough strength/power.

Certain Pace is basically a certain power (watts), in which power is strength/torque x cadence (rpm in cycling or spm in running).

Yeah....maybe i fall more towards the stride camp. Of coz for many others there are many shades of stride/cadence camp, some fall in between accordingly.
But honestly i haven't thought much about things in such detail and i just slowly and progressively train with increasing paces and progress slowly.....same with my calisthenics, mostly is more or less plateau, and then suddenly you find a period in which you'd improve quite noticeably and then you progress up (usually after a period of deload)........like in cycling you'd accordingly and automatically select your own spinning cadence at certain speeds/power, like you said, self discovery.

this fellow? we have similar running gait... but he is obviously at a much higher level.

Kitaro9202

Probably something to do with the hammies, and maybe the calves.

Try a single leg calf raise, with or without load and also straight and bent knee version to tease out whether it is gastroc or soleus issue, see if it triggers. If triggers then it's the calves.
If not, then test the hammies.....say a bridge or something similar, or with resistance bands if you have them and secure one end with left feet and then you pull the other end up with a hamstring back kick with the other , see if triggers or not.
Then you'd know which area to focus on with strength and conditioning rehab.

Just rest until it is not too irritated/pain and then start your strength and conditioning stuff which hopefully aids your running biomechanics, and also dont increase mileage so fast (try 3-5% weekly). Dont rest for too long.
It could also be related to a muscle imbalance issue, anterior chain vs posterior chain kinda thing.

Avoiding things wont build resilience in tendons, it's just avoiding the problem and there is still a chance that you run on a flat surface you will still trigger similar issues in future if you made any training errors.
i not sure cos i recently change my running route, usually i run is abit of slope.
But the running route i run now got quite a number of slope and is like around 50 to 200m of upslope and down slope.
Maybe the pain was cause by the slope.

winningeleven

can one la. until now my furthest run is only 25km at 2:38hrs lol
26KM @ 2:24hrs is already very fast liao confirm can below 4:30hrs.
think sub4 also no problem.
I do feel in sg to go under 4 HR FM not easy .
half marathon timing need around 1hr45 mins. I am unable to run that fast for it .

GlassDoor

For me I have plaid 3 and feidian elite 6. Think elite 6 is too unstable for full hence as mentioned before prob will go elite 6 for decathlon half and plaid 3 for bydsim
decathlon half is actually ideal as a mid way checkpoint in the training block. but me as a cheapo.... the price is hard to swallow.

WussRedXLi

i not sure cos i recently change my running route, usually i run is abit of slope.
But the running route i run now got quite a number of slope and is like around 50 to 200m of upslope and down slope.
Maybe the pain was cause by the slope.

Possibly caused by such slopes then, unfortunately that also shows and mean there is something lacking and in future such a weakness would also manifest in similar niggles even if you are running on flat ground. Be it back of the knee, front, or tendon between hamstrings/glutes which i kena before, or worse the common overuse injuries like AT, PF, ITBS.

Unless maybe if you dont ever change your pace intensity, weekly volume + keeping it relatively low like 20km/wk, and only use unplated daily trainers and you are committed to running such a regimen consistently, no ups no downs. ie just run for health, something like my wife who is doing ~ 20kmh same pace same route same time same pattern week after week month after month year after year since covid era. Then yeah.

edit oh yeah, she never even changed her shoe. She is still on Novablast 2, i got 4 pairs total for her that 1 year 1 pair normal slight discount, the other 3 pairs all hugely discounted end of season one. :ROFLMAO:

Kitaro9202

Possibly caused by such slopes then, unfortunately that also shows and mean there is something lacking and in future such a weakness would also manifest in similar niggles even if you are running on flat ground. Be it back of the knee, front, or tendon between hamstrings/glutes which i kena before, or worse the common overuse injuries like AT, PF, ITBS.

Unless maybe if you dont ever change your pace intensity, weekly volume + keeping it relatively low like 20km/wk, and only use unplated daily trainers and you are committed to running such a regimen consistently, no ups no downs. ie just run for health, something like my wife who is doing ~ 20kmh same pace same route same time same pattern week after week month after month year after year since covid era. Then yeah.

edit oh yeah, she never even changed her shoe. She is still on Novablast 2, i got 4 pairs total for her that 1 year 1 pair normal slight discount, the other 3 pairs all hugely discounted end of season one. :ROFLMAO:
I now trying to cut down on slope and plan to try again in 2 week time for now should be running with abit of incline

WussRedXLi

I now trying to cut down on slope and plan to try again in 2 week time for now should be running with abit of incline

If you want, you can try racewalking for short distances at around 1-2 min per km slower speed. Or maybe just zone 2 ba........for just "fitness maintenance" purposes ought to be fine. Coz wont have any knee bending and much lower injury risk also. And yes, in my experience, to a very decent degree, race walking can improve your running so you wont lose nothing during this down time.
Try again 2-4 weeks later, usually this kind of duration is more than sufficient in my own experience as well for small niggles.

winningeleven

decathlon half is actually ideal as a mid way checkpoint in the training block. but me as a cheapo.... the price is hard to swallow.
What for pay for HM? .unless u want to clock a PB . I ran my own HM at least once a month since the beginning of the year .

30 to 32 km race distance is much better preparation for a FM. Last time used to have this 32km newton challenge

GlassDoor

What for pay for HM? .unless u want to clock a PB . I ran my own HM at least once a month since the beginning of the year .

30 to 32 km race distance is much better preparation for a FM. Last time used to have this 32km newton challenge
imho doing 32-35km at race pace in the peak weeks is counter productive for marathon block. body will take significantly longer time to recover. which is why i think HM at your race pace is a ideal mid block confidence builder.
32km progressive or a 22k easy + 10k mp is way better for adaptation.

sph777

Is mainly to simulate race day, nerves, etc. U run your own diff from a race, no motivation to do well haha

Ender

imho doing 32-35km at race pace in the peak weeks is counter productive for marathon block. body will take too significantly longer to recover.
32km progressive or a 22k easy + 10k mp is better for adaptation.
Yes, this how long run with race pace should be done. Shouldn't run til you are dragging your feet. Conventional guide Decouple should stay within 5% drift. If higher, better to stop, it just mean your CTL is not ready for that distance at that pace and it will kill gain. The only time we afford such level of fatigue is race day, coz you are committed to PB even at the expense of recovery gain.

milkiee

I do feel in sg to go under 4 HR FM not easy .
half marathon timing need around 1hr45 mins. I am unable to run that fast for it .
it depends on how intense was your 26km.
last year when i was training for SCSM, i was doing the same pace as you.
however, i was only doing that pace like at my peak whereas you've still a longer runway.
then again the course last year was pretty flat not like this year. i did 4:02 last year.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.