learning japanese

Ah_keong

I am already officially ikoma's student le...
Starting my class on sunday(makeup),i will be damm shack when attending the class.
Wonder if i can process Japanese when i am tired.

wow... tough sia, are u in IKOMA advance course?

Ah_keong

LOL, i shall be patient and type again.DIFFERENT PEOPLE DIFFERENT CAPABILITY. SOME TAKE 2 MONTHS, SOME 6 MONTHS STILL STUCK AT THE SAME LVL. THERE IS NO STANDARD AMOUNT OF TIME FOR EACH LVL, HOW FAST U PROMOTE DEPENDS ON YOURSELF!

lol READ MY REPLY PROPERLY LEH, DUN LIKE THAT LA, I TYPE THE SAME REPLY LIKE 3 TIMES LE LEH!! lol

i stress 1X 10 to the power of infintiy that bunka will not focus a lot of grammar and vocab on jlpt 2. meaning u got to learn all n your own! n plus if u dun, u are just going to be stuck there for a long long time. They do not have listening practices in pre advanced class, someone correct me if i'm wrong. SO IN OTHER WORDS U ARE NOT GOOD TO GO FOR JLPT 2 IF U DUN STUDY THE REQUIRED KANJI, GRAMMAR, AND VOCAB. sorry for the long rant, i feel much better now, lol

wow...

relax relax... :D

ahmahippo

JLPT 3 or 4, how to self learning?? Is there any books and sites to intro? Me thinkin to go sch + self learning most of the time. As my job working hrs can do lots of OTs... yet no OT paid but got to do ....but I can find time to self study during nite time till morning. I found a paid site however I am not sure if it would help much. But most are in romanji o0

Ah_keong

JLPT 3 or 4, how to self learning?? Is there any books and sites to intro? Me thinkin to go sch + self learning most of the time. As my job working hrs can do lots of OTs... yet no OT paid but got to do ....but I can find time to self study during nite time till morning. I found a paid site however I am not sure if it would help much. But most are in romanji o0

if u want, i can recommend u a JLPT 4 self study book... :D

I will be in orchard around 8 after my jap class at IKOMA... I can meet u if u need...

ahmahippo ure working right? Then money should not be a problem bah. I think its a must to get a teacher...Because when you self-learn no one corrects your mistake. I self-studied til I finished JLPT4 syllabus and joined Bunka for Intermediate 3 and 4 because I was slacking in my self-study haha. The titbits of info the teacher gives sometimes is really helpful. Not much chance to find out abt these things if you do self-study only. And I only found out that some kanji were wrongly written when my private tutor pointed it out to me.

So yes, get a sensei and do studying on your own too. Class pace goes generally slower, so self-studying will do you good.

unfinished07

Actually, through ahmahippo san's posting, I am also thinking of something else.

In English Language, the word "you" is often used. But not in Jap Language.

Like in example 1, what number is your handphone?

In Jap Lang, can we say [xx さんの] 携帯『電話』番号 は 何番ですか。instead of [あなたの]携帯『電話』番号 は 何番ですか。

What do you all think?

most of the time, you just call out the person's name, when you are talking to them
eg:
When talking to 田中さん and you ask him, you would say:
田中さんの電話番号は何番ですか?

when you want to use ”あなた”, you can use it this way:
それはあなたのせいでしょう?? :s13::s13:
i find ”あなた” more commonly used in this type of situations :D:D

unfinished07

Get enrolled in a school, pay attention, do your homework, and practice. No point doing total self study.

ahmahippo

sorry, i mean on sat... :D

oh ok :D wonder what books you want to intro me :p can get from kino?

ahmahippo ure working right? Then money should not be a problem bah. I think its a must to get a teacher...Because when you self-learn no one corrects your mistake. I self-studied til I finished JLPT4 syllabus and joined Bunka for Intermediate 3 and 4 because I was slacking in my self-study haha. The titbits of info the teacher gives sometimes is really helpful. Not much chance to find out abt these things if you do self-study only. And I only found out that some kanji were wrongly written when my private tutor pointed it out to me.

So yes, get a sensei and do studying on your own too. Class pace goes generally slower, so self-studying will do you good.

Get enrolled in a school, pay attention, do your homework, and practice. No point doing total self study.

yes agree tat self learnin no gd coz u dont know ur mistake... no one point it to u ... me want both.... but i found tat my i m very weak in numbers lol... 1 to 10 no problem but those big sum.... and where can i study more on hearing of money like 1,0000 en.... etc....

fox1

Haha! I have problems with big sums of yen as well.
Basically I am not good with big numbers because I don't have so much money.
I have only 20000yen (二万円) in my wallet most of the time. :o

QJPtheSE

Hi, I wonder is it possible to obtain the same proficiency I have in English for Japanese in just 2 years? I managed to obtain the same level of proficiency for French in this amount of time. I can now understand literature as well as the commercial and scientific terms in French without any problem. I intend to follow the methods that I have used when I was studying French and apply them for my study of Japanese. Is this realistic?

I am studying Spanish and German right now and I am picking them up in the same pace I had for French.

terraj

I have not studied French before but I would say for Japanese, if you're not living in Japan, unless you're a natural linguist or study intensively supplementing your studies with radio/tv programs or have a Japanese partner, you're not going to be able to master the language that quickly. French, Spanish and German are all Germanic/Latin based languages so their gramatical structure and vocabulary are rather similar. Japanese on the other hand has a completely different gramatical structure and honorary language embedded into it. Unless you've studied Korean before the latter isn't going to be easy to understand at all. Furthermore the honorary language often resembles passive gramatical structures so it's easy to get confused between the two unless you've had some guidance. Also regular speech in Japanese resembles nothing like the stuff you learn in textbooks (just like how in Singapore we use Singlish). Japanese is classified by US educators as the most difficult language to learn for English speakers, whereas Spanish and French are classified as one of the easiest. Do take that into account before you start investing your time in the language :) Having said that though, if you're more into purely reading, you'll probably be able to manage in two years to read books decently (albeit slowly) with an aid of a dictionary.

Note: then again, English must be very difficult for non-native speakers to master if they only start learning it in their late teens later with its many exceptions to grammar rules and spellings.

Hi, I wonder is it possible to obtain the same proficiency I have in English for Japanese in just 2 years? I managed to obtain the same level of proficiency for French in this amount of time. I can now understand literature as well as the commercial and scientific terms in French without any problem. I intend to follow the methods that I have used when I was studying French and apply them for my study of Japanese. Is this realistic?

I am studying Spanish and German right now and I am picking them up in the same pace I had for French.

ahmahippo

terraj never answer my question one lol....

now finding good books and sites for my self study....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.