Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

HoGnix

Plan to take train to and fro from Singapore to JB.
Understand instead of buying return ticket from SG to JB whic cost 10 SGD, I can buy one way ticket from SG to JB and one way ticket from JB to SG for 5 SG and 5 RM.
but may I know can I buy one return Ticket from JB to SG for 10 RM and another one way ticket from JB to SG for a total 15 RM?

Andrew833

Plan to take train to and fro from Singapore to JB.
Understand instead of buying return ticket from SG to JB whic cost 10 SGD, I can buy one way ticket from SG to JB and one way ticket from JB to SG for 5 SG and 5 RM.
but may I know can I buy one return Ticket from JB to SG for 10 RM and another one way ticket from JB to SG for a total 15 RM?
With return ticket - SGD10
One way ticket
From SG - SGD5
From JB - RM5
Yes, you can buy separate ticket cheaper.
I think your method will work but main problem is to get 3 tickets. Good timing all fully booked.

wifi_18Z

Hi folks.

to use e-gates to enter JB, do I even need to perform the first-time registration? Have not used e-gate before, nor any form of registration. Thanks

hwsstx

Hi folks.

to use e-gates to enter JB, do I even need to perform the first-time registration? Have not used e-gate before, nor any form of registration. Thanks
Unofficially, SG can use MY's E-Gate like a MY ie no need registration nor need to submit MDAC.

Good luck

tazzycorner

Today...at North Side

7.49am - Bus dropped off at SG's CIQ
7.52am - Cleared SG's CIQ
8.03am - Cleared JB's E-Gate

Sitrep
• Manual Counters: < 20
• E-Gate (without submitting MDAC): 👍👏
• MACSv02 applicants:

• 3.47 @ Sentral

going into JB next monday
thinking of spending 1 night but haven't booked any accommodation (any recommendation? :))
then go back on tuesday (before Vesak day holiday)

hopefully no jam

HoGnix

With return ticket - SGD10
One way ticket
From SG - SGD5
From JB - RM5
Yes, you can buy separate ticket cheaper.
I think your method will work but main problem is to get 3 tickets. Good timing all fully booked.
What about the third option?
Person in SG, online buy 'A" Return Ticket from JB to SG @ 10 RM, and "B" one way ticket from JB to SG @ 10 RM:
but only use ticket "A" from SG to JB, use "B" one way ticket from JB to SG.
So total 15 RM < 5 SGD + 5 RM.

Andrew833

What about the third option?
Person in SG, online buy 'A" Return Ticket from JB to SG @ 10 RM, and "B" one way ticket from JB to SG @ 10 RM:
but only use ticket "A" from SG to JB, use "B" one way ticket from JB to SG.
So total 15 RM < 5 SGD + 5 RM.
I reply you liao, you didn't notice.
"I think your method will work but main problem is to get 3 tickets. Good timing all fully booked."

Habrosus

Oh.. i mean from the train stn counter. Are tickets for the day easily available?
Not easily available, especially these days when the RM is lower and every tom dick n harry heads north.

If available off the counter, normally are those given up during the last minutes. Tix booked online can be returned for a refund (50% IIRC), then it'll be made available and people will try their luck online or OTC.

Andrew833

Train tix? From my experience, it's easier to get for JB>WDL rather than WDL>JB. Yes, online. :grin:

Oh.. i mean from the train stn counter. Are tickets for the day easily available?
Just go to KTM website to book very easy but getting good timing is not easy. The timing I want have to book at least 6 months advance, I sian liao.

twosix

Not easily available, especially these days when the RM is lower and every tom dick n harry heads north.

If available off the counter, normally are those given up during the last minutes. Tix booked online can be returned for a refund (50% IIRC), then it'll be made available and people will try their luck online or OTC.
I agree with u. So those who wants to save a $ or 2 better dun waste ur time. Just cross the usual way or buy the tickets online way in advance.

zzprincess

This video shows entering the building via the staff/supplier entrance (no security check and so anyone can enter) There are no directions for this route but I prefer to use this route nowadays because it leads you to a toilet as you enter the mall and you can enter the mall before 10 am. The old route is still available.
May i ask which is the old route, can share info pls. Any comments which route is the more direct one to/fro T21 bus stop. Thanks

Habrosus

Just go to KTM website to book very easy but getting good timing is not easy. The timing I want have to book at least 6 months advance, I sian liao.
Of course the timing has to be right, otherwise what's the point of booking for a 5min journey with 20 to 30 mins wait time, boarding and whatnot :s13:

Talking about those days before tom dick n harry goes north, I hardly bother to get SG>JB tix coz got to stress about reaching there on time, queue, long walk through the corridors, etc. I just went online to check JB>SG tix for timing after I checked out from hotel and at most have lunch, before heading back.

Those days already not easy to get train tix (and I'm speaking about weekDAYS), what's more these days. Ya, book 6 months in advance then later realize got to cancel. Just take bus lah! :s13:

Many times when I walked past JB Sentral, I came across "Only 10.30pm tickets available" and that's only about 7pm at the latest. I just continued heading for CIQ, coz I'd already be dreaming in bed when that train started moving. :razz:

Andrew833

Yah, but too early to dictate when i want to go JB lor. What if it rains or flood on that day. Haha.
Yea, who know what happen 6 months down the road. Save to the trouble, just use my usually method.
Fastest 50 mins
Slowest 1hr 20 mins
From Tuas to Bukit Indah/ Sutera Mall.

Andrew833

Of course the timing has to be right, otherwise what's the point of booking for a 5min journey with 20 to 30 mins wait time, boarding and whatnot :s13:

Talking about those days before tom dick n harry goes north, I hardly bother to get SG>JB tix coz got to stress about reaching there on time, queue, long walk through the corridors, etc. I just went online to check JB>SG tix for timing after I checked out from hotel and at most have lunch, before heading back.

Those days already not easy to get train tix (and I'm speaking about weekDAYS), what's more these days. Ya, book 6 months in advance then later realize got to cancel. Just take bus lah! :s13:

Many times when I walked past JB Sentral, I came across "Only 10.30pm tickets available" and that's only about 7pm at the latest. I just continued heading for CIQ, coz I'd already be dreaming in bed when that train started moving. :razz:
My wife want me to try, she want to 5 mins experience lol.
I show her the booking, she also sian liao. :LOL:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.