Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Aaagogo

While flight is an hour away, all the airport travel, custom check in and waiting for plane to arrive and land will probably take up half a day right. JB when travel during off peak, gets one door to door in under 1-2 hours or less ? Maybe even faster for those with cars.

that is if you fly with the stentch of public transport :ROFLMAO: ; "Normal service can resume, once I have washed the stench of public transport off me" - Anton Casey

i do my own pre-flight briefings after i complete my engine run-up checklist. no frills i promise.

Meemoosaa

that is if you fly with the stentch of public transport :ROFLMAO: ; "Normal service can resume, once I have washed the stench of public transport off me" - Anton Casey

i do my own pre-flight briefings after i complete my engine run-up checklist. no frills i promise.

Eh ? What do you mean ? I'm totally lost... do you really fly private jet or what ? Or you have your own plane and pilot license ???? :unsure:.

Aaagogo

Or you have your own plane and pilot license ???? :unsure:.

not yet and yes, it's free for young singaporeans if you can make the cut, Singapore Youth Flying Club

i enjoy the fruits of the labour from those that run the rat race for me. your taxes funded my PPL

i'm not yet in the economic weight class to get my own used jet, ~USD 3 mill, and i have to first complete my instrument flight rules rating and then multi engine rating.

i can only fly when the sun is up and land when the cross-winds are not too strong, in that world, i'm a beginner only. The requirement for me to maintain my license is to log at least 5 hours of Pilot in Command time annually.

Andrew833

If you are looking to lease in jb to stay, the best is choose those condo that doesn’t allow airbnb.

Some break in were by tenants who leased to stay short term…

The 2 places that I know that don’t allow airbnb are leisure farm and horizon hills for landed …

As for condos, choose those designs that are theft free like 1medini which access card is activated to only access to your level…
Sis, she mean for 1 night stay only, surely is either airbnb or hotel.

Meemoosaa

JJ = Johor Jaya
TUTA = Taman Ungku Tun Aminah

old town, KSL area, pelangi, sutera, austin, molek, these are singaporean playground, more difficult to find 7-8 ringgit noodle

Thanks ! Looks like Jj next to Molek only, will have difference ?

8RM noodles will be my next JB mission.. lol

Meemoosaa

Sis, she mean for 1 night stay only, surely is either airbnb or hotel.

I am thinking of short term lease, 3-6 months kind in the future. Spend 50% in JB, 50% in SG instead of buying any property.

a couple of nights is just tourist stay which is fine for now, exploring JB.

Coffeelix

While flight is an hour away, all the airport travel, custom check in and waiting for plane to arrive and land will probably take up half a day right. JB when travel during off peak, gets one door to door in under 1-2 hours or less ? Maybe even faster for those with cars.
We were right not to consider KL nor Penang in our investment…

When covid lock down happened in MY, there was totally no public transport…

2 boomers sg were stranded in jb cos they didn’t drive their sg car to jb.,,

I offered them 2 seats back to sg when we decided to return to sg…

That few days of lock down in jb was more than fun: suddenly jb seems empty and we felt so close to nature…

many birds etc were flying around freely while humans stayed home…

Coffeelix

I am thinking of short term lease, 3-6 months kind in the future. Spend 50% in JB, 50% in SG instead of buying any property.

It is hard to find short term lease unless is Airbnb. Even if owners willing to take short term lease, it will be costing more…

Usually minimum is one year lease …

Coffeelix

I was at Aeon Bukit Indah last weekend, an elderly couple asked me to help check some small prints of a packaging. They then started talking to me about how they can buy the item to cook a certain dish and should be very tasty.. etc. and while I didn't quite catch the accent I immediately know they are not Singaporeans. :ROFLMAO:

Agree that Sinkies can be very "hostile" but I think that's the consequences of living in a competitive environment. From competing grades at a young age to competing for seats in hawker centers in this land scarce island.. How not to be hostile.
If u are seriously considering to stay jb, you need to drive and a used car is quite affordable in jb..,

Meemoosaa

It is hard to find short term lease unless is Airbnb. Even if owners willing to take short term lease, it will be costing more…

Usually minimum is one year lease …

Thanks for the tip. Maybe I wouldn't mind doing a trial of one month here and there just to test the water to see how I feel. There are some months within the year where I have work from home flexibility. In this case, may have to pay a bit more for airbnb but that's ok for a trial.

My first JB airbnb was Manhatta @ Mount Austin for just 1 night. I really did not like the apartment vibe. While it is good value for money, was clean and spotless, it's not an apartment that I look forward to returning to. Weird high ceilings that looks industrial, the sprinkles and water pipe painted in red were basically staring into my face when I look up on the bed, Lol..... terrible looking communal corridor, very spacious but awkward layout.. there is little love put into the layout and interiors. Good for 1 night and bang for buck for large group stay , that's about it.

Do you have any recommendations which condo blocks or areas to look into for a slightly longer stay that's decent ? (1 month trial.. airbnb) Preferably with a pool and amenities.. a nice pool would be awesome if I'm staying more than a couple of weeks.

The below are showing up in airbnb for an entire home (1-2 bedroom + pool) for the entire month of December.

Damn.. not easy to find a 1 bedroom only apartment. Mostly 2 bedrooms and above which is way too many rooms for me already.

Second world problem. Lol

Quite interesting researching them... (Medini area seems quite competitive and you also mentioned it is a good area?) :unsure:

Citywood apartments ($800+)
Almas suites ( $800 - $900)
1 Medini / Nusa Jaya ($800-$900)
Sky Trees ($1200+)
R&F ($1500)
Paragon Suits@CIQ ($1200)
SKS Pavillion Suites ($1200)

Of course before going 1 month stay, will test out for weekend stay before going all in.

Even if doesn't work out, sounds like a fun mini adventure that's affordable. lol

Meemoosaa

If u are seriously considering to stay jb, you need to drive and a used car is quite affordable in jb..,

Tinkering with short term stay - 50% in SG, 20-30% in JB.. another 20% elsewhere as hubby has family in other parts of the world. (when we retire).

Andrew833

You can start with renting 1-2 months to see if you like it.

Coffeelix

Thanks for the tip. Maybe I wouldn't mind doing a trial of one month here and there just to test the water to see how I feel. There are some months within the year where I have work from home flexibility. In this case, may have to pay a bit more for airbnb but that's ok for a trial.

My first JB airbnb was Manhatta @ Mount Austin for just 1 night. I really did not like the apartment vibe. While it is good value for money, was clean and spotless, it's not an apartment that I look forward to returning to. Weird high ceilings that looks industrial, the sprinkles and water pipe painted in red were basically staring into my face when I look up on the bed, Lol..... terrible looking communal corridor, very spacious but awkward layout.. there is little love put into the layout and interiors. Good for 1 night and bang for buck for large group stay , that's about it.

Do you have any recommendations which condo blocks or areas to look into for a slightly longer stay that's decent ? (1 month trial.. airbnb) Preferably with a pool and amenities.. a nice pool would be awesome if I'm staying more than a couple of weeks.

The below are showing up in airbnb for an entire home (1-2 bedroom + pool) for the entire month of December.

Damn.. not easy to find a 1 bedroom only apartment. Mostly 2 bedrooms and above which is way too many rooms for me already.

Quite interesting researching them... (Medini area seems quite competitive and you also mentioned it is a good area?) :unsure:

Sky Trees ($1200+)
R&F ($1500)
I can only commend on those that I m familiar with like sky trees at Bukit indah

In terms of location, sky trees beat the rest. However, there is feedback that the “openings” aren’t sound proof and got disturbed sleep… see if you can find one not facing road or has sound proofing windows / sliding doors.
Sky trees has aeon Bukit indah verbena and many eateries around it…

Aeon bukit indah food Centre on ground floor serves assam laksa and the corner stall serves ok fried rice …
It also has Pizza Hut which used to offer Rm5 for small or Rm10 for medium to Rm15 for large pizzas. Not sure is still available.

tian lai zhi char, hai ker kopitiam, herbal bak kut teh is all in Bukit indah that u can grab around effortlesssly…

1medini security is tight cos their unique access card but u need to grab to mall of medini for Big Ben grocer and its cafe for pizzas burgers or grab to sunway iskandar citrine mall or Pendas cafe at big box hotel etc Also can grab to peeling / Layang Layang for fish head steamboat Rm48 and for Tis zhi char

Coffeelix

Sky Trees ($1200+)
R&F ($1500)

Of course before going 1 month stay, will test out for weekend stay before going all in.

Even if doesn't work out, sounds like a fun mini adventure that's affordable. lol
Can grab to Eco Galleria for Bago Bali grilled fish and Da Si Xi dim sum or Bukit indah home based BBq stingray etc or Chang Man dim sum

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.