learning japanese

Ah_keong

Signed up for Ikoma FT! But the class has a chance of being cancelled cos' too little people signed up :(

really??

i was thinking of signing PT somewhere in July / august....

later i go down orchard look see look see...

Lovecross

I am planning to register for Japanese language class later this year.
Have look through quite a few school and actually thought of registering in Bunka or Ikoma. anyone studying in Bunka/Ikoma now? how is it?
any other school to recommend?

there is one thing I noticed about Bunka is that the course seem to be shorter compared to other school. anyone know why?

arcadefire

hehe.... the price reasonable a not?

To me reasonable lah. More ex than JCS and Bunka, but JCS the place damn ulu and Bunka classrooms are like in "shops".

I wouldn't mind JCS but must rush to enroll kind; I didn't get it though I went quite early, all vacancies taken up...

Overall, ikoma looks like the best to me.

arcadefire

Have look through quite a few school and actually thought of registering in Bunka or Ikoma. anyone studying in Bunka/Ikoma now? how is it?

there is one thing I noticed about Bunka is that the course seem to be shorter compared to other school. anyone know why?

Because in Bunka, you need to finish more stages to be eligible for JLPT...

Bunka:
Elementary 1+2 AND Intermediate 1+2 -> good enough to take JLPT 4

Ikoma:
Basic 1+2 -> good enough to take JLPT 4

JCS, Hougang, etc also not bad I heard...

barbie274

Is anyone on private tutor? I just heard from mine that there are many giving lessons privately. Me just hope to find out more such sensei.

Ah_keong

Is anyone on private tutor? I just heard from mine that there are many giving lessons privately. Me just hope to find out more such sensei.

yah, but expensive sia i heard...

and i prefer join classes and make friends with ppl learning Jap...
can spar the language 2gether and share things like Jap dramas....

shiok!!

dimitri_can

You can look over here for more info.

http://japanese.meetup.com/7/messages/boards/thread/3950129

JLPT 3/4 books

http://japanese.meetup.com/7/messages/boards/thread/3886441

Self Study Tips for Beginners
http://japanese.meetup.com/7/messages/boards/thread/4086543

Aloof_guy

Because in Bunka, you need to finish more stages to be eligible for JLPT...

Bunka:
Elementary 1+2 AND Intermediate 1+2 -> good enough to take JLPT 4

Ikoma:
Basic 1+2 -> good enough to take JLPT 4

JCS, Hougang, etc also not bad I heard...

Thats not really true. Ikoma's Basic 1 is 6 months while Bank's Ele 1 is 3 months. They add up to be the same number of months.

dimitri_can

I think shouldn't compare like that... The focus on each school is different. I know Bunka focus a lot on Grammer at the start. Ikoma is more well-balanced. I think the most important thing is that in the end, you are able to speak Japanese.

Ah_keong

I think shouldn't compare like that... The focus on each school is different. I know Bunka focus a lot on Grammer at the start. Ikoma is more well-balanced. I think the most important thing is that in the end, you are able to speak Japanese.

wow... now i cannot decide should i take Ikoma or Bunka... :D

arcadefire

Thats not really true. Ikoma's Basic 1 is 6 months while Bank's Ele 1 is 3 months. They add up to be the same number of months.

Yeah read properly. the person asked me why Bunka seems shorter than most. I pointed out that that's cos Bunka must take more stages (but add up about the same duration) to reach same level.

terraj

Ikoma isn't very test focused, unless you sign up for the JLPT preparation courses (I never tried that though but I heard it's intensive). I like it that way because tests during classes take the fun out of learning Japanese. It might not suit everyone's tastes though. Classes are very casual, at least with the teachers I've had so far, we use casual speech once we have learnt it.

I always wonder though, why polite speech is taught first? With casual speech you can easily modify the verbs, but it's so much tougher converting from polite to other verbs. Maybe it's because it's a 'Japanese' thing to speak politely before you speak casually? Or maybe it's catered to JLPT4 :) I wonder how Bunka teaches its elementary classes?

arcadefire

Ikoma isn't very test focused, unless you sign up for the JLPT preparation courses (I never tried that though but I heard it's intensive). I like it that way because tests during classes take the fun out of learning Japanese. It might not suit everyone's tastes though. Classes are very casual, at least with the teachers I've had so far, we use casual speech once we have learnt it.

I always wonder though, why polite speech is taught first? With casual speech you can easily modify the verbs, but it's so much tougher converting from polite to other verbs. Maybe it's because it's a 'Japanese' thing to speak politely before you speak casually? Or maybe it's catered to JLPT4 :) I wonder how Bunka teaches its elementary classes?

Great! I like that. However, there are tests once in awhile right? But they are not casual until they overlook going through the lessons or notes for the day right?

Sorry for bombarding you with questions, buti am about to start my lessons at Ikoma!

dimitri_can

Yes. The JLPT prep course is v intensive...

If you go Japan, you will know. Just came back from Japan 2 weeks back. =)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.