jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

Yes, this how long run with race pace should be done. Shouldn't run til you are dragging your feet. Conventional guide Decouple should stay within 5% drift. If higher, better to stop, it just mean your CTL is not ready for that distance at that pace and it will kill gain. The only time we afford such level of fatigue is race day, coz you are committed to PB even at the expense of recovery gain.
my current decouple is about 3.2% ... the last time i ask ai to check... i am nerding out the tons of tools available. when i was training 10km or 15km very limited online resources.

Edit: I just ran the numbers from tues tempo work out. aerobic decouple was a decent 1.96%. ai say good workout :ROFLMAO:

winningeleven

it depends on how intense was your 26km.
last year when i was training for SCSM, i was doing the same pace as you.
however, i was only doing that pace like at my peak whereas you've still a longer runway.
then again the course last year was pretty flat not like this year. i did 4:02 last year.

What a waste ! Almost under 4 hrs. I don't understand why they changed FM route this year BYD. Everyone who ran last year said the route was the best for the FM.

WussRedXLi

this fellow? we have similar running gait... but he is obviously at a much higher level.

Just saw this, yes it is this fella. Very obvious super high cadence.
Even his shakeout runs at slow 5:30-6:00 is at 200........

eg

xcjLiCH.jpg

lhPP3FM.jpg

WussRedXLi

this fellow? we have similar running gait... but he is obviously at a much higher level.

Actually i was just thinking, you got do any hills or not. Not just small slopes, but hills. Be it Lor Sesuai, Bukit batok area, Mt Faber or Sentosa best actually with its rolling.

GlassDoor

Actually i was just thinking, you got do any hills or not. Not just small slopes, but hills. Be it Lor Sesuai, Bukit batok area, Mt Faber or Sentosa best actually with its rolling.
last year to improve stride power. the high cadence came naturally after the first few years of slow easy runs. like any runner.. mine started with 160x.. then got injured.. then then slowly corrected gait.. and focus on landing stride under body''s CG... then automatically the cadence went up to stablise at low 190x... and in the last few years it has been fairly consistant and very slowly creaping up to now 196-200 sweet spot.

edit: the cadence can be influenced by the running shoes as much as +-5. good example of a shoe that really drags down the cadence was novablast 5. any of the racing fl;ats i have will +2 to +5 easily. I did a short progressive 6km this morning in adios 9 to prime the legs for tomorrow's long run and average cadence for the session was 208.

WussRedXLi

last year to improve stride power. the high cadence came naturally after the first few years of slow easy runs. like any runner.. mine started with 160x.. then got injured.. then then slowly corrected gait.. and focus on landing stride under body''s CG... then automatically the cadence went up to stablise at low 190x... and in the last few years it has been fairly consistant and very slowly creaping up to now 196-200 sweet spot.

I see.....yes that is the correct word, power.....esp when fatigued state, and if HR is not the limiting factor at the point in time then WCH and Sheares could both be worth bare a few mins worth. Also got one factor called neuromuscular coordination, for both ascent and descent, might not be worth much but it is not negligible. We are still talking about 23m + 23m and 30m + 30m. All the various factors added all in could be a few mins worth vs untrained state....i mean for the normal runner this isnt significant still lah, but since you are after Boston then every factor matters.

In cycling esp fast group or those racing rides, this is a common phenomenon. Then dropped already and could not latch on. I used to be lousy in this earlier this year, until around late Apr GBTB closed for cyclists coz they building one of the 2 bridges (that part i think is for the new Founders MRT or something). Then went Sentosa and things improved.

GlassDoor

I see.....yes that is the correct word, power.....esp when fatigued state, and if HR is not the limiting factor at the point in time then WCH and Sheares could both be worth bare a few mins worth. Also got one factor called neuromuscular coordination, for both ascent and descent, might not be worth much but it is not negligible. We are still talking about 23m + 23m and 30m + 30m. All the various factors added all in could be a few mins worth vs untrained state....i mean for the normal runner this isnt significant still lah, but since you are after Boston then every factor matters.

In cycling esp fast group or those racing rides, this is a common phenomenon. Then dropped already and could not latch on. I used to be lousy in this earlier this year, until around late Apr GBTB closed for cyclists coz they building one of the 2 bridges (that part i think is for the new Founders MRT or something). Then went Sentosa and things improved.
actually for me going down is as much as a challenge as going up. unlike a lot of runner that accelerate going down.. i actual have to shift my body's CG slightly backwards and use very prominent heel strikes and it slows me down. maybe i need more practise. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

actually for me going down is as much as a challenge as going up. unlike a lot of runner that accelerate going down.. i actual have to shift my body's CG slightly backwards and use very prominent heel strikes and it slows me down. maybe i need more practise. :ROFLMAO:

Yeah must practice one......to find the fastest pace / most efficient way your body can handle. That's why i mentioned both ascent as well as descent. Then it becomes muscle memory and second nature.
Then race day comes and you'd know what to do.

Actually, Sheares bridge itself can be practised to a large degree, access via Republic Boulevard and there is a flight of stairs up, then go down and end at Gardens by the Bay. Some cyclists use a similar route via Republic Blvd to climb up and then end at the same GBTB/MBS area.

GlassDoor

Yeah must practice one......to find the fastest pace / most efficient way your body can handle. That's why i mentioned both ascent as well as descent. Then it becomes muscle memory and second nature.
Then race day comes and you'd know what to do.

Actually, Sheares bridge itself can be practised to a large degree, access via Republic Ave and there is a flight of stairs up, then go down and end at Gardens by the Bay. Some cyclists use a similar route via Sheares Ave to climb up and then end at the same GBTB/MBS area.
i go recce ... the steepest accent and decent in my recent runs is the bridge across kallang river from whampoa park connector. very steep BUT for like 20m max :ROFLMAO:

Ender

There are runners who includes BT hill as there like once a month. 4 loops can get 4X BT hill elevation.

WussRedXLi

i go recce ... the steepest accent and decent in my recent runs is the bridge across kallang river from whampoa park connector. very steep BUT for like 20m max :ROFLMAO:

I think can liao, but need to do repeats. As long as it is near your place for accessibility and time savings.

I also shared the actual Sheares bridge route above, go there run for your long runs lah whoampoa so accessibile to that GBTB and MBS place.......a lot of pretty ladies in sports bra etc. Coz nearby also got a lot of gyms / hyrox type.

I really miss them, last weekend i went with my kid and my eyes big big.
Coz since late April i stopped going there already.

Pure road cyclists dont know what they are missing, other than getting Mindy kind content on the road. That one is lower part nice. Still, sports bra is upper part. (y) And if well endowed, the motivation is........ :s34: :s34:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.