learning japanese

ylsim

Yes. If you have those pocket PC HP like O2 mini ,HP.. DOpod etc... Can easily dl free software from net.... ANd you have a electronic dictionary everywhere you go =D

barbie274

Hi, does anyone know where to fina a jap native tutor? my sis and i are studying at ikoma but we need to re-do basic again. Now at intermediate and already done exam for JLPT4.

So given choice of re attending basic, we think of getting a tutor.

Thank you. ^^

The sensei we have got lotsa interactive but not much writing. This i find it becomes a problem after I took JLPT exam. if i dont know how to write, i wont know how to pronounce.

alvinaloy

Unfortunately my home PC is down so can't give you the links for the free PPC English/Japanese dictionary. Head over to www.ppcsg.com under their recommended software listings to look for the free dictionary as well as the SIP for inputting Japanese.

However, that software only gives you 1 dictionary file. You would still need to hunt around for other dictionary files and Google is your best friend here. The file names of those dictionary files are found in the software itself but I believe they have a slight change in their extensions on the net. Just remember to look for ASCII text files (files which you can open with Notepad).

alvinaloy

barbie274 said:
Hi, does anyone know where to fina a jap native tutor? my sis and i are studying at ikoma but we need to re-do basic again. Now at intermediate and already done exam for JLPT4.

So given choice of re attending basic, we think of getting a tutor.

Thank you. ^^

The sensei we have got lotsa interactive but not much writing. This i find it becomes a problem after I took JLPT exam. if i dont know how to write, i wont know how to pronounce.
I think what you need is more like reading. Writing is pretty ok for me since I'm Chinese and kanji is simply traditional Chinese characters. If you are worried about reading Kanji, I would suggest getting a Kanji dictionary with furigana pronounciation.

barbie274

no, sadly is that we are totally lost from te form, nai form, masu form, dic form onwards.
More on sentence construction. No problem in kanji.

We dont know when to use te f, dic f..and so on. so we need to re-do the whole basic while attending intermediate concurrently. I have classmates who switched from JCS to Ikoma, and though JCS focus more on sentence writing but considering the big classes and no make-up available, we will re-do again but hopefully we can find a private tutor.

raffy06

Hello I'm usually lurking in this thread. But oh well, my first post here. I was searching for some japanese language classes sometime ago and google led me to this.

Anyway, to cut things short I am interested in registering for JCS on Sunday, probably for the one year elementary class. But since reading some of your opinions (regarding that JCS's large class size is a turn-off for effective learning), I am again considering my options: whether to self-study or otherwise.

P.S.: Learning Japanese is part of my dream ;) I wish to be able to speak and write in 5 languages! :p

netsuAi

self study is very hard (but never impossible)

need to be consistent/regular in your learning
a goal? also, a particular interest in some form of japanese culture would make it 'easier'

even if the class size is large, if it allows one to interact/practice with each other (cannot just sit there n listen), it's still better than self-studying especially if you do not have a study/conversation partner...

i self-studied for a year or so last time, then recently took up japanese lang mods for two yrs in uni, the tutorials took up alot of my revision time but it was worth it, partly because i had to (lol, for the grades) and also because i have an inherent interest in j-music (= my conversational nihongo wasnt too good, but written turned out ok)

alvinaloy

barbie274 said:
no, sadly is that we are totally lost from te form, nai form, masu form, dic form onwards.
More on sentence construction. No problem in kanji.

We dont know when to use te f, dic f..and so on. so we need to re-do the whole basic while attending intermediate concurrently. I have classmates who switched from JCS to Ikoma, and though JCS focus more on sentence writing but considering the big classes and no make-up available, we will re-do again but hopefully we can find a private tutor.
If you are looking to know more about the various forms, look no further than Bunka. They'll teach you about the different forms from day 1 of their elementary 1 (or at least day 2 or 3 ;))

Anyway, here's the link to the free dictionary for PPC:
http://www.mikejohnson.dsl.pipex.com/CEStuff/

The edict dictionary file (in zip)
http://ftp.monash.edu.au/pub/nihongo/edict.zip

The enamdict dictionary file (in gz)
http://ftp.monash.edu.au/pub/nihongo/enamdict.gz

natsuko

HI, All,

I attended jap class in bunka and I find the speed is too fast. I need to work overtime sometimes so I am thinking to switch to other school.

Anybody goes to Pyaess at Raffles Place? I heard it is quite good, one term is ten weeks, costs $200 and each week is 3 hours, one lesson. Any comments?

mamoo82

natsuko said:
HI, All,

I attended jap class in bunka and I find the speed is too fast. I need to work overtime sometimes so I am thinking to switch to other school.

Anybody goes to Pyaess at Raffles Place? I heard it is quite good, one term is ten weeks, costs $200 and each week is 3 hours, one lesson. Any comments?
I'm with Pyaess. They have just shifted to International Plaza. Overall, I think the pace at Pyaess is quite okay but as usual, need to study hard to remember the words and etc. During the first 1.5hrs, the sensei will teach the sentence structure for the day. She'll throw it examples and allow us to practice. Then the next 1.5hrs, another sensei will take over and we'll practice more using the exercises in minna no nihongo textbook.

My current class is quite small 5 students to 1 sensei. As long as there are 6 students, they'll open the class..

mamoo82

jellybeanx said:
thats not a bad idea cuz so far, i have only heard good comments about that school. no bad ones. even my friend who studied there for like two years also commented that it is good, plus the teachers are very nice. but i dont think i like that school cuz like one year ago, when i first went there to enquire about their japanese course, the receptionist AP(attitude-problem) me, made me damn pissed. haha! (x what level are you taking next year? :)

mamoo82: where's international plaza?
It's along Anson Road. Alight at Tanjong Pagar MRT station, Exit B. After class, can always visit the Tanjong Pagar Market for the Nasi Lemak. :D

Forgot to mention, each student is entitled to 2 make-up classes.

natsuko

I just finished my intermediate one at bunka. I called up Pyaess and the staff said I could go to elementary 4 class. But I noticed that the number of study hours required to prepare for JLPT3 at bunka is 144 hours, whereas 150 hours at Pyaess. So I wonder I can cope with elementary 4 class, or should I goto elementary 3 class?

alvinaloy

natsuko said:
I just finished my intermediate one at bunka. I called up Pyaess and the staff said I could go to elementary 4 class. But I noticed that the number of study hours required to prepare for JLPT3 at bunka is 144 hours, whereas 150 hours at Pyaess. So I wonder I can cope with elementary 4 class, or should I goto elementary 3 class?
Intermediate 1 ah? Ok lah. Only 1 is damn siong. After that, 2, 3 and 4 are much much more relaxed. So don't worry.

As for Pyaess, I don't know of anyone studying there but I heard a teacher who used to teach in Bunka had quit and joined Pyaess...... And this teacher hor...... well...... Those good looking boys better be careful lor ;) And oh, she's obasan pattern one. Heh...

raffy06

jellybeanx said:
well, you could always sign up for their classes! :) personally i just dont like the idea of having so much people in a class cuz i am quite slow at picking up stuff... that's why i would prefer a smaller class where the teacher is able to look over as many students' need as possible. maybe you are fast learner? ^^ and i always wanna learn as many languages as possible!!! MUST! muahahahahahaha..... :)<<< maybe korean and italian. after my o-lvls. 好期待喔! (^v^)
Hmm, I think I should just do self-study for JLPT4 and see how it goes. But I foresee one problem: where can I find the syllabus covered for JLPT4 in order not to study off-track?

By the way Mamoo82, you said you are enrolled at pyaess now right? What do they mean by their 2-year courses? Over how many weeks is Level 1 & 2 held?

natsuko

But I am a slow learner and my enviroment also lack of jap ppl. So I was thinking would it be good I stop for a month. Do my own revision then start again. any comments.

does Pyaess give more notes and examples? Bunka has rather little. And I need to spend a lot of time figure out my self.

joy883

helo... im starting a JCS thread...... hope to gather jcs students n comments n interactions there... gd idea? jus went to register elementary today... looking forward to the lessons~

raffy06

joy883 said:
helo... im starting a JCS thread...... hope to gather jcs students n comments n interactions there... gd idea? jus went to register elementary today... looking forward to the lessons~
Was the queue very long this year as well?

PingJun

joy883 said:

You manage to register? I went there but the queue was simply too long......

Think I will register in other schools.......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.