learning japanese

ahmahippo

dimitri_can san, 日本の電話はいくらですか。
dont know i say correct or wrong :(

guys, how long did u remember all the hiragana? coz i noticed that my current course (elementary II) book dont come with romanji and sensei want us to remember them by hard coz by lesson 14 onwards need to use them a lot o0.

i only able to remember a bit of them.

invisible.hippo

guys, how long did u remember all the hiragana? coz i noticed that my current course (elementary II) book dont come with romanji and sensei want us to remember them by hard coz by lesson 14 onwards need to use them a lot o0.

remember until a e u i o to ta chin tsu tei toe lor

samanthalee

Make your own flash cards. Front write the hiragana, the back write the romaji.
It's a bit late for you to start leh, so you must hurry. Cuz after beginner2, more Kanji coming and the furigana so small, you won't be able to see most of them (can't see because Hougang cut cost by shrinking A4 into A5); you'll need to start memorising Kanji pronunciation pretty soon liao.

vienne

err, actually in nus, they made us remember hiragana in the first 2 lectures. and katakana in the next 2. during elementary 1.

hurhur...

memorized till mad. =x

ahmahippo

wow... i can remember those i often write but not everything... i need to remember them coz elementary II book in hiragana now.... if i need to do homework it is hard for now.

joy883

eto,....... 1 yr

crystalight

wow... i can remember those i often write but not everything... i need to remember them coz elementary II book in hiragana now.... if i need to do homework it is hard for now.

I find it hard to remember. If you see it more, read more, it will just come naturally. I can read all hiragana and katakana already. But sometimes, I need to think a bit. like 3 sec for those that I seldom see

affa14

err, actually in nus, they made us remember hiragana in the first 2 lectures. and katakana in the next 2. during elementary 1.

hurhur...

memorized till mad. =x

yupp me too last time..only 1st lecture got romaji...i dont know why but i think hiragana is easier to remember than katakana...i sometime forget some of the katakanas..:s13:

fox1

この問題のある日本人もいます。
Some Japanese people feel that katakana is hard to remember.

noelnoel

i got all the hiragana in my memory within a week after my first lesson
by forcing myself not to use romanji anymore

ahmahippo

wow... so gd.... me homework now worst... all kanji and hiragana... o0...

having hard time reading

Wateri

I have "officially" been learning Japanese for 3 months +, all by self-teaching though. I took about 4-5 days to learn and memorise both Hiragana and Katakana.
Katakana is harder as it is less-frequently used as compared to Hiragana. The grammar is a big obstacle, but it gets easier over time, and it has little exceptions and all grammatical functions are structural and logical, unlike English language =D. The hardest part is probably the vocabulary. but with the knowledge of Chinese Language, I have the advantage there.

I feel that i am now in the middle of level 2-3.

日本語は簡単ではありません。でも、勉強しようとするならば、成功になります。
The Japanese language is not easy. But if you study it hard, you will succeed.

BTW, I do play Japanese games and watch animes. =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.