Johor-Singapore special economic zone deal set for Monday signing, says Johor Menteri Besar

Reborn

What exactly is an "economic zone" anyway? It's an abstract concept. Companies can set up base or subsidiary anywhere they like with or without such a zone. The issue is between Malaysia vs Singapore - if you are MNC, where would you set up your regional HQ?
Sounds logical. But then why have a SEZ then?

MynameisS

Is it still applicable in today's context? Or times have changed. It no longer applies? Asking because I know nuts about economics.
Or was he unduly worried? Or it doesn't apply to a SEZ since the context he was quoted in back then was different to a SEZ partnership environment today?

Lee Kuan Yew cautions against risks.
https://www.pressreader.com/kuwait/...eTEovb9XWOJebuiNsT8GUmcxP_TafmxY_vwp51grXUHvo

Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew airs concern about Malaysian economic zone​

https://www.reuters.com/article/bus...-about-malaysian-economic-zone-idUSBRE9750JT/

yes correct
Why would cupmanies come to Singapore if they can setup shop in Boleh land

TiedInsurer

Is it still applicable in today's context? Or times have changed. It no longer applies? Asking because I know nuts about economics.
Or was he unduly worried? Or it doesn't apply to a SEZ since the context he was quoted in back then was different to a SEZ partnership environment today?

https://www.pressreader.com/kuwait/...eTEovb9XWOJebuiNsT8GUmcxP_TafmxY_vwp51grXUHvo

https://www.reuters.com/article/bus...-about-malaysian-economic-zone-idUSBRE9750JT/
This is less about economics and more about politics. Just like Malaysia can choose to break their signed agreements to supply us water, on the basis that the agreement itself was unfair, they can also choose to seize the entire SEZ for themselves at any time, on the basis of unfairness or nationalism or some other nonsense.

Malaysia has a track record of screwing with sinkie investments in Malaysia. Remember that they once deleted the sell button for Malaysian securities, for Singaporeans and Singapore based entities, back during the Asian Currency Crisis. Our own stock exchange wasn't as robust back then, and many Singaporeans were heavily invested in the Malaysian stock market. This enables their own people to dump the Malaysian securities on Singaporeans first for a good price, only allowing us to sell after their own people have finished dumping on our heads.

Bottom line is that Malaysian leadership have no respect for contracts and rule of law and break them as they please. Contracts signed with Malaysia aren't worth the paper they are written on.

jacko123

remember who he was dealing with back then.
all the nonsense we had to endure over water from that fcukface mahathir

newborn1000

he remembers clob in the article nia

"This is an economic field of co-operation in which, you must remember, we are putting investments on Malaysian soil," Lee said. "And at the stroke of a pen they can take it over."

Courage

Sounds logical. But then why have a SEZ then?
Mostly factories. Cheap factories and workers in Malaysia. No one set up manufacturing base in Singapore anymore. I am not sure what Singapore gain from this other than the role of regional HQ. Most jobs will be created in Malaysia

Capitalist

Things, situation, climate, etc - changes.

On several occasions, my business friends in Hong Kong suggested that Stanley Ho, who ran casinos in Macau, would be happy to start one in Singapore. I ruled it out. I did not want to undermine Singapore's work ethic and breed the belief that people can get rich by gambling, something that is impossible because the odds are against you. I have not changed my mind nor my basic values.

But I have had to change my attitude to casinos in Singapore when it is part of an integrated resort...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...d-for-spore-to-keep-abreast-of-the-top-cities

boredom2012

Yeah what he say is right. Anwar government might not be around to honour the agreement. So is pap. So if you disagree please vote against pap

Rock Hardy

Old PAP <> New PAP

Nalgene123

i think LKY was also partially referring to the Suzhou Industrial Park.......the local Suzhou govt build one similar industrial park next to it then in the end singapore bo pian...have to sell the majority stake to the suzhou govt

Reborn

i think LKY was also partially referring to the Suzhou Industrial Park.......the local Suzhou govt build one similar industrial park next to it then in the end singapore bo pian...have to sell the majority stake to the suzhou govt
but he was talking about malaysia in the article

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.