learning japanese

Ah_keong

Aiyoh, I am not expert yet leh. Ah Keong san should do the honours instead...

nah...
after some lurkers from some Singapore Japanese Community gave comments on my incorrect Japanese usage..

I have come to the conclusion that I will not post any more Japanese Language advice... :D

Ah_keong

It's easier to intonate the sounds and words slowly, but accurately. Speed can always be worked on later on. Since you are at Ele1, take the time to get right accent that you want. The eventual goal would be even the Japanese will assume you are Japanese when speaking to them over the phone.

yeah man! the Accent and Tone is very important! :D

maryamisme

HI~! It's been awhile since I posted anything. Been a lurker all these while because I'm too busy to say anything..

BUT I just want to say that I've just gotten a letter from the Japanese Cultural Society! It says that my JLPT4 Test Centre is at Singapore Management University (SMU)! It's in the morning, from 1000 to 1235.

I am so excited, but I feel that I haven't prepared enough yet.. :s13: But, I'm still doing my best! =)

sweet_vanilla

HI~! It's been awhile since I posted anything. Been a lurker all these while because I'm too busy to say anything..

BUT I just want to say that I've just gotten a letter from the Japanese Cultural Society! It says that my JLPT4 Test Centre is at Singapore Management University (SMU)! It's in the morning, from 1000 to 1235.

I am so excited, but I feel that I haven't prepared enough yet.. :s13: But, I'm still doing my best! =)

wow~ thats fast.
think JLPT 2 will be in the noon then.
SIANZ...
anyone studied yet?
btw,. anyone taking lvl 2?

dimitri_can

nah...
after some lurkers from some Singapore Japanese Community gave comments on my incorrect Japanese usage..

I have come to the conclusion that I will not post any more Japanese Language advice... :D

キニスルンナ!ばか!1人に言われてって、悔しくないの?
もっと男になって、日本語の力を見せろよ!
もう先輩、いや、先生になったでしょう?
だからこそ、もっとがんばって、自分の意見を言えよ!
訂正されなければ、成長できねぇ!!!!!!!

fox1

yeah man! the Accent and Tone is very important! :D

Don't bullsh1t! People say there are no differences in tones for Japanese language.
Someone might come correct you. :s13:

PS: I am not from any Singapore Japanese community.

azumangadaioh

Don't bullsh1t! People say there are no differences in tones for Japanese language.
Someone might come correct you. :s13:

PS: I am not from any Singapore Japanese community.

Are you referring to me ? Heh heh, I am just trying to get the standard tokyo accent right, I wonder if Japanese will understand my friend if she tried to say "coco" for "this place", maybe they will think she's talking about chocolate drink.

Anyway, maybe someone here can highlight how to pronounce the difference between
咳 and 席, both of which are せき, "cough", and "seat" respectively. But definitely don't sound the same, I had to be corrected many times by sensei to get them correct... :)

azumangadaioh

Are you sure 16? I remember i had 17 in my class before.

Whatever it is, i am not sure if i wanna pay such $$ to go in a class ($6.75 for 5.625mins)
It has it's good points too, like u can hear ppl speak their mistakes and u learn from it...

So all in all, it depends on YOU!

You are already paying $6.75 for 5.625mins, ha ha.... And soon I will be too...
Sometimes it's good to discover new stuff from other peoples' mistakes when we have not thought of it, better to make errors in class than in real working environment, it could very well cost us our prospects when we don't even realize it...

That's what the staff told me, maybe 16 is for new class signup only, or someone in your class is going to be promoted, or quitting soon, since our fees are on a 4 month basis, the additional persons must be sitting out the 4 month period, if the person has already qualified, just to use up the rest of the lessons bah.

Like if you pay for 4 months, then sensei tells you are ready to be promoted, moreover there are no new classes for your next level to go to immediately, still left with 2 months to go, of course you will rather stay behind and use up the rest of the 8 lessons, than to forfeit it right ?

dimitri_can

if anyone is keen to buy a cheap dictionary, there's a "sale" going on in Amazon.JP, for SF6300, contact me if you need further details. =)

XasakuraX

is tt electronic dictionary? gd? isit the one showing 19.9k yen? omg so exp??

XasakuraX

haha. i tot electronic dictionary only ard 50-100? didnt know got so exp de =X

if i get smartphone then wont be buying ipod touch. hah.

anyway, i think i sort of decided on bunka. haha. jcs is not bad but i dun like the idea of 1 level 1 yr. ikoma like not many classes opening n is really very exp. so sort of decided on bunka, unless got anything happen. haha.

azumangadaioh

You think so cheap ar? Studying Japanese is a investment. I spent almost 10k le.

Good investment I agree. Since those with foreign language abilities are less likely to be affected by bad economic times, if you compare pay for pay, it's a bargain for employers to hire those that can speak a different tongue for the same price.

I will be over 3k by the end of this year... Thanks to individual lessons...

Budget overrun liao...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.