Johor wedding creatives in limbo over Singapore ban

stanlawj

How they even catch these people ah? Its not like they advertise themselves when they cross the border.
Simple. For those foreigners who get caught, add 3 strokes caning (now don't have). Permanent entry ban. Then fine the employers $10000 per offence for failing to check credentials, and ICA should also publish the names of employers so that we all can blacklist these dishonest people.

How to catch? The popular places are Botanic Gardens, permit is required for commercial photoshoot (wedding shoots). Permit must include details of people (now don't have). The park inspectors should do random identity checks of the people involved and submit irregularities to ICA.

wait. so they want to freely compete with our local photographers but at the same complain that tiong photographers are competing with them in Malaysia ?

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/s...to-extend-visa-free-scheme-for-china-visitors
Good find.

chongquan82

Actually, didn’t say ban them from providing services here. Just correcting the industry, they just need to follow rules and pay tax

Their media reported it as if we‘re ostracising them. We love them deep deep actually. I also hired jhk photographer and videographer for my wedding after comparing local photographer’s/videographer‘s work. Prices are on par but jhk‘s creativity work has better quality. Subjective though.
Engaged liao

Can bunknife after work?

Or already happening

🤔 🤔 🤔

CantStopWhining

Everything they do illegally then blame us for closing the loop, killing their livelihood. Cross border private hire, wedding services etc. but when a few Singaporeans or even just the Singapore car pump 95, suddenly is Singapore always committing crime.

cleverman

So, the bosses of the Singapore wedding/photo studios have been hiring illegal foreign workers?

How long has this employer-led fiasco been going on? Why no consequence for them?

No wonder one of my friend 10 years ago open bridal studio. I ask him before, everyone marry the most 1 time, how many times you can earn from them. He told that's why i never care not to have 回头客, he is very smart, everything 1 stop, he is like the main con, everything he sub out. Now he cannot sub to JB camera man liao, this time jialat. Profit margin sure lowered liao.. Marry cost confirm increase 9696

DigDub

Recently their pirate hire complain sg affect their livelihoods, now their photographers complain. Somehow they think sg owe them a living and they should be accorded priority over Singaporeans? You can do it cheaper is because you siam all the taxes and the costs of following the regulatory obligations!

Avant-Garde

got a feeling all this cross border enforcement started because of msia's VEP nonsense.

cleverman

i thought all photographer are malaysians? i never seen Singaporean become a photographer as a career before lei...

Itsnotfunny

How to clamp down? Can say that do it for a friend mah. Honestly all these freelancers not so easy to clamp down one. So many plumbers, electricians, air con services, masseurs, etc come over daily to service sinkies. How to catch.

XcoVar

Cow peh sinkies go in pump petrol summor rah. 几够力一下.......suddenly so sleep.😑

jeffprobst

just apply work permit la. got correct permit jiu can work here liao lor. government trying to save local in this industry, so foreigner dont kpkb. it is like how your government ringfence the petrol against Singaporean.

armour guy

lawrence-wong-NDS.png

Tyrian

Our country our rules.

same thing if I go Malaysia I also follow their rules.

Very difficult meh?

cpuer

So, the bosses of the Singapore wedding/photo studios have been hiring illegal foreign workers?

How long has this employer-led fiasco been going on? Why no consequence for them?
my aircon men were from JB. I chatted with them about how tough is to cross the causeway :)

titusilvering

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2025/10/03/wedding-creatives-in-limbo

Wedding photographers and videographers in Johor are reeling from Singapore’s move to bar foreign freelancers from providing creative services across the border.

A photographer known only as Lim, 36, said the announcement has forced him and his peers to cancel all upcoming bookings in Singapore.

“We had a series of pre-wedding photoshoots and actual-day bookings lined up from October until next year.

“It is a significant number because that period is auspicious according to the Lunar calendar, so there are many couples expected to get married,” he said.

According to him, many Singapore bridal studios engage Johor-based photographers and videographers for their lower rates and perceived better service quality.

Lim, who said Singaporeans make up about 80% of his clientele, added that the ban not only affects Malaysian service providers but also Singapore-based businesses and clients.

“Bridal studios there told us that they are facing a lot of backlash from couples who have already paid for photography, videography and make-up services, and are now struggling to meet deadlines,” he said.

He noted that Malaysian couples planning pre-wedding shoots at Singapore attractions are also worried about running afoul of the law.

Lim, who has photographed couples in several countries, said he hoped the Singaporean government would consider an alternative solution.

On Sept 11, Singapore’s Manpower Ministry and the Visual, Audio, Creative Content Professionals Association issued a joint advisory, reminding that foreigners on tourist or student visas are not allowed to provide photography, videography and make-up services in the country.

Those found working without a valid work pass may be liable to a fine not exceeding S$20,000 (RM65,530), imprisonment for up to two years or both. They may also be barred from entering and working in Singapore.

A videographer known only as Dan, 39, echoed the concerns and suggested that Singapore consider offering temporary work permits for foreign freelancers for a fee.

“My team also has several incomplete projects on hand that our clients have paid for.

“However, we are unable to move forward to avoid getting into trouble with the law,” said Dan, who has been in the industry for over a decade.

He added that he is in discussions with his clients to find a way to complete the unfinished work.
These people really boliao. Ban so what?

They come here take pictures also no one knows

Itsthatguy

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2025/10/03/wedding-creatives-in-limbo

Wedding photographers and videographers in Johor are reeling from Singapore’s move to bar foreign freelancers from providing creative services across the border.

A photographer known only as Lim, 36, said the announcement has forced him and his peers to cancel all upcoming bookings in Singapore.

“We had a series of pre-wedding photoshoots and actual-day bookings lined up from October until next year.

“It is a significant number because that period is auspicious according to the Lunar calendar, so there are many couples expected to get married,” he said.

According to him, many Singapore bridal studios engage Johor-based photographers and videographers for their lower rates and perceived better service quality.

Lim, who said Singaporeans make up about 80% of his clientele, added that the ban not only affects Malaysian service providers but also Singapore-based businesses and clients.

“Bridal studios there told us that they are facing a lot of backlash from couples who have already paid for photography, videography and make-up services, and are now struggling to meet deadlines,” he said.

He noted that Malaysian couples planning pre-wedding shoots at Singapore attractions are also worried about running afoul of the law.

Lim, who has photographed couples in several countries, said he hoped the Singaporean government would consider an alternative solution.

On Sept 11, Singapore’s Manpower Ministry and the Visual, Audio, Creative Content Professionals Association issued a joint advisory, reminding that foreigners on tourist or student visas are not allowed to provide photography, videography and make-up services in the country.

Those found working without a valid work pass may be liable to a fine not exceeding S$20,000 (RM65,530), imprisonment for up to two years or both. They may also be barred from entering and working in Singapore.

A videographer known only as Dan, 39, echoed the concerns and suggested that Singapore consider offering temporary work permits for foreign freelancers for a fee.

“My team also has several incomplete projects on hand that our clients have paid for.

“However, we are unable to move forward to avoid getting into trouble with the law,” said Dan, who has been in the industry for over a decade.

He added that he is in discussions with his clients to find a way to complete the unfinished work.

Did you pay your sg tax? If not pls don't give us your sob stories. We don't give a flying F. Bye. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.