Lastest S$ Deposit updates - Part 3

Guojing88

you rather have some money in your hands, or no money?

I rather have bank low interest than CPF.

You are probably saying this because you don't expect to live long.

But if you managed to live till 75 for example, you will regret saying this.

item2sell

my grandparents were above 80, my dad close to 80. so yeah, i guess i will live to minimum 70 (if i am lucky).

but i have not considered my lifespan when i make my decision to oust CPF out of my life as much as i can.

Guojing88

my grandparents were above 80, my dad close to 80. so yeah, i guess i will live to minimum 70 (if i am lucky).

but i have not considered my lifespan when i make my decision to oust CPF out of my life as much as i can.

If you think you will live long, why not have your retirement savings earn you 4% compared to what banks give you?

vsvs24

If you think you will live long, why not have your retirement savings earn you 4% compared to what banks give you?

He already said he don't trust govt with CPF so want to withdraw as soon as allowed.

I also a bit worried. So far govt made it very clear that they want us to have enough to fend for ourselves. Policies will be changed to be geared towards this. Just look at the way they implement carelife shield forcefully.

item2sell

this works for me. you can try it.

write off your cpf.

replan your finances without it.
see if your retirement can work.
if ok, you don't need cpf.

if not ok, you are in deep sh+t

vsvs24

this works for me. you can try it.

write off your cpf.

replan your finances without it.
see if your retirement can work.
if ok, you don't need cpf.

if not ok, you are in deep sh+t

That's a bit extreme. My concern is that they change the policy to allow less to be withdrawn at and after 55. Not so much that my CPF funds will vanish such that I need to write off.

Mr.Canberra

Can meh? I doubt OCBC will allow you to game that way. 1.95% for 4 years is not attractive at all.

I beg to differ. This is the best risk free + no gimmicks deal right now.

Only downside is maximum $20,000 placement per name/account for 1.95% p.a.?

Low interest rates environment is here to stay at least till 2023. For excess idle funds it is good to lock in at better rates in medium term (3-4 Year) fixed deposits rather than short term (1-2 Year) fixed deposits.

Congratulations to those who locked in Maybank 2.05% p.a. (36 Months) during July 2020 before it ended. :D

Ya lor! Even if interest rate attractive, I also won't top up with cash, especially this timing. I had a friend who kept saying topping up CPF is the best investment. Unfortunately, one year before she turns 62, she passed away. It is quite sad to see people are unable to enjoy the fruits of their hard work.

Sad to hear your friend is unable to enjoy her fruits of labour. :(

Her strategy of risk free investment only works if can guarantee to live to a ripe old age. We cannot even predict what is going to happen in 1 hour let alone decades. :vijayadmin:

That's a bit extreme. My concern is that they change the policy to allow less to be withdrawn at and after 55. Not so much that my CPF funds will vanish such that I need to write off.

#ReturnOurCPF

Han Huihui will kee chiu! =:p

Guojing88

Sausage

end of month coming, anyone shifted from savings acc to FD account?

lzydata

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.