learning japanese

himuro_shosuke

One more thing. I received quite a number of pms asking me about the dictionary software I am using. The name of the program is EBPocket.
There is a freeware version but I am using the professional version as it has more functions.
EBPocket ダウンロード

As for the dictionaries, I got most of them when I was studying in Japan on Monbukagakusho scholarship.
They are not cheap but convenient for me as I can use them both on my PC and mobile as well. Below are just some dictionaries I have but I got them at a cheaper price (about 40% discount) through download purchase.
LogoVista電子辞典
リーダーズ・プラス 10,500円
広辞苑 第六版 10,500 円
日本語大シソーラス-類語検索大辞典- 15,750円
研究社 新英和大辞典 16,800円

The most value for money is the one call Eijiro where you only need to pay 1,980 yen (about SGD$32)
英辞郎
For just 1,980 yen, you can get
英辞郎 1,690,000 words English-Japanese dictionary
和英 2,010,000 words Japanese-English dictionary
例辞郎 151,812 entries example sentences dictionary
略語郎 35,448 words abbreviation dictionary

Ah_keong

Level 1: 28% pass
Level 2: 44% pass
Level 3: 77% pass
Level 4: 74% pass?

How come Level 4 passing rate lower than Level 3?

I know. Got stupid qns came out. LOL

wow....

level 4 so tough!!!!

hope this year level 3 is easy...

Ah_keong

The failure rate for level one and two is expected.
The reason for the big gap between level three and level two is the sudden jump in standard. A lot of people who passed level three thought that they can pass level two easily as well but that is not the case. That is why when looking for Japanese speaking job, the bare minimum is level two. The reason why The Japan Foundation has decided to change the format of JLPT exam from 2010 is to address the gap between level two and level three. The levels will be called N1, N2, N3, N4 and N5. N3 is the test with difficulty between the current level two and level three.

The revised level one will even be more difficult. Moreover, The Japan Foundation has decided not to publish the exam questions in the following year after the exams from 2010 which mean there will be no more 'ten years series' for us to do. I took JLPT 1 three times and last year was my third time. I passed on my previous two attempts and would most probably pass this time as well. Every time before the exam, I always make sure I finish the ten years series for grammar, reading, vocab, kanji and listening from cover to cover at least two times. Really very O level and A level feeling. However, things won't be the same again from 2010.

thanks for the info!!!

i shall die for N3, N2 and N1....

and maybe N4 if i fail this JLPT 3 this year...

joy883

Level 1: 28% pass
Level 2: 44% pass
Level 3: 77% pass
Level 4: 74% pass?

How come Level 4 passing rate lower than Level 3?

I know. Got stupid qns came out. LOL
results out alr???? when will we receive the results?

himuro_shosuke

Come to think of it. We paid so much money for the exam (compared to last time where JLPT 1 registration was only $36) and they can't even be bothered to set up an online exam result check system. :( I bet with the revised version, we will have to pay more. Even so, I will still have to take the N1 exam as the current JLPT 1 will no longer be recognized as much as it used to.

I seriously feel that JLPT is not a good gauge of one's Japanese language proficiency at all if you compare to European language proficiency exams like French, German and Italian.
For those of you who are learning German or French, I would say JLPT 1 is only marginally B1 equivalence.

Honestly speaking, I think JLPT 1 is only considered intermediate level.
I would say GCE 'A' level Japanese is more challenging than JLPT 1.

They should incorporate written essay and oral component to the test.
I do not mind paying more for a more recognized certification.

joy883

Come to think of it. We paid so much money for the exam (compared to last time where JLPT 1 registration was only $36) and they can't even be bothered to set up an online exam result check system. :( I bet with the revised version, we will have to pay more. Even so, I will still have to take the N1 exam as the current JLPT 1 will no longer be recognized as much as it used to.
yahz makes us so excited, nervous n everything!! argghh!! anyway usually we will receive in beginning mar.. regret stumbling into this thread, makes my days pass harder hahah

zeroxmxi

I seriously feel that JLPT is not a good gauge of one's Japanese language proficiency at all if you compare to European language proficiency exams like French, German and Italian.
For those of you who are learning German or French, I would say JLPT 1 is only marginally B1 equivalence.

I understand what you mean. However, if they made it more difficult than it is already for most people, then a lot of people will be too afraid to pick up Japanese, thinking it's a killer language. Perhaps the Japanese educational bodies felt reluctant but to cut some slack in their proficiency tests, to encourage a more widespread adoption of the language.

Regards.

joy883

I understand what you mean. However, if they made it more difficult than it is already for most people, then a lot of people will be too afraid to pick up Japanese, thinking it's a killer language. Perhaps the Japanese educational bodies felt reluctant but to cut some slack in their proficiency tests, to encourage a more widespread adoption of the language.

Regards.
agree.. too chim i will jus give up too

Ah_keong

my friends say i am lucky because the N# system is more recognised that the JLPT system...
now they are discussing if they wanna take N1 again....

well, i learn jap for interested bah so i don mind whether is the exam too difficult or easy...

as long as i am proficient enough 2 understand the japs can liao... :D

i always think "huo tao lao, xue tao lao"..... :D

himuro_shosuke

as long as i am proficient enough 2 understand the japs can liao... :D

i always think "huo tao lao, xue tao lao"..... :D

That's the spirit man!
Language learning is a never ending process.
Language is a living thing and you just have to be expose to or use it often enough to stay proficient. N1 sounds scary lor... the scary part is that we dun noe what to expect at all yet. I will definitely be one of the guinea pig to try out next year.

The N2 and N1 exams is supposed to be held two times a year in 2010.
The question now is will the July one be held worldwide or just in Japan, China, Korea and Taiwan. In fact the last JLPT 1 and 2 this year will also be held twice but the July one will only be held in Japan, China, Korea and Taiwan.

Machiam like CFA like that. June paper and December paper. :)

joy883

That's the spirit man!

The question now is will the July one be held worldwide or just in Japan, China, Korea and Taiwan. In fact the last JLPT 1 and 2 this year will also be held twice but the July one will only be held in Japan, China, Korea and Taiwan.

Machiam like CFA like that. June paper and December paper. :)
how come my sensei told us jcs will only administer jlpt 2 in jul n not in dec? stress us to study lo =.='''

affa14

Whoa...all the JLPT talks make me scared :s22: I have just signed up for Bunka's Intermediate 1 after taking the Elementary 2 written placement test. Quite ez but surprised that they learnt 5-6 forms alreadi including conditional n volitional forms(I left that empty lol)...:s31: Any comments on Bunka? I'll be starting my class in 2 weeks time. :s12:

dimitri_can

That's the spirit man!
Language learning is a never ending process.
Language is a living thing and you just have to be expose to or use it often enough to stay proficient. N1 sounds scary lor... the scary part is that we dun noe what to expect at all yet. I will definitely be one of the guinea pig to try out next year.

Me too.. Wanna try the N3... LOL

Yes... Correct... Chances are Singapore will not be part of them...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.