learning japanese

ShougunX

confusin? ok la to me nope. I'm comfortable with both english n mandarin. As for wat kinda books are better...hmmm....tat is veri subjective. Personally i recommend this bk "The Preparatory Course for the Japanese Proficiency Test" with this 実力アップ! thingy on the top of the cover. There are many versions. Some are for grammar/vocab/listening. But take note tat there are 2 versions. Japan version are a bit smaller in size n cost much more. Taiwan edition cheaper. N all are in japanese.

As for sch wise, Minna no Nihongo is widely used.

PingJun

Hi. I have looked at the book you recommend. "The Preparatory Course for the Japanese Proficiency Test" with this 実力アップ. Seems that it only has casette tapes, & not CD.

You buy with the tape or just the book?

ShougunX

Oh i nvr bought the listening compre version. I onli bought the one for grammer/vocab. Listening compre wise, it's still better to register with a sch whr there is the environment n sensei to guide you.

Ooo...realise one thing, have not been contributing much to vocab. Gomen ender. But getting busier at work...dun think can come into hwz tat often....anyway, just one vocab from me today.

だらだらするな dara dara suru na >> Dun be lazy!! (meant to be spoken in an authoritative tone)

怠け者 (なまけもの) namake mono >> lazy bum

quite useful if u wanna tell someone off at work or sch...haha.:D

PingJun

You all what level? The vocabulary you all contributed are very difficult to me

ShougunX

err.....i'm takin 1 this yr........actualli it's long overdue tat i shud have taken it....haha....ender takin 2 rite? come join me take 1 la.....haha.

ender51244

ShougunX said:
だただらするな dara dara suru na >> Dun be lazy!! (meant to be spoken in an authoritative tone)

怠け者 (なまけもの) namake mono >> lazy bum

quite useful if u wanna tell someone off at work or sch...haha.:D
still okay. but japanese ladies are real horrid. they dun need scold you and yet, using just normal japanese, they can cut you up into pieces liao. that's how powerful they are - when you get into a fight with them.

ShougunX

japanese ladies?? hmm....haha guys (japanese/singaporeans watever) tend to be more straight forward. haha. i dunno about how sacarstic japanese ladies are (not to stereotype & yet to met one, haha) but...erm....usually the males species have no qualms about shouting or throwing words rite at ur face....but well, luckily for me, my boss is veri veri kind and even address all as 'San', even though he's the boss...rather unusual practice if u ask me..haha.

ender51244

indeed. but for me... no matter kohai or senpai, i still use the san... though kun sounds more friendly.

ender51244

my input for thurday, friday, saturday & sunday:

迷惑をかける (meiwaku wo kakeru) 
---> means to trouble others

声をかける (koe wo kakeru)
---> means to speak (but the other party does not know who the speaker is)

目をかける (me wo kakeru)
---> means to do a favour

~に目をつける (~ni me wo tsukeru)
---> to keep an eye on someone/something

eto... feeling like sharing this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDiQNDGt1zE

its 「愛のMelody」 sang by V6. a very~ 懐かしい song for me (^^)

PingJun

ShougunX said:
Oh i nvr bought the listening compre version. I onli bought the one for grammer/vocab. Listening compre wise, it's still better to register with a sch whr there is the environment n sensei to guide you.

I have went & checked again today.

They also have tapes for grammer/vocab. Is there any usefulness for it?

ShougunX

U mean tapes for the listening compre? there is a certain usefulness to buyin those with tapes as u can keep hearing it over n over again n get used to listening. But beware that hearing it over n over again with u knowing the content in the first place n u dunno the content is veri veri different. N i remembered tat it wasn't cheap.....pool tat money in n get urself registered into a formal class or preparatory class wud be more worthwhile if u ask me. For eg, when i first started out learning japanese at hougang japanese sch, for 20 lessons, i get to learn on textbk, practice listening for almost every lesson towards jlpt (tat is like for the last 8 lessons?), n also practise oral (memorisin one full page of speech to be spoken to ur partner n vice versa the next lesson)...all for onli 200+ bucks. I find tat the most comprehensive learning at a veri competitive price (opps, do i sound like marketing too much? haha)

PingJun

ShougunX said:
U mean tapes for the listening compre? there is a certain usefulness to buyin those with tapes as u can keep hearing it over n over again n get used to listening. But beware that hearing it over n over again with u knowing the content in the first place n u dunno the content is veri veri different. N i remembered tat it wasn't cheap.....pool tat money in n get urself registered into a formal class or preparatory class wud be more worthwhile if u ask me. For eg, when i first started out learning japanese at hougang japanese sch, for 20 lessons, i get to learn on textbk, practice listening for almost every lesson towards jlpt (tat is like for the last 8 lessons?), n also practise oral (memorisin one full page of speech to be spoken to ur partner n vice versa the next lesson)...all for onli 200+ bucks. I find tat the most comprehensive learning at a veri competitive price (opps, do i sound like marketing too much? haha)

Nope, not for listening comprehension, although they do also have for listening comprehension. Think is more for grammar & voc.

PingJun

ShougunX said:
??? tapes for grammar/vocab??? tat is new to me.....

I am unsure but I look at the "chinese characters". And then I look inside the book. It is some sort like grammar / voc, & for listening, it is another Pattern. And I do see that they have tapes for these 2 types.

That's why I still undecide whether to get just the book or with tape.

ShougunX

Unless it's for listenin compre, the book for grammar/vocab is more than enough. My advise, just get the book.

alpha_helix

hey, many post ago, i saw u all posting info abt 1 yr study in japan to learn jap, do all uni provide that or onli waseda, and can anione gimme more detailed info abt studying there? even if u completely dun noe jap u can still enrol for that course? and is the course for anione or u muz be studying in that uni to take the course.

alpha_helix

another qn i realli like to know is that if i wish to study in a university in japan but haf insufficient proficcency in japanese, will they allow me to take the 1yr course in learning japanese then let mi study in the uni?

ender51244

Please look into my history post, here

actually, the info is all on the previous pages. i would dearly appreciate if you check through those pages before posting any questions.

Some universities (like tokyo uni, soka and so on), i believe, do have japanese languages. however, on a university level, they teach intensive advanced japanese. So if you do not know Japanese at all, you can't really enrol into the universities. Most universities will take in JLPT 2 students and you can't just be anyone to enrol into the university. My friend who enrolled into Waseda, needs a "Letter of Recommendation" when applying for a place in that school. on top of that, there are a lot of other things to prepare...

If you know nothing, then you can study in their preparation school. which the school will focus you on Japanese, and at the same time, prepare you for the Entrance Exam for foreign students. if you take the intensive course, you will be able to achieve the JLPT 1 level in a year, and apply for university education in the major universities using the results of your Entrance Exam. and depending on the university, you might need to go their own entrance exam or interview before they consider whether to accpet you or not.

alpha_helix

sry if i did not notice some of the ans which u already have posted, and also whats the diff between prep sch and intensive course? intensive course only focuses on japanese and nothing else?

symb10te

if you have little background in japanese, you are expected to enter the japanese language prep school for a year to become proficient in the language. at these prep schools, you'll study nothing but japanese throughout the school hours.

university intensive courses simply just mean that. the courses will form part of your curriculum, but not the WHOLE of your curriculum, that is, you'll be expected to study your core modules AND Japanese at the same time. Different universitites will have different types of intensities. Keio's, for example is something like 13hrs per week, if I'm not wrong.

I assume you are interested in doing your undergraduate degree in Japan, but at the moment are not proficient in the language. In that case, you're probably better off going for the 1 year prep school first before starting your uni education. most universities are unlikely to accept your application if you dun have JLPT 1 or 2 anyways, I think.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.